We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eager to please” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mistral

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mistral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mistral
Gletscherstrasse 1, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 55 hotels in Saas-Fee
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Eager to please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Mistral had come recommended and in my experience it often pays to listen to others who have 'dipped toes in the water' already. As it happens they were completely right, all the staff at the family operated Mistral went out of their way to see that everything that could be done for me, was done.

This is a three star establishment and very worthy of its rating. The rooms are comfortable, spotlessly clean and each has a perfect en-suite bathroom. The dining room is pleasent, informal and offers good local fayre accompanied with local wines and beer. For those after dinner moments there is an extensive range of brandies and liquors available at the table side.

The hotel is conveniently located between the main mountain gondola and the ski schools and nursery slopes within the village, so there is no more than 200 metres to either. Come 4pm it is part of the focus for apres ski close to the bridge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

First time in Switzerland, first time skiing in the Alps. We are relatively big skiers and just didn't know what to expect.

We rented the Chalet / Flat the Hotel also owns. Location was unreal. Looking right out over the beginner ski area right into the end of the valley staring at a series of 14k foot peaks going straight up. Also, very near three gondolas and some t-bars to get you going quickly without a lot of pain.

Heidy, Alex and their staff were exceptionally accomodating. We ate pretty much every night at the hotel with our half board deal. A really good deal as it turned out. Relatively inexpensive. We have never been in the situation of 5 course meals for dinner. Each was delicious and large. Stuffed. Need to lose weight. Wines and food were all from the region and great. Rudi's bar out front for an outdoor, after skiing beer / gluhwein was really fun.

The flat was very clean, pretty well stocked, serviced daily and couldn't have been in a better location. Perfect for a family of 4 as it had two bedrooms, a sitting area and a small kitchen. Ski stuff could be left safely in the ski room downstairs.

Couldn't recommend a place more highly. The Supersaxo's that own the place were great. Can't say thank you to them enough for making this a great stay. Saas Fee is more beautiful tha we could have imagined. The town is quaint and not overdone. But it's big enough you can get what you want and eat in a variety of places. The prices for ski gear and groceries was actually quite a bit less than we expected.

Now our number 2 trip ever slightly behind Ngorongoro / Serengeti safari. That good.. That fun. Really neat place and a great stay with the Mistral.

Room Tip: The flat / chalet has one of the most unbelievable views you could ever hope to rent. Great central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My wife and myself went multiple times to Saas-Fee, but it was the first time we stayed at the Hotel Mistral.
After a very smooth transfer to the hotel with the hotel's electric van, we were warmly welcomed by Heidi Supersaxo, who runs the hotel together with her son. Our superior room appeared to be a convenient, sufficiently large room with a balcony. The bathroom was rather small, but very well equipped (incl. a jacuzzi bathtob).
We were very positively surprised by the cleanliness of the hotel and the superb client-friendliness of the hotel staff. Ushi and Stephanie proved to be devoted waitresses at the restaurant, who were always there for a nice chat and to accommodate our wishes.
The 5-dishes dinner-menu is fixed in case you have taken the half-board formula. According to one's personal taste, one evening may be better than other evenings, but in general we found the dinners of a very good quality. In any case, the portions of the food served were large. They offer a wine list of local Swiss wines, and some proved to be very good ones.
The hotel has a fantastic location: in the centre of the village, at walking distance of the two main ski-lifts (Metro Alpin and Plattjen/Längfluh - only 200 m away) and next to the arrival area of the skislopes (at the other side of the street), so you can almost ski until the hotel door! The hotel has a warmed ski basement at the disposal of its guests.
We were very happy about our stay at the Mistral Hotel and would certainly consider returning when we visit Saas-Fee again. I recall three things from our stay: very clean hotel, extremely helpful and charming staff/management and a superb location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed in the Superior Room (attic room) which was large and has a whirlpool bathtub, which is great for a day of ski, and a balcony. Walking to the Alpin Express lift takes roughly 5 mins and also 5 mins to the ski ground for kids. The hotel is next to the river and 2 mins walk from downtown. All in all very positive stay. One improvement could be to expand the breakfast selection and add more fruits. Heidi and the team was perfect !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Mistral is a small, privately run hotel right in the centre of Saas Fee. It is run by Heidi (who is the owner) and she is helped by her son who is a ski and snow board instructor. We stayed in a dual aspect room, which was a good size, and the bathroom was new clean and tidy. Heidi Could not be more helpful, breakfast was good, we did not eat at the restaurant for dinner so don't know how good it was, but it seemed popular. You are not going to go wrong with this hotel. The decor on the ground floor is a little bit chintzy, or just Swiss style. The only thing is Saas Fee is it so expensive. It had snowed so much we could actually ski to the hotel from the bottom of the lifts! There is a rather fun gluhweine bar to the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

As you should expect from a Swiss hotel: very clean and cozy. Gemuetlich. Ask for a room with a view of the mountains. Location is 1 min walk to the lifts; almost at the entrance, and at edge of town 'center'.

The staff was efficient and professional, though they could have been friendlier. Breakfast was always very ample and they actually can make the perfect soft-boiled eggs - something which we've always had problems with at 5+star hotels.

The restaurant serves one of the more innovative menus in town. And it's also a great spot for afternoon cocoa after a full day of skiing.

We did have problems with noisy kids. Although the walls are solid, the doors are not sealed around the edges so the only thing stopping kids from being noisy are parents. The hotel doesn't have enough staff to deal with such complaints. It's a family run establishment.

Smoke from the bar downstairs also managed to creep into the rooms and there was nothing we could do about that. There is no broad smoking ban in public establishments in Switzerland. We would heartily recommend this place with the caveat that you need to get a room as far away as possible from public areas such as stairs.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

Have enjoyed staying at Mistral with hotel keeper, Heidi
Supersaxo for more than dozen years. Clean, friendly,
helpful, terrific food, very accomdating. Nice smaller, more
initmate experience with family run property. Concenient to
ski slopes, shops, other attractions.

  • Liked — personal friendly service
  • Disliked — some smokers
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mistral

Address: Gletscherstrasse 1, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 hotels in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Mistral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mistral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.