We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy restaurant, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Croix Verte

La Croix Verte
Rue Perdtemps 7, Nyon, Nyon District 1260, Switzerland
(0)22 361 15 39
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 58 Restaurants in Nyon
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Zurich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were visiting an apparment in Nyon and the current tenants recommended La Croix Verte to us.

The reception was very friendly, and we were led by an elderly lady (I assume she's the owner) to our table. From the outside, the restaurant looks rather small, but there are a few "hidden" galleries and passageways, so it is really bigger than in looks.

The waiter was also very polite, the menu was just ok, not too many or to few items.

I had an "Indian pizza" (pizza à l'indienne, if I remember correctly) and my wife had the seafood pasta. The pizza was cooked in a wood heated oven, than can be felt, the crust was crisp yet the inside tender and it was generous portion. he seafood pasta was also a generous portion and very good.

The prices are, of course, swiss prices. The meal and two coke zeros came up to about CHF50.-. Not the most expensive nor the cheapest, but definitely good value for the price.

There's an outside terrace, but this being December, it was already dark and very cold, so we decided to eat indoors. To be checked out next time, in the summer.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    72
    23
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Probably best pizza in Nyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very popular restaurant. Great service, the pizza is arguably the best in Nyon, and the other dishes are also excellent ! Dog-friendly place too!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“bustling pizzeria with great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I used to go there all the time when I lived just round the corner. It's always busy, but there's plenty of space with several dining rooms, a veranda and in spring and summer a delightful courtyard shaded by plane trees with fairy lights in them, and we were never once turned away. The owner, a charming older lady, keeps her eagle eye on the establishment and will often personally seat customers or come to the table to ask if everything is to their satisfaction.
It's a casual place, and the waiters like to joke around while they take your order or serve you in a way some people might find a little too familiar, but I like the good-natured banter and am pleased to see they too are having some fun. Many families come here for Sunday lunch or to celebrate a birthday, as children are welcome. There are also a few elderly regulars who eat by themselves.
The menu is extensive, mostly Italian (antipasti, lots of veal and beef, risotti and pasta) but with typically Swiss seasonal specials in addition such as in autumn "la chasse" (venison, boar, hare, pheasant and other products from the hunt), in spring "les asperges" (asparagus dishes)... they offer over 30 different pizzas, which are cooked in a wood-burning oven.
Prices are reasonable, and if you go at lunch on a weekday the set lunch is very good value at CHF19.50 for a dish of pike baked with lentils served with a side of potatoes and a salad, or CHF18 for a pizza with red mullet and rocket served with a salad. They change every day but there's always a pizza, a pasta dish, lasagna and another main to choose from.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good adress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Not a gastronomic but a very nice card.
Five minutes from a parking lot which seems to be free in the evening.
The food is good. We where surprised to see that the meats came with no sides (6chf a piece, which puts you to 12chf if you want fries and vegetables) so the total cost of a full palate is much higher then expected.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“All depends on where you sit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

While the food is quite good, your enjoyment depends on where you sit. Either you can opt for a dark dingy dining area or request the terrace outside or even better the veranda which is quite delightful

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Croix Verte also viewed

Nyon, Nyon District
Nyon, Nyon District
 
Nyon, Nyon District
 

Been to La Croix Verte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Croix Verte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.