We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schloss

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Schloss to your Saves list
Hotel Schloss
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maistra, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Pontresina
Como, Italia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A place to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I’ve just spent one week at the Hotel Schloss with my family and had a wonderful stay. The location is perfect in the pretty village of Pontresina, nearby the Roseg valley with its nice paths (either walking and cross country skiing). The bus stations are just few meters outside the hotel door and you can forget about your car on day of arrival and take the bus to reach the slopes in St Moritz, Corviglia, Diavolezza, Corvatsch. The bus is free of charge for ski pass holders. You can rent skies and boots at the hotel and book your ski courses at the ski school office inside the hotel. Also, you can buy the ski pass at the hotel at a special price of 25 CHF (70% discount on retail price), if you stay longer than 2 days at the hotel. Staff is warm and friendly and the hotel manager is simply a gentleman: they were all very careful to meet any requirements of adults and kids. The hotel is ideal for families, groups of friends and for cross country skiing lovers, who can reach their paths, simply taking the elevator outside their room. The hotel has great common spaces and boasts a theater inside, where kids can dance and adults can watch the shows organized by the animation team. There is a rich program of entertainment for kids and adults, sporting and leisure activities during the day as well as shows in the evenings. Bedrooms are very comfortable, clean and warm: we got our bathrobes and towels changed every day, even without asking. The entire hotel is very clean, not only the bedrooms, but also the restaurant, the SPA and the pool. We chose half board: both breakfast and dinner are at buffet, with great variety and quality of food (Italian !) in particular at dinner. The food is served by waiters and so you don’t see the usual barbarity at the counter of sweets. Waiters were attentive and careful to satisfy any special request. WI-FI is available with different options (we suggest the weekly fee because is quite convenient). We’ve enjoyed the well equipped SPA every day and that was just pure relax after a day skiing. I recommend this hotel to families and group of friend looking for relax, friendly atmosphere and proximity to sports and outdoor activities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSchloss, Direttore at Hotel Schloss, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Google Translation
Egregia Barbara, grazie per la Sua dettagliata recensione che coglie lo spirito dell’hotel dedicato in particolare alle famiglie e a gruppi di amici che amano le attività all’aperto e il relax. Ci auguriamo di poterLa ospitare di nuovo. Un caloroso saluto da Pontresina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    95
    33
    17
    6
See reviews for
99
56
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

**** ? No thanks!
The position of the hotel is very uncomfortable: 500 meters outside the centre of the village on a such small road where the traffic in the 2 directions has to be regulated by a traffic light!
Services: the garage is mandatory because if not, you have to park the car really far away, so you accept to pay ca. 8€ per day. Wi-fi is not for free (10€ per 24 hours) but it was not working so unuseful...If you ask for a bathrobe to go to the spa, you pay it ca 7€ per day! and the best was abot trowaway slippers: they were not for free too!!
The quality for the food was really bad and the service in the restaurant was null because everything was at buffet.
On top all the staff was Italian and not properly international. In my opinion this hotel should be a middle *** class!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSchloss, Direttore at Hotel Schloss, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Mr Herrasmus

we are very sorry that you did not appreciate the central location of the hotel, very appreciated by the majority of our guests; for this reason we recommend to use a garage (from the hotel or
public discovered only 500m from the hotel). We are sorry that you did not realize this before your arrival even if clearly published.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It has nothing from a 4 star hotel - i would not recommend staying there. Only if you have no expectations. It is not more then 3 stars. They call it wellness but to go there you have to give them a notice in the morning that you want to go in the evening at a certain time. The time is limited and if you are late they give you trouble. I am not willing for such a timetable on my vacation with my kids (12 and 16 years old). I never experienced something before.
There is no roomservice, no doorman, no luagage help, no car parking. No good food. Nothing. No service at all.

Room Tip: I guess there are no good rooms, I looked even at a suite and it was terrible. It is just not at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSchloss, Direttore at Hotel Schloss, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mrs IRIS,
I remain puzzled by Your very negative comment. I remember very well about You and I would like to point out the facts You have raised.

On arrival there was the luggage service, in Your case would have been necessary to wait a few minutes, as well as at the departure. I personally greeted You giving my business card and asking You if You needed any help but You answer “no”.

Room: You booked a triple room and stated that the pictures showed on the website as triple were different and so You demanding us a “suite room” while the price was for a “standard triple”. At the reception desk we have shown You that the pictures on the website are correct. You're not satisfied claimed heavily over the counter of the reception that the one we show You wasn’t the german version of the website but the italian or the swiss one. Once You have ascertained with Your notebook that the pictures were also the same on the german version, You said You want to change room because the triple is too small. We offer You a suite room with a normal extra charge but You refuse it. So we gave You a family room suitable for 4 people without extra charge and You stated finally You were satisfied.

Restaurant: the first night You had dinner at a la carte restaurant, with a roesti with eggs, gnocchi with deer ragu, mineral and a glass of wine. The waiters who speak fluently German and English don’t report any negative comment from You, on the contrary You said to me that all was fine. I also remember that You request to change table from Julier room the Bernina room, and You were satisfied. For breakfast You asked a 3 eggs omelette with onion and tomato, bottle of mineral at the table and You were of course served for the entire staying.

Parking: You complained to me personally that the garage entrance was not so broad so I gave You my parking space with easier access.

Spa: You told me that was not very "normal" to book the Spa or the restaurant in the morning; I explained that it was to ensure entry to our guests along with attentive service and tranquility. For the same reason the access to Spa is not allowed to minors.

Wifi: it’s true that in that days was problematic and that the line dropped a lot but I've found an alternative for You that You not accepted; in any case I have returned the money to the wifi card that was unusable.

Cleanliness of the room: You said it was very clean and complimenting with me. You claimed about the skipass price saying that You would use only just to go out for lunch on the slopes, but of course it is not on our control.

I want to point out also to the fact that all Your requests were satisfied such as the coffee pod maker in the room.

We also want to mention that the You park Your car in a private parking lot near the hotel; the owner contacted me to move immediately or he would call the police. We notice You’re having breakfast, asking You to move it and You thank me for this.

Every day I asked You how is it going and You never made these harsh critics as on the web. This behavior really hurt me and my staff.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is a old castle or similar. Nice building, nice area even tho a bit far away from the slopes, and even relatively cheap considering the location. Perfect for large familes with kids, for young people that want to travel on the cheap side. If I really want to find some weakness i would look into the kichen. Food not really the best even tho is run by an italian chef..i would have expected much better. Overall not a bad place. Pontresina is really nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I came with my friends (2 couples 30-37age) and we stayed at the Schloos hotel. We came after long trip at 9pm. Noobody help us with our luggage. That wasnt problem to us, but we were really surprised bcs it's 4* hotel without doorman. Room was much more smaller than it seems on the pics, but they were clean and beds were comfortable. Bathroom were also clean and fine. Later we found out that we can not sleep 'cause of tiny walls and childrens running all day/night long. Its's NOT their fault, we really like children, but of really tiny walls. After we left our luggage we came down to the restaurant to eat something. Food was terrible. Vegetable soup without taste, pasta too. Only one lady from front desk speak english! Most of the stuff was unpleasant to my friends that needed to speak more with them with sarcastic comments. We needed to pay internet which would be ok if it was working perfectly, but that wasn't our case. We came to enjoy wellness after skiing, but guess what - you can use wellness only ONE HOUR per day. Don't understand why the name of the hotel is Schloss WELLNESS & family than. Second day of our stay around 3 am something woke me up. A water tube snapped (burst, broke, cracked) on the ceiling in front of our room's door. I tought it was raining but in few moments half of our room was covered by water. I tried to call reception but I couldn't find number in the room except Room Service nr. (tried to call that too, but noone answered). So, our first neighbours that were standing in front of their room in shock about what they saw, shouted me Nr and I called reception. Two guys came "quickly" after 10 min. Thanks God i removed all of my clothes far away from the water and put all towells that i found on the floor, close to the door to mitigate the damage. Next morning everything was wet. Noobody came to see what happened to our room even we left hotel at 11am and left to skiing (even cleaning lady). After we came back, receptionist told us that they are "WAITING" (we left at 11am!!!) us for all day long to offer us a new room, explaining to us it's not their fault. No, it's mine, pih! So we moved to the new room. After sleepless night I washed my hair and tried to dry it, but guess what, hair dryer was working for maybe 5 min and then stopped. I gave up and said Never again. When we were paying our stay we ask for discount bcs of everything what happened, and answer was - "but we offered you a new room". I am on damn (sorry) vacation, I dont have to take care of your problems with water, I am working 24/7 and I want to sleep at 3am when I have vacations. After all they gave us free parking for 3 days and dinner from the first day free.
Maybe we just didnt have luck...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSchloss, Direttore at Hotel Schloss, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Mrs. Sandra M,
We are really sorry that you did not appreciate your vacation. Upon arrival, the service luggage was already committed, with another couple of guests, would have been sufficient to have 5 more minutes of patience. As well stated is a "Wellness & Family Hotel" therefore free entrance to the Spa of 750 sqm (no children under age of 18 allowed) is 90 minutes in order to enable the peace of mind and give the opportunity for all to enjoy the many offers of the wetland. For the pool entrance is free and the residence time is 60 minutes - this always with the aim of ensuring peace.
Children have a dedicated area of 450 sqm and rightly should not be playing, running and screaming in the hallways; when we notice inappropriate behavior we gently act with courtesy, but we always trust imparted education of the parents.
Dear Mrs. Sandra M, believe me, we do not enjoy at 3 in the morning to blow up the main tube of hot water. It was an unfortunate accident, fortunately without any serious consequence apart to have woken up the entire third floor, wet the hall and the entry of 2 adjoining rooms (one his own). We intervened immediately after the alarm occurred (before her phone call) and we silenced the siren (as not to wake the whole hotel). At the same time we closed the main entrance of the hot water in order to be able to intervene on the broken pipe. Fortunately the hotel was all preserved. We buffered the situation and in the morning we acted with dryer. All 26 rooms of the third floor were occupied, and you was the only one to put this heavy comment. I can assure you that the guests of the other plans have not even noticed the incident and although we acted urgently, we did trying to make as little noise as possible. At 3:50 the hot water was again in a circle and we are pleased that he accepted our proposal to change the room.
With regard to hairdryers, it is programmed to lock when it gets hot, this is to prevent accidents and fires, is a simple safety rule that we have to respect.
Dear Ms. Sandra M hoping to see you here again as a guest in order to be able to get back your mind, we renew our sorrow for what happened.

From snowy Pontresina I send you my best greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed in hotel-­schloss over Xmas and had wonderful stay.The location is perfect,hotel is based in cosy,picturesque village situated 5 minutes from Corviglia, St Moritz(Ski lift) Staff our warm and friendly upon arrival and bedrooms are very comfortable,I believe recently renovated but keeping with the winter feel. Food was served in two separate dining rooms,one for family's and children and the second room for couples and friends. Food was excellant with different options every night.Waiters were attentive and very helpful. We tried Spa which helped ease the sore limps for skiing,surprising very good and lots of options.3 xSauna, steam-room, 2 x Jacuzzi. I would highly recommend this hotel for someone looking for relaxed,friendly hotel a few minutes from the slope.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSchloss, Direttore at Hotel Schloss, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

we are grateful for your kind words and happy that you were so satisfied.
We all hope to see you again soon.

Greetings from Pontresina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

3rd time repeat customer, however this time far less happy than other times.

Location of the hotel is still perfect, staff in general was very friendly (especially Guiseppe and Lara). Language has improved since last visit (staff still speaks mostly Italian, however English is often understood). Parking in the hotel garage is still a bit hard; the maneuvering area is fairly small for a medium size car.

Rooms were noisy, especially since we like to turn in early (10 pm) in order to start skiing early; quite a few other guests let there children use the rooms as a playground (jumping, etc) until well after 11pm. Changed rooms once during our stay, however next room turned out to be equally noisy when the room above ours was occupied the next evening. Rooms are well equipped, however the floors are apparently made of wood, making earplugs are a definite requirement in this hotel. Ventilation is still lacking, and opening a window is hardly a good idea because of the temperatures outside.

The quality of the food at breakfast is OK, dinner is average. This time made a mistake of booking bed&breakfast i.s.o. half-board requiring us to pay for our dinner at checkout. Price for normal dinner buffet is 45 CHF pp (EUR 38, USD 50) which is a bit high, especially regarding the quality of the food, but still moderately acceptable.

TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE is the price of the new years eve dinner: 175 CHF p.p. (EUR 145, USD 190)! Food was OK, but nowhere near the Michelin 2 Star prices charged! I did not ask for the price of the dinner at reservation (assuming normal prices would be charged), so I was in for a surprise at checkout (family with 2 older children). Total Ripoff!

Skiing area (Corviglia) is very nice, however after 9 am with beautiful weather long waiting times at the gondola in town, lines unorganized with resulting behavior (jumping the line, etc.). Be early to insure parking space and avoid long lines! But .. if you are early and are lucky enough to have nice weather, you are going to enjoy some of the finest slopes in the world!

We are probably going to change hotels due to the noisy rooms and ridiculous prices charged for the food at new-years eve. We are going to miss some of the ambiance and staff, however.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSchloss, Direttore at Hotel Schloss, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment and for your compliments to our staff and to Lara and Giuseppe in particular.

We are sorry for Your regret about the costs of the New Year's dinner whose menu with prices was displayed in the bar, in the restaurant and at the reception. The menu for the evening at 175 CHF per person included finger food appetizer with sparkling wine, 6 courses with drinks (wine, water and sparkling wine) at 00:30 in the Red Room has been taken another celebration with sparkling wine, red wine and still lentils, traditional meat "Zampone" and panettone.

For the noisy rooms we understood and changed the room and we regret that this don't served to enhance Your holidays.

Hoping to see you here soon in order to recover your experience.

Regards from Pontresina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Schloss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss

Address: Maistra, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Pontresina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schloss 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Schloss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schloss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.