We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Paradise in Switzerland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erlebnishotel Etoile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Erlebnishotel Etoile to your Saves list
Erlebnishotel Etoile
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wildistrasse, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Dendermonde
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our Paradise in Switzerland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We go already for about 15 years to Saas-Fee and Hotel Etoile ( every two or three years ), always during the summer.
The service, food, staff, rooms ( splendid views !!!) are all excellent and we are looked after very well and made to feel one of the family group.
Every day dinner is under a certain theme and the whole restaurant is decorated as such : romantic evening, Walliser evening, Flower Power, etc…..and the music adjusted.
Rolf and Daniela Bumann personally pay great attention to getting all the details right for every guest, and to entertain them. In summertime all the téléphériques are include in the hotel price.
Saas-Fee on itself is a paradise for walking, but Rolf always organizes his own little walking trips in the mountains of the Saas-valley, full of surprises and fun, showing us places you would never find on yourself.
Freddy VC

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dronfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is our fourth visit with a group of walking friends from Sheffield, England. We cannot find anywhere better for our Autumn walking break. We are looked after very well by Rolf and Daniela. The service, food, staff, rooms are all excellent and we are looked after very well and made to feel one of the family group. We always return home saying we should look for somewhere different for the next year but when we start planning in the new year there is only one place that comes to the top of our list! If you get the chance to go on one of Rolfs walks, take it as the experience isle well worth it. During the Autumn period there is a free lift pass and bus pass included in your package. What a superb extra as it allows us to start our walks and climbs at a good height! We shall return again.

Room Tip: All the rooms we and our friends have been allocated have been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our fourth trip to Saas Fee and Hotel Etoile with a walking group. Great variety of walks at different altitudes. Good food in an enjoyable environment. Hotel run by Rolf and Daniela Bumann who pay great attention to getting the details right, and to entertaining the guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

through Neckermann we came to Erlebnis Hotel Etoile. Seen the customer rating on the Neckerman site (9,5 - zover) we were full of expectations, but soon to be disappointed: first the room: small, very hard beds, the child bed was a transformed seat and very uncomfortably. Later and mayor disappointment: the food at night… small portions from - i suspect - microwave-cooking. A real downer. Forced us to go and eat elsewhere on 4 out of 7 days, even when in 'halb-pension')
Good were the friendliness of the owners and the location (outside the center but very calm and with the free ski-bus stopping at the hotel-door. Tragicomical are the theme-dinners: pirates, hippy-style…

Room Tip: not the beds of room 46! The small terrace was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We just had a great week with family Bumann! Nice, well equiped rooms, perfect service and good food, what else do you need? When we arrived, our luggage was brought to the room, like in a 5 star hotel. We enjoyed a week in a family. We enjoyed the good food and the great service of the whole team.
We will be back next year, to enjoy the great slopes and bars of Saas-Fee!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwalm, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

Just came back from an excellent ski vacation in Switzerland. This hotel is just splendid, ran by a nice family for families. Truly a place where you and your family feel at home on vacation.
The vacation actually starts when you arrive in Saas-Fee. The 'village' is traffic free and upon arrival at the very modern parking place, you are being picked up by the hotel owner Mr Rolf Bumann himself. He helped with pleasure loading and unloading the bags and the skis - the skis actually were taken directly to the free ski storage on the slopes.
So, In the morning hassle free to the slopes with either the pretty snow 'train' or walking through the nice shopping area. In the evening coming back and visiting here and there an apres-ski bar... excellent.
At the hotel, we were offered nice rooms with a balcony, a clean bathroom with amenities.
Although there was no swimming pool available, there was plenty of stuff and playground for the kids, from the 3 year old to the older, from lego, dolls to ping pong table, pooltable etc...
Every evening at the hotel, we were offered a theme dinner with the boss himself doing the animation. Superfunny! A friend of mine thought he has some resemblance to Basil Fawlty... :-)
After dinner, the hotel bar, primarily opened by Daniela, Rolf's wife, offered a way to end the day in charm while the more tired amongst us went to sleep.
The breakfast was simple though very fresh and the super friendly staff always there to help.

We spent 7 lovely days in Saas-Fee and Hotel Etoile. I will certainly go back, no doubt.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

I've just recently got back from this Hotel for the second time, and I have to say; this is a very, very good hotel. The typical: battered, old, and cold ski hotels that you usually grim and bear in between the time on the piste couldn't be further from the truth. Family run by the Bumanns, the hotel is always warm, inviting and friendly; you get a real sense that the management of the hotel is more a matter of family pride than profit, which makes for a pleasant change.
The hotel is a bit of a walk out of town, but is set in the most beautiful aspect and has a bus link to the town centre at regular intervals. It has it's own, exclusive, ski room underneath a restaurant in the town, which is basically about 8m from the slope. If that doesn't sound perfect, then add delivery and return of your skis at the start and end of your stay in the hotel's minicab.
Dinner service at the hotel is always an "event" - each night is themed. Yeah, it sounds a little cheesy, but it's actually amazing - the staff put so much effort in to the theme for that evening; which can be anything from a Medieval Castle to a Titanic sea extravaganza. Couple the atmosphere with an elegant 5 course dinner, and you're on to a winner. Breakfast is also amazing. On the first day there's smoked salmon and champagne, with every other day having a huge range of meats, cheeses, cereals, eggs and pastries. We found that breakfast usually kept us going until dinner again that evening!
In the evening there's a comfortable lounge to relax in or a games room downstairs. The hotel is always putting on activities such as Tobogganing and ice-bowling (which I failed miserably at!!!). If that doesn't take your fancy, try Metrobar, Nesti's and the Black Bull Snowbar (apres-ski only).
As a resort Saas-Fee has it's positives and negatives. It gets a mammoth amount of snow and is almost guaranteed to be powdered for most of your week. There are no cars aloud in the village, just electric mini-cabs with zero pollution. Unfortunately though, the lifts can be a bit of a chore, being quite spread out from each other and usually involving a lot of walking to get between them. But when you balance everything out, the skiing is so good it's still worth a visit!
I really recommend this hotel, it's friendliness is unlike any I've stayed at before, and I can't wait to visit again soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Erlebnishotel Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erlebnishotel Etoile

Address: Wildistrasse, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Erlebnishotel Etoile 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top address for an unforgettable holiday! A very popular, cosy activity hotel with personal care - a phantastic view - a secret to be shared! sunny and quiet – new panoramic dining-room, bar, sauna, beautiful garden, all-purpose free-period and enter-tainment. Small but fine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Erlebnishotel Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erlebnishotel Etoile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.