We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“atw2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fly Away

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fly Away to your Saves list
Hotel Fly Away
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Marktgasse 19, Kloten 8302, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“atw2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel was easy to locate, coming from the train in Zurich. We had arrived early and were able to secure rooms early in the day. Thus we were able to spend the remainder of the day at our leisure before an early morning flight back to the U.S. Luckily the temperature outside was perfect and there was no need to worry about having our rooms being unbearable hot. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms very clean. I would definitely stay there again as the location being close to the airport was a big plus. The reception staff was extremely cordial and welcomed us with any information that we needed to seek our way around town. The free shuttle service was an added attraction as we were able to take our luggage to the airport on the evening before we left.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the back side of the hotel to avoid street noise and also avoid the hot afternoon s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Fly Away, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your lovely feedback! We apprechiate your detailed feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We will forward your compliments to the reception team and are looking forward to welcoming you again in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    86
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
55
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Lovely hotel, perfectly located for airport (free shuttle bus, takes 10 mins) and for Zurich, just a 2 minute walk from the station, with regular trains. Comfortable bed, hypoallergenic bedding which was great. The pizzeria was LOVELY! Had an amazing chocolate mousse for pudding and the pizza was great too. Room was very clean, quite a small bathroom, but didn't need to be any bigger. You can get free passes at reception to use the local swimming pool, which was good. Also, free wi-fi which is good. The only negative point is that it was very very hot at night (thstwas the weather, nothing to do with the hotel) and no air con, just s bit of air circulation. Opening the window didn't really help either, with quite a bit of traffic noise (again, not thr hotels fault). Just before leaving, I read that we could hsve got a fan from reception for the room, so that might have helped a bit!

Lovely reception staff too, especially the man who checked us in! Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Fly Away, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your amazing comment! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed wour stay with us and we hope, the heat was bearable, since we have not many very hot days during a Swiss summer & air con's are not usual, especially in 3 superior stars hotels.
Thank for all the tipps for future guests, we appreciate it.
See you soon again, thanks again for the kudos!
kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Newish hotel, modern decor, somewhat cramped room (the "Grand Lit" is only 80" wide - a bit narrow for two). Bathroom small, but has everything you need, except a place to hang the bath towel near the shower.
Very well insulated against the outside, not so well against the corridor. The so-called air conditioning is, according to the staff, only a fresh air inlet. It makes the room almost unbearably hot on a hot and muggy summer night.
Breakfast bar not included in the room price (somewhat unusual in Western Europe), but nice buffet.
The in-house Italian restaurant "Mercato" very good. Excellent service all-around.
Free shuttle service to the airport (about 7 minutes); runs every 30 minutes.

Room Tip: For 2 people get a room with 2 beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Fly Away, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your stay with us! Thank you for all your inputs and tipps about the hotel and restaurants. IN regards to the excluded breakfast, around the airport it is usual, since many guests have an early flight and might not have time to enjoy breakfast, so there is more flexibility.
See you soon again at our place!
Your Fly away Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We needed a place to "crash" after a late flight before continuing on our trip to Germany.
The Fly Away hotel is located very close to the airport and has a complementary and frequent shuttle service to and from the hotel.
The room was basic but spacious and clean. The area is very quiet and there is a nice selection of restaurants and cafes within walking distance, including two restaurants within the hotel's building. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Overall a very positive experience and excellent value for money. Would stay here again if I needed a place to sleep nearby the Zurich airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Fly Away, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedabck. We are happy you find with the Fly away a nice place to stay during your journey to Germany.
. I am pleased to share your positive feedback with all our team members and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Kind regards,
Your Fly away Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

small hotel with solid rooms, perhaps average as their airco was not really an airco...not too comfortable with >30 degrees these days. All is more than offset by the great Italian restaurant downstairs; great service, wines and high quality dishes!!
Breakfast was good, not too many choices but quality-wise simply good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Fly Away, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you fo ryour reciew. We are happy to hear tha t you enjoyed your stay with us. We have indeed no air con but a propre ventilation system and less very hot days in Switzerland.
See you soon again!
Kind regards,
Your Fly away Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The first time we had a layover in Zurich, we stayed at the Radisson Blu right inside the airport, but this time, we decided to save some money, so we chose Hotel Fly Away. It was a great choice. We found it to be quiet, clean and comfortable, and for much less than the Radisson, which is fine hotel in its own right. The Hotel Fly Away's shuttle bus was right on time. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that the Fly Away is located in Kloten, which is a real village, not just a collection of airport hotels. So, we could choose from a variety of restaurants and shops, and there was a nice playground nearby where our kids could run around. The best part was the inexpensive late check out. They allowed us to check out at 8pm, since we had a late departure for Bangkok. This late departure only cost us CHF50, which is a bargain in my book. And the two restaurants on the ground floor of the hotel were both great (and they seem to be popular with locals, not just hotel guests). All in all, it was a great discovery and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the halls are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Fly Away, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very happy to read such a lovely comment regarding your last stay with us! Thanks for your detailed feedback it helps us a lot improving the service and future guests to choose the right hotel. We are glad you liked the location and facilities of the Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Zurich Airport area.
Kind regards,
Your Hotel Fly away
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
489 reviews 489 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is my third stay in this hotel and I have notice a deterioration in almost everything. Obviously this is a budget hotel and as such you shouldnt expect miracles, but the service was tired, the rooms are dated (for example TV does not work, duvet is too small for the bed...), breakfast continental selection is poor and mediocre quality...
So for a quick night if you are looking for value near the arport this is OK, otherwise probably is better to look elsewhere

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Fly Away, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for you feedback. We are appreciative of the honest feedback regarding our service here. We do strive and pride ourselves on outstanding customer service and we sincerely apologize that this was not exactly what you received from us. We value your feedback you gave to us and we hope to give you a better experience fo ryour future stay.
We check your inputs seriously and are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Hotelk Fly away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fly Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fly Away

Address: Marktgasse 19, Kloten 8302, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Kloten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fly Away 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-minute drive from Kloten Airport, this hotel offers free airport transportation, soundproof rooms with free Wi-Fi, and free parking during the stay. Kloten Train Station is 330 ft away. All rooms at the Fly away feature a desk and cable TV. The windows can be opened. Home-made Italian specialties, including pizzas from the wood-fired oven, are served in the Fly away's restaurants and on the terrace. Free airport transportation is available between 5 am and 11:45 pm. Guests benefit from free access to Kloten's public swimming pool and a fitness center in a partner hotel, both located within a 5-minute walk from Fly away.A shopping center, restaurants, bars, a cinema and a nightclub can be reached by foot. Central Zurich is a 15-minute train ride away.Please note: Our reception desk is closed from 12:00 pm to 06:00 am. Please use the check-in at our partner hotel Welcome Inn if you arrive later than 12:00 pm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Fly Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fly Away Kloten
Fly Away Hotel Kloten
Hotel Fly Away Canton Of Zurich/Kloten, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fly Away, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.