We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina to your Saves list
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Maistra 175 | 7504 Pontresina, Pontresina CH-7504, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Pontresina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I arrived as a solo touring motorbike, out of season and without having booked in advance. This hotel was an excellent find with a very good restaurant attached.
Reception staff were friendly and the room was spacious and very comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent.
Secure parking was provided for my motorbike in their private garage.
It's right in the middle of the town so a very convenient location.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was too small to my expectations and what shown in the pictures. Had asked for a room with hill view but got one with a small window that opens to a duct. But I must say the bathroom was modern, large and had a whirlpool tub. Breakfast was good but same spread repeating everyday. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Got a safe parking inside the hotel but had to pay 15CHF per night. Very close to railway station, coop supermarket, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Stayed for five nights at this hotel as a couple on a reasonably priced package. Reasonably priced in relation to notoriously high prices for hotels in the Upper Engadine in general.
We were pleasantly surprised by a generally positive service attitude of staff which unfortunately is not the standard in some of these larger places.
Our package included half board with a breakfast buffet (standard for 3-Star) and a four course set menu the evening (choice between a meat or fish dish only). The evening menus were delicious and well presented though the limited choice might be a problem for some guests. I assume they would quite flexibly accommodate alternative dietary requirements.
The hotel location is convenient right at the main shopping street of Pontresina close to shops, facilities and the community hot pools. This is a quiet location as the main road bypasses the town further down in a valley.
If travelling with public transport, Pontresina Post local bus station is closest. If arriving from Chur, thus consider taking the bus from Samedan instead of switching the train to Pontresina train station, which is located 15 minutes by foot down the hill from the main township. The hotel will gladly pick you up though at the station if you let them know your time of arrival.

There is continued refurbishment in progress in an around the hotel so be sure to ask whether this will disturb your stay.

Room Tip: Newly refurbished rooms have sound proof windows but hotel is not at a noisy location. If very sensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We only spent one night in this hotel and we picked it because of the good location and the excellent fare we found online. Pontresina being so close to S.Moritz tend to be expensive. This hotel is under renovation. We were assigned to an older room (carpet on the floor, older furniture) but the quality was still good. We had a corner room very spacious with a good view over the mountains. I saw new rooms online, they have a much modern style. I really liked breakfast, nice buffet, nice selection of local bread, fresh fruit, etc... I'm usually picky but this time I was satisfied and I would go back. The small but efficient and clean spa offers complimentary hot tub, sauna, steam room. Few things I didn't like: first, no bathrobe in the room: to get one you have to go to the front desk and leave a 10 CHF deposit. Having to walk to the spa, the robe is essential. The other thing, is the parking: on the website they say they have one but when we got there they told us their parking was full. There is no even space outside the hotel, so when we arrived I had to leave the car on the side of that narrow street and then we drove to a nearby public parking. At the end the walk from the hotel to the parking was fine but I would have preferred know before what to do with my car. Last, I would have liked to have extra pillow in the closet or more amenities in the bathroom, but as I said, for one night and for the rate I paid, I was happy.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

In reality the rooms on the website are not what all rooms look like. The room we stayed in was not modern and there was stained wallpaper in one corner, seemingly where a leak from the upstairs room had stained the wall. Breakfast was good, though not many options for hot food. Good location on the main street and easy to get to by bus (5 min walk) but not so convenient for Pontresina train station (10-15 min walk).

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

we were pleased by our stay. The hotel was greatly located, the refurbished room was stylish and comfortable. Staff was very friendly. The hotel is perfectly located in Pontresina. We did not eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Responsabile reception at Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina, responded to this review, February 19, 2015
Dear Guests
thank you very muche for your impressions about the hotel .
It is very important for us to have your opinion esecially on the new rooms.
Hoping to welcome you again in the future
sunning greetings from Pontresina
Best regards
Chiara fossi
Chef de reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina

Address: Via Maistra 175 | 7504 Pontresina, Pontresina CH-7504, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Pontresina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schweizerhof is located in the heart of pontresina! Where the sun kisses the bar until late at night with a beautiful view on the Roseg Glacier. Opposite is the BELLAVITA pool with outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi and one internal. Deck chairs are available for sunbathing.Our Piemonte restaurant offers typical high quality Italian dishes.Our wellness center on the first floor offers ,sauna ,Turkish bath with Jacuzzi after your sport activity.Come the Schweizerhof pontresina! Staff will welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.