We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking everything...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of mekong

mekong
Nyon, Nyon District, Switzerland
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 58 Restaurants in Nyon
Restaurant details
Cully, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lacking everything...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Nyon can do better! This is a Chinese restaurant that we felt must have had much better days (in the early 90's), and then let go of what we call "customer service". Food is standard but you can get better at a Chinese takeout and do not need to pay extra for steamed white rice to accompany your dish. Take it from all of the other reviews...don't waste your money or your taste buds.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    13
    7
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rolle, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Below average, service is beyond poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The only good thing about this restaurant is the location. I have to believe that is why they have survived up till now from tourist and unadvised walk-ins. I mean, food is mediocre, below average, service is way below average and staff is not happy to interact - mainly because no one speaks anything properly (french, english, italian - I did not try any asian language , as I do not know any). We did try more than once, even though we are not masoquists.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“no speak ANYTHing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The resturnat went down the hole in the past 6 years. Used to be on of the best Asian joints. Servers don't speak neither French on English. Service is BAD. Food, sometimes can be ok but you playing a chance game. Besides the ok veiw on the terrace, below the avaerage for the price you pay

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Slightly better quality than usual Chinese in Geneva Nyon region”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Slightly better dishes, slightly more expensive than the usual (it is on the lake). One of our preferred nearby Chinese but around here that is not saying too much

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Sorry, but never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have eaten here more than half a dozen times over the last year or so but I am afraid I am giving up on Mekong. The meal before last was lunch time on a bank holiday - service was terrible, but one outstanding prawn dish and a very sweet waiter stopped me writing off the place for good. Unfortunately I had one of the worst restaurant experiences in recent years this wk, so never again. A very rude waitress who seemed incapable of understanding our order in French or English. Slow and sloppy service. Mediocre food - the soup glutinous and flavourless, greasy starters. The main courses are just ok (one beef dish had some interesting spicing). Throughout it all, not a smile or a gesture of appreciation for our custom. At the end, we were simply ignored whilst the staff got on with their dinner. Shocking when you consider the price and I doubt if any of our party (2 first timers) would ever go back again.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mekong also viewed

Nyon, Nyon District
Nyon, Nyon District
 
Nyon, Nyon District
Nyon, Nyon District
 

Been to mekong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage mekong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.