We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves a five...but a few things were bothering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Kronenhof

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Kronenhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Maistra 130 | 7504 Pontresina, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Pontresina
Calvi, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Deserves a five...but a few things were bothering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Having decided to spend four days in Engadin we started looking for a hotel and were impressed by the number of positive reviews on this hotel. And indeed they are well deserved. The hotel location is not perfect, but it is in the center of the village, has a large garage and is well accessible. A lot of rooms have a great view. It is a real "palace": very large lobby, dining-rooms, etc...Check-in was very nice, we did not know the type of room to book so the office manager spontaneously suggested to show us a few...We had a very good impression of all rooms, whatever their size and price. We went for a suite, which was absolutely fabulous. Not inexpensive though...Very large, great view, decorated with taste. And a great smell: the smell of wood...the bathroom is not very large but extremely well designed. A lot of storage room.
The spa is also worth mentioning. Very large, all sorts of saunas / jacuzzis / swimming-pool. Also a great fitness center, with very modern and to some extent sophisticated machines.
Morning breakfast also excellent.

Why put a four rather than a five then? First, service at tea-time was lousy...it took a very long time to put in your order, and even longer to find the waitress again to get the check. We also asked for one large down feather, which they were unable to find...and did not take the trouble to inform us. After asking again we had to satisfy ourselves with two individual (small) ones. And finally, and I may be a bit old-fashioned in that respect, but I find it very disappointing that you can take one of the most expensive suites in a Swiss palace and the hotel owner does not even take the time to say hello or introduce himself. Fortunately, really hoteliers still exist (Baur en Ville Zurich, Palace Lausanne, etc)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KulmHotel, Manager at Grand Hotel Kronenhof, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Zelal25
Greetings from Pontresina,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof and for your valuable feedback.
I am so sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations and that our staff and I were not able to satisfy all your needs. Most of our guests appreciate and value the personal attention they receive and comment that our staff goes above and beyond to provide exceptional service. Our owners are not based at the hotel, however whenever possible, I personally try to welcome each and every one of our guests upon arrival. Unfortunately on your day of arrival, I was occupied in a meeting. I make it a priority to stay in touch with our guests during their stay on different occasion such as meeting them in the lobby area or in the evening at the restaurants. I regret that I missed meeting you on these occasions during your stay. I hope you will visit again and give us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional Kronenhof experience.

My best regards,
Marc Eichenberger
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    428
    18
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
108
227
33
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

There are few Grand Hotels that can seamlessly blend old world charm and modern conveniences as well as the Kronenhof. The property is well worthy of its 5 star rating, however the staff if possible deserve an extra star as this was the best customer service I have come across in a hotel.

Every staff member we encountered seemed truly engaged, exceptionally trained and professional in their duties.

The property is as impressive as surrounding mountains and really is the gem of Pontresina. We cannot wait to return and celebrate. It is fitting that this is my first review, as it is the first time I have felt this strongly about a hospitality experience.

Room Tip: The horse carriage ride is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have ever visited - not cheap, but worth every penny. We were met at the station by car from the hotel and they even took us to the next village when we wanted to travel up the mountain by the funicular railway there - and offered to bring us back if it started to rain, at no charge. They aslo took us back to the station at the end of our visit, and took our cases onto the station and found out the right place to stand to catch our train. Fantastic customer service, and a beautiful hotel and location. If you get the chance it is worth travelling to Switzerland just to stay here.

Room Tip: The only minor comment would be that as our room was at the front of the hotel, the church clock bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, Dorset
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I chose this hotel on the back of the other reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. After a long drive from Stuttgart we arrived at the hotel to be welcomed like old friends. The phrase "Welcome Home' is used in their literature and is true to form.

The Staff are impeccable and the attention to detail is obvious from the outset. The rooms are beautiful and the junior suite I had booked for our honeymoon was perfect with a view of the glacier. The food was as good as anything I have tasted from Michelin starred establishments in the UK and that was the 'normal' (I use the term loosely) hotel restaurant. The Michelin starred Kronenstubli restaurant was not open on the days we were there (Mon and Tues).

The Spa...well, it is nothing short of superb and takes care of everything. A small but well equipped gym, treatments and the spa area itself (with steam rooms, sauna etc) was a voyage of discovery.

The manager, Mark, has a fantastic team to take care of everything and they are attentive without being intrusive. Perfect.

Two nights were not enough and we look forward to a week long break next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Having travelled throughout Switzerland with the pricey nature of accommodation for basic 2-3 star properties, this was definitely worth every penny and definitely 5 star luxury. From the minute you walk in or are picked up by the very friendly chauffer service you are treated to exceptional service. The rooms and bathrooms are in good condition and the spa facilities are wonderful. The hotel restaurants are lovely and the staff there too are very friendly and accommodating. This is truly a 5 star hotel in service and accommodation.Very memorable stay.

Room Tip: booked the most basic room and this was fine in my opinion with a good view and ability to walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We usually stay in moderate priced, well located hotels usually referred by Trip Advisor. We stay at a"Luxury" hotel once in a trip to recharge.
The Kronenhof lives up to its 5* rating. A little out of the way in Pontresino (Hotel picks up and delivers to the train), but worth the short trip to St.Moritz, which is glitzy and ferociously expensive
Yes, the Kronenhof is"Old Fashioned," but in a good way. It is quiet,has elegant public spaces and spacious, very comfortable rooms and Bathrooms. The breakfast is excellent and there's, an excellent restaurant for dining. As one might expect there is superb, excellent inobtrusive service provided by the very attentive and friendly staff.
The WiFi malfunctioned and no CNN (Buts thats a plus !) Interestingly the least number of TV stations to select comparedeven to much less expensive otels !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is the top hotel in Pontresina, a quieter cousin of nearby uber upscale Saint Moritz. It is a stunning turn of the century hotel that has been beautifully maintained and restored, with grand ceilings, chandeliers and decor. We took the half board plan which I thought was a great bargain, at an added 35 CHF pp per night for an incredible 5-course plus cheese cart dinner in the grand dining room. Staff were fantastic. When the complimentary wifi went down over a weekend, the manager gave us a Swisscom card to use until the problem was fixed. One of the concierges, Benjamin, provided us with incredible service and advice on hiking trails. Our room, one step up from basic called "comfort" was very nice with spectacular views. The conncierges were generous is offering shuttle service in the hotel cars, which made getting around the area easy. The spa level, which includes a full indoor pool, steam and dry saunas, a salt sauna and footbaths, and more relaxation areas than you could ever use. It also had a spa pool with various forms of bubbles.And importantly, it is complimentary to guests. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Kronenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kronenhof

Address: Via Maistra 130 | 7504 Pontresina, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Family Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kronenhof 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Kronenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pontresina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Kronenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.