We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business/airport hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Allegra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Allegra to your Saves list
Hotel Allegra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hamelirainstrasse 3, Kloten 8302, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
audiopink
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good business/airport hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed here for business and have no complaints whatsoever, which is what good business hotels should make you say.
True, it may not be a proper four star hotel and the lounge and common areas are better than the actual rooms. I found the beds for instance not too comfortable but it seems to be a recurring issue in Switzerland (come on, get yourselves some decent orthopaedic mattresses!).
Breakfast was pretty good and so is the location and the shuttle service to and from the airport. Train stop is litterally behind the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    205
    45
    9
    5
See reviews for
124
78
47
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

This place was so cool, the rooms are huge, don't stay anywhere else. It's extremely close to the airport and easy to get to with the shuttle.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

This is described as an airport hotel. It can be reached by taking the free shuttle from the airport, but it takes about 10 minutes journey to get there. The hotel check-in area is reasonably stylish and the staff were efficient and friendly. I was disappointed with the room. Very basic. The twin beds were advanced camp Beds. The mattresses squeaked badly with each move. The bedding was cheap looking. The room had a kettle for tea or coffee but the switch was faulty. There was a safe available, but the coding was complicated and the door locked when it was open and could not be reset. Most rooms have an umbrella available, but mine was missing.
Breakfast was uncomfortable: I was offered full breakfast or basic light breakfast. The basic light one was only tea/coffee/hot chocolate plus cereal, or bread/toast. The full one was as above plus meats, cheese, eggs. I elected for full and was ushered to the "full" side of the two breakfast eating areas. First problem was where to sit? There were 6 tables. One table for two people, two tables for four people, and three tables for six people. Each table had one person. I chose to sit at the opposite end of a six seater, with a stranger at the other end. It worked ok until his colleagues joined him! I understand enough German to know they were questioning who I was.
Overall, I will avoid this hotel next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomegroup, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for the time you have taken writing down your impressions. It is vitally important to us, receiving honest feedback from our guests.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Referring to the furnishing and the style of hotel Allegra in all, we would like to explain that it is created according to the style of the famous painter Piet Mondrian. As you may know, the colors and the design are typical for his art. Furthermore there is modern furniture in a simple style but high quality products.

Please be so kind, if you have any problems with faulty products or problems with any handlings, tell us and we help you with pleasure! We have all products in stock and it is our calling making guests stay as comfortable as possible!

With reference to the breakfast confusion, we have many good feedbacks for this organisation. Our guests appreciate the choice between the different breakfasts, we have many business guests with less time and they prefer a smaller and faster breakfast. Regarding the space problem, we are checking different breakfast possibilities in the next time and we are grateful for all inputs.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

The hotels near the Zurich airport all seem to be have a clean, minimalist style, but the Allegra seems a bit more stylish than most. It may be the Mondrian inspired decorations. Whatever it is, I enjoyed my stay here, and will consider it again for one of my future trips to Zurich.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I use this hotel when on business at Kloten it offers free airport bus, it is also next to Kloten train station which is only a few stops away from Zurich HB which is the City with many bars + shops etc, the rooms are tidy but with very basic interior only have a shower + toilet

Restaurant is ok with average breakfast evening meal ok but not a great choice, staff are always very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomegroup, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you very much for the time you have taken writing down your impressions.
It is vitally important to us, receiving honest feedback from our guests.
Furthermore, it is extremely helpful for prospective guests to choose a hotel nearby Zurich.
We are looking forward welcoming you again in Hotel Allegra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed here, in a single room for one night in late-September 2011 as a "in-transit hotel".

The hotel provides free shuttles to and from the airport, which comes by every 15/20 minutes. When taking the train, make sure to get off at the airport instead of the central station to take advantage of the free shuttle. I had to wait a little, but the shuttle was on time and there weren’t any issues.

Check-in went by smoothly. You need to pay extra for wireless internet but it was worth it as it was fast and worked well even from my room. The reception, hallways, restaurant and rooms are all freshly renovated and sophisticated. The bathroom in my room was very clean and very well decorated. I was surprised of how spacious my room was. The bed was comfortable and the TV offered many channels.

My breakfast wasn’t included but I was able to pay extra for it in the morning. They had a great “hot-American style-buffet”, which was a little expensive, but so is everything else in Switzerland!

I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay here again if I were ni the same situation. Although, for a long visit in Zurich, I would probably try and stay in the City.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomegroup, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Dear guest,


Thank you for your recent stay at hotel Allegra and for the beautiful headline.
It is vitally important to us, receiving honest feedback from our guests. Furthermore, it is extremely helpful for prospective guests to choose a hotel nearby Zurich.
We take note of and check your inputs seriously and are looking forward welcoming you again in Hotel Allegra!
The internet access in the room (LAN) is for free and you can use it limitless. The W-LAN is at the moment for a little fee but by the beginning of next year it will be free of charge as well, because it is then a group standard of the welcome hotels & restaurants which the hotel Allegra is owned and operated by.

We take note of and check your inputs seriously and are looking forward welcoming you again in Hotel Allegra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunico, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed there for one night.... It was situated close to the airport but in a quiet area, breakfast was very okay and the rooms were comfortable. Train station is nearby and you are in Zurich within 15min. I would choose this hotel again......

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomegroup, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear guest
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Allegra and for the beautiful headline.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and the rooms, as well as our breakfast. Our employees will very much appreciate your comments. It would be our pleasure to welcome you soon again.
With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Allegra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegra

Address: Hamelirainstrasse 3, Kloten 8302, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Kloten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Allegra 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allegra hotel is situated in a central yet quiet location, close to the Zurich airport, next to the Kloten train station. It offers you a free airport shuttle and free internet in all rooms. You enjoy free access to Kloten's public swimming pool and you will find a complimentary bottle of water on your room upon arrival. You can park your car for free on site during your stay. At an additional cost you can also leave your car at the hotel's parking lot during your business trip or vacation.Only 5 minutes away from Zurich Airport and 15 minutes from the center of Zurich, the Allegra hotel is a convenient place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Allegra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegra Hotel Kloten
Hotel Allegra Canton Of Zurich/Kloten, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Allegra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.