We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Metropol Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Metropol Grand Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Metropol Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Untere Dorfstrasse 35, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Sion, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a perfect stay in your hotel, wonderful view on the mountains, service excellent, staff friendly, good food included in half board and very enjoyable SPA. As it was rainy, the even opened the spa earlier for us. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    18
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a lovely family run hotel. We ski every year and stay in 4 star hotels, this has been the best by far! We will definitely stay again. The owners are hands on and ensure everything is to their very high standard. The staff are incredibly helpful, nothing is too much trouble. From the moment we arrived it was clear they wanted our stay to be perfect.The restaurant service and food was first class. Silver, linen service with on the night choice of the most wonderfully prepared food and yet they catered for my teenage son who wanted chips or pasta. The pool, jacuzzi and sauna were together, good size and not busy, even in high season. The spa for over 16 year olds was tranquil with excellent facilities and everything you would expect of a true spa experience. Sass Fee is a picturesque, traditional village with atmosphere. All the shops had very helpful staff, they were actually pleased you were there! The skiing was really good, lots of excellent reds, ski school for beginners really good, a couple of very long flowing blues, and a few scary blacks! There are also sledge and toboggan runs, we did an awsome 6km sledge run, fantastic fun, a must do. If you want nice people, with lots to do, in a great hotel, book this one!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The fact that this is family run made all the difference here. There was a lovely welcome drink prepared for us on arrival and staff willing to answer as to the best areas for us (as less confident intermediates) to ski. You can also buy a ski pass at the hotel reception. The room was not particularly large, but was extremely clean with very comfortable beds. The room (and the hotel overall) was very quiet. The mountain view was stunning. However, the star turn of this hotel was the food. The package we booked included a 6-course evening meal. The hotel has a fabulous chef and the meals were outstanding - far better than I have had in any other 4-star hotel. In fact it became an enjoyable part of the day for us to look at the menu choices in the morning and look forward to the dinners all day while out skiing! The family that owned the hotel also ate in the restaurant each day. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed 1 week for skiing in this hotel. Although part of the Best Western Chain, it is a family run hotel, with a very personel touch. The staff was very friendly and very helpfull with all enquiries. We got originally a room next to the lift, but my husband felt disturbed by the lift and asked for a room change, which was done without any problems. The room was good size, spotless clean, with an in room safe. The food breakfast and dinner were excellent, good choice and portion sizes for the dinner as well. There was one evening a week where the managers greated the guests with wine at the bar and a chat, a very personal touch, though the managers were around most times as well. Also as very positive was noted that the managers were eating in the hotel restaurant as well every day in the evening. The wellness area was very quiet and relaxing with 4 different saunas (one of which one could request for private use - we did not do that though), a large relaxation room with lovely beds and earphones to shut out the surrounding, seperate from that, so not to be disturbed were also a large swimming pool and a whirl pool.
The view from both rooms was great.
The hotel is in the centre of Saas Fee and offers its own free shuttle to the cable car or the parking area outside Saas Fee if wanted, though the Alpine Express cable car is a short walk - max 5 minutes - away from the hotel. We very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a great family run hotel. The staff were always professional, helpful and friendly and the manager often around supervising and finding time to talk to and advise guests. The hotel was cleaned to a high standard and the facilities 5 star. Good rooms with stunning views of the mountains. The hotel boasts a nice pool and jacuzzi and a particular favourite was the 'Wellness Centre' ( A calm, quiet area with sauna and steam, scents and music), which was the perfect finish to a day spent on the slopes. This centre is quite large and child free so a perfect chill out zone. Half board was well worth doing as the breakfast and 6 course evening meal was fantastic. The only complaint was too much choice and not enough time to try everything on offer!! Great ambience, tasteful and elegant. I would like to return: )

Room Tip: Select a room with a view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Metropol for New Years and it was an overall good stay.
The staff were friendly, but nothing special compared to other hotels stays in 4 star hotels.
This hotel is an over-priced 3 star hotel (maximum) anywhere else.
The pros: Amazing wellness area, clean, great view from room, friendly bar staff, centrally located.
The cons: Old spring beds (reserved a double bed, got 2 singles), worst restaurant staff of all time (they had no idea what they were doing, i.e. 30 minutes between courses in an 8-course meal..stressful for guests).
Overall, we had a great Saas Fee experience and relaxed stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend room facing away from main street as noise can be an issue, and the views of the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Where to start, we had a fantastic welcome on arrival and a drink was waiting for us.
The rooms were light and airy with views of the surrounding mountains and town on 2 sides, equipped with large flat screen TV, hairdrier, 2 bathroom sinks, shower/ bath, safe and fridge, large mirror doors on the wardrobes and hangers with a drip tray if you have wet jackets from being out on the mountains.
The food was exceptional, we were half board and had 6 course meals in the evening, all cooked to perfection and comprising of salads, starter, soup, main, cheese board and dessert, the courses are not huge but there are plenty of them. breakfast comprised or cereals, meat/ salmon cheese, pastry, fruit and cooked with plenty of tea, coffee juice etc. It was all cooked to perfection and extremely well presented, the staff were lovely and attentive.
The hotel has mountain bikes available for guests and can also help transfer bags from the carpark or post bus via electric taxi, there is an extensive wellness suite with whirl pool and swimming pool and bio sauna in one part, the other which is adult only and clothes free had a steam room, german sauna, sauna, water beds, foot baths and fantastic showers which immersed in scented oils. We used this every night and really felt the benefit.
The hotel is well sited in the centre of town, there is also a guest card which offers free bus travel in the upper Saas valley and ALL ski lifts and metro Alpin during the summer, this saved us £100's. As you probably are aware Switzerland is quite expensive, when you take into account what you get for your money, we found this to be great value.
we had such a good time we are planning on going back next year.

Room Tip: Corner suite or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Metropol Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Metropol Grand Hotel

Address: Untere Dorfstrasse 35, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Metropol Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome in our Best Western Metropol Grand Hotel Arriving and feeling directly at home. Spread yourself out in our cosy and comfortable rooms. Find everything you need and even something more. The personal led 4-star hotel in the carfree village center of Saas-Fee offers you a perfect view to our majestic Glacier and Mountains. Get new energy in our holiday hotel with personal ambiance. Start your day with a big and well balanced breakfast buffet. After varied and active hours, relax in our Best Wellness or with a Massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Metropol Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Metropol Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.