We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value. Very convenient.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Welcome Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Welcome Inn to your Saves list
Hotel Welcome Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holbergstrasse 1, Kloten 8302, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent value. Very convenient.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Welcome Inn lives up to its name, the staff really makes you feel welcome. In fact they went far out of their way to help us solve a problem we ran into. They are a block away from the Kloten train station, so you can be in Zurich in a few minutes and save a lot in your hotel cost. They run a free shuttle to the airport (there is a large shopping center at the airport). The rooms are clean and neat. The have a wooden floor (I don't like carpets). They offer free parking and free WiFi. Within one block there's a supermarket, a great bakery, drugstores, several restaurants, post office, bank, cellphone store, and a convenience store at the train station. The neighborhood is full of vegetation and is worth walking around. They were very accomodating when we could not get to the hotel because of the eruption of the Volcano in Iceland a couple of years back. I recommend this hotel if you are visting Zurich or if you need a home base to visit Switzerland.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a nicer view. There are a couple of rooms with a terrace, but you have to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Henry,
Thank you very much for your nice words and and your rating. Nice to hear that you had a memorably stay with us and the eruption of the Volcano in Iceland 2 years ago was indeed a very special event. Thanks for all the information about the surrounding, it gives future guests a real viey about what they can expect.
See you back soon at Hotel Welcome Inn, it would be our pleasure!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    167
    59
    10
    8
See reviews for
74
91
56
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

If you had to stay near Zurich Airport, you have a few options and this hotel is not a good one. In the hotel you always smell some ugly odor - I am not sure but I think it comes from rubish outside. And the hotel has only small rooms and the staff is also not a very friendly one. And it is very expensive. In Kloten the Fly Away is the better option

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Reiseprofi aus Wien
First of all I would like to thank you for your time taken rating us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to see, that have visited the Welcome Inn already several times and the Fly away too. I am pretty sure that there was no rubish outside, it is not allowed in Switzerland to deposit your rubbish just in front of your door, but I apologize, if there was an unpleasant smell during your stay. We will check it for sure. Referring the small rooms,they have actually a reputable size but I hope, you had despite your feeling a comfortable stay.
See you back soon at one of the welcome hotels at the airport, would be our pleasure!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here at my brother's recommendation because needed to attend to some business in the Lufingen/Embrach area. Stayed 2 nights in a very comfortable, quiet room and staff was very helpful. Tried the restaurant one night and the food was good, but nothing extraordinary. Hotel is located near the Kloten Bahnhof, as well as an easy walk to a variety of shops. Free shuttle service to and from the airport was a definite plus. Weakness of the dollar makes everything in Switzerland very pricey, but relatively speaking this was a good deal for very comfortable lodgings.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for rating us and your nice comment. We are glad to hear that you had a memorable stay at Welcome Inn during your business Trip. Referring the weak Dollar or in that case the strong Swiss Franc, we are aware of that probelm and try to give you at least the best offer and service we can provide.
Greetings to your brother and see you back soon when you visit Switzerland again, it is our pleasure!
Kind regards,
Your Welcome Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here for two single night's, one week apart as we flew from Zurich to Stockholm and back. This hotel is conveniently located very close to the airport but not too close that the planes keep you up at night! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms were basic but clean and comfortable - good bathroom! The breakfast was basic but free and the train station for trains into the heart of Zurich is about a two minute walk away. The best thing for us though was the secure parking where we were able to leave our car for the week we were away and the free shuttle bus to and from the airport. Phone calls were super cheap too and free wifi as well. This hotel suited our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for rating us and your nice words. We are happy to hear that you had a good time during these 2 single nights and we hope Stockholm was a good choice and you had nice experiences.
See you soon again, when you fly somewhere, the parking facilities are always available fo our guest.. It would be our pleasure to welcomeing you again.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was a great start for our holiday. We are traveling to three countries and started in Zurich.
Nice hotel, very clean,and great staff. Short walk to the local train station,five stops to the main station.13 chf for 24 hr pass on local trains and trams. 15 chf for breakfast, overrated. Better to wait for the train station. Supr quiet rooms, the grey shuttle is clean and roomy and waiting at sector 3. Turn left as you exit the arrivals area. So easy...Remember, this away from Zurich, but still close. The room rate really makes the difference.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Marshall, Thank you very much for your nice comment! Nice to hear you had a good stay with us and you are right, by train you are in 15 min in the city centre of Zurich 2 times per hours, but the rates matter...
Visit us again when you are back in Switzerland, it would be a big pleasure!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The best part about this hotel is the nearness to the Airport and the pick up and drop service to and from to the hotel and airport which runs every half an hour. The Kloten Rail Station is a 5-minute walk away from here. The surroundings are peaceful, and rooms are pretty basic. Breakfast is additional 15 Swiss Francs but totally worth it with a good spread of croissants, breads, juices, coffee,milk and cheese etc. You can also book your Mt.Titlis and Jungfraujoch tour from the reception itself. Pretty nice experience overall!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for rating us and all the useful information, it is pretty useful for prospective guests. See you back soon, it would be a pleasure!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel had a convenient shuttle to/from Zurich Airport! Once we got to the hotel, we were greeted by a VERY friendly staff. We quickly received our room key and took the elevator up to our room. We had a standard room with 2 double beds. The room was extremely large compared to most standard rooms! It came with a small fridge (free of charge) which was great because we often walked to the nearby Grocery Store to purchase food items. There were large windows that opened up to let in fresh air & light! In front of the windows were 2 chairs and a large desk, as well as a flat screen TV above it! It was very modern and more than we could ask for! The only odd thing (which I wasnt sure if this was typical in Europe or not), is that the bathroom was split into 2 seperate room. One bathroom had a sink & shower, while the other bathroom had the toilet & sink. I didn't mind, it was just... unique! lol.

Room Tip: You honestly dont need to upgrade to a suite or anything, the standard rooms are more than adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Brian, Thank you very much for your comment. Thanks a lot for the kudos, it brings suddenly a smile on their faces. Teh thing with the separat toilet, it is actually common in Switzerland, if you have enough space. In private houses the separat toilet with a sink is often the guest toilet, because they normally do not need any bathtub or shower for examples just for a visit. Maybe it is new for you, but you will see it is quite useful! :)
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Welcome Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Welcome Inn

Address: Holbergstrasse 1, Kloten 8302, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Kloten
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Welcome Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welcome Inn enjoys a central location in Kloten, half a mile from Zurich Airport. It offers a free airport shuttle, free wired internet in the rooms, and free parking during the stay.The 2 restaurants serve Swiss and international cuisine. A bar and a garden which is open during summer are also available. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas.The Welcome Inn's rooms feature a desk, a minibar, flat-screen cable TV, and a bathroom with hairdryer and make-up mirror.Guests of the Welcome Inn enjoy free access to a public swimming pool (a 5-minute walk away) and to the fitness room at a partner hotel (a 3-minute walk away).Many shops, bars and restaurants are within walking distance. Kloten Train Station is 820 ft away. The train ride to Zurich takes 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Welcome Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Welcome Kloten
Welcome Hotel Kloten
Welcome Inn Hotel
Hotel Welcome Inn Canton Of Zurich/Kloten, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Welcome Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.