We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed by this Release & Chateaux” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Pinte du Vieux Manoir

Save Saved
You added La Pinte du Vieux Manoir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Pinte du Vieux Manoir
5.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Rue De Lausanne 18, Meyriez CH-3280, Switzerland (Formerly Le Vieux Manoir Au Lac)   |  
Hotel amenities
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Disappointed by this Release & Chateaux”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

We spend two nights during Valentine weekend of February 2008. We booked a junior suite that was quite nice and spacious. Here are remarks on this hotel:

We liked:

* Room: we got a nicely furnished room in one of the corners of the hotel with a balcony. We had a great view on the lake but also a view on the roof of the restaurant. The big room had a dressing, flat screen TV, DVD player and other fancy stuff what was a bit in contradiction with the ancient furniture of a “manoir”.
* Restaurant: the different dishes are of variable quality but still quite good so no complaints on this. Decoration for Valentine evening was nice! Breakfast buffet was small, but good in quality. You can order other stuff from the menu like scrambled eggs etc.
* Hotel: the hotel itself is a huge manoir that is part of the Relais & Chateaux chain. It is situated outside the town of Morat so very quiet. It has a lot of parking space.

We did not like:

* Reception staff: no one proposed to take our luggage into the room. Also, when checking-out, the lady preferred to interrupt our conversation and to answer the phone and let us wait for more than 5 minutes. Quite unacceptable as they used to have 2 reception staff.
* Heating: they opened the hotel only for this Valentine weekend in February. As it was still winter, the room was really freezing and we had to ask for an extra mobile heater to get some heat. Other clients had the same problem and someone had to come the next day to fix the heating. So bye-bye our romantic Valentine weekend. At the end of our stay, they offered us without asking a reduction on the total price as the hotel got serious heating problems. Now these accidents can happen, but this is a 5-star hotel so these kinds of troubles are unacceptable, especially during a romantic holiday.
* Bathroom: spacious but too empty and not decorated. No door for the shower, very few towels and very limited soap, shampoo, etc. The Jacuzzi was alright however. It was a big bathroom but with no charm.
* Restaurant: again, as they opened for this weekend only, the personnel was much stressed and there was no question of dining quietly. They did their best, but again, it failed a bit.
* No pool, no wellness or spa area.

Our overall impression: overpriced considering the problems and delivered services. It could be linked to the fact that the hotel just opened and that the staff was not yet fully “up & running”. But, this is a 5-star Relais & Chateaux so only the best is good enough. Except for the location and the nice mansion, we rate it as a very good 4-star hotel with a good restaurant. It is maybe better in the summer…

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    13
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
42
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We stayed at some of the best hotels in Switzerland during our 3 weeks travel here, but this was the best. The whole hotel staff led by Daniel Zeigler know you by name and room almost immediately after you arrive. The Hotel is located on the smallest of three lakes in the area with views from many rooms. My parents room was very large and faced the lake. My room was large and faced the trees. Each room had a large deck and each is beautifully decorated in a unique style.

The breakfast buffet was great with plenty of fresh fruit, breads, yogurts, museli, smoked salmon, meats, cheeses, eggs. Everything is delicious. There are a number of beautiful dining rooms and dining terraces at the hotel and meals are served at different dining locations depending on the meal and day of the week. We had dinner and lunch here a number of days and all meals were excellent.

This hotel is really a resort... you can sit outside on chaise lounges, sun bathe and just watch the lake and surrounding countryside or you can go swimming in the clear lake. The hotel has Kayaks at no charge that you can use on the lake. There are also bikes and helmets available free to the guests. I took a number of bike trips. The first day I took a ride around the lake. Since this lake is not that large, the average rider or family can ride around the lake. ( If you can't make it around the lake, there are boats at various places that will bring you back.) The roads and bike paths around the lake are mostly flat and the total distance around I think was about 12 miles. The second day I took a trip up Mount Vully on the other side of the lake past vineyards and farms. There is an historic fort on the top and from there you get a panoramic view of the surrounding countryside and the lakes. On the third day I took a ride on the Mittlelland bike path to Estavayer-le-lac, another historic town like Murten about 20 miles away. This town is less commercial than Murten and has some great architecture.

The staff is so attentive without being at all overbearing. My mom had injured her foot (elsewhere). The hotel suggested a local doctor and drove her there where she got prompt excellent care. The hotel also has a free DVD library, book library and free internet for guests to use.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

My husband surprised me with a Valentine's getaway at Vieux Manoir. We stayed in one of the themed rooms which included breakfast and we had dinner at the restaurant.

We stayed in the Swan room which has a large balcony overlooking the backyard and Lake Murten. Even in winter it was wonderful.

The valentine's dinner organized by the hotel was excellent, each course was beautifully prepared and tasted delicious. The service at the hotel and restaurant were incredible. The hotel welcomes dogs and ours was treated so well, he even had a bowl of water to drink from while we dined, and got lots of attention from bothe the staff and guests.

Our little getaway is one we'll remember for a long time!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

We were welcomed warmly whilst our luggage was dealt with efficiently and quickly and almost beat us up to our room.
We had a junior suite with a tiny balcony and a lovely view of the lake. We were then invited to enjoy a complimentary drink in the lakeside garden.
The garden is enchanting although it can get busy at week ends with weddings and other celebrations so half of it is then lost to hotel guests.
This is a shame as it is in such a quiet spot it would be the perfect place to unwind if it were not for the functions. Nontheless this is now the way of the world and it did not intrude on our stay too much.
Our room was charming, quite ordinary compared to most at LV MaL with a classic decor and limed oak walls and a very lofty ceiling. Many of the rooms are very hip, edgy, quirky call them what you will but I had asked for a quiet room and this certainly was, (305). It felt spacious and was attractive with good lighting and ample storage.
We took a look at room number 308 with it's beautiful romantic 4 poster and can recommend it for a honeymoon couple.

The bathroom in sparkling white was also large and carefully thought out with a good supply of towels and very good lighting.

I didn't like our bed very much but got used to it by the second night. I know the Swiss aren't keen on double beds and usually you will get 2 singles pushed together or in better establishments, zipped together but here irritatingly we had a king sized bed with 2 separate duvets which we just don't like.
The bed linen was also of disappointing quality considering the price of the room and I felt the same about the pillows. I think the linen was changed every other night which is ok but again felt a little bit mean at the price.

Breakfast was lovely, with a good selection of fruit, pastries and usual breakfast ingredients but the Bircher muesli was the star of the show here.
A minor irritation was guessing where breakfast was being served depending upon the availabilty of overnight wedding party guests so we had to hunt round on Sunday morning to find a lakeside table so we were pleased with the location in the end. The day before we had to sit on the front terrace overlooking the car park so we weren't so pleased then.
The Murano breakfast roomis delightful as are all the public rooms but on a sunny day outside is the place to be if you can look at the lake.

Staff were friendly and well trained throughout but we were shocked by the prices in the restaurant so here I have to agree with another writer below, far too expensive for the quality.

In fact we had been staying in Vevey in a 5*L hotel where the meals were 2/ 3rds of the price and somewhat better.

All in all though a delightful base close to the charming medieval town of Murten/Morat particularly as we were there during the celebrations for National Swiss Day on August 1st and much enjoyed the hotel's fireworks and the town ones.

  • Liked — Pretty lakeside location within walking distance of the lovely town
  • Disliked — The bed
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

I should start by saying that I would judge anywhere by what it claims to be and the price it charges. Vieux Manoir is a country house hotel in a stunning lakeside setting in a very rural part of Switzerland. The prices are reasonable (for rooms, less so food) by European standards but expensive for this part of Switzerland. The hotel is very attractive - as is the setting but it clearly thinks that is is marvellous (the guest comment card didn't offer many options other than praise!) Most aspects are good but it let itself down in 2 areas for me:

- service at dinner took 2.5 hours to serve 2 courses. Everyone was too restless for desert. I asked the waiters why they were taking so long - it was because they planned a "second course" of the main course. This isn't uncommon in Switzerland - giving you the main course in 2 helpings. What is uncommon is to separate the courses by over 40 minutes leaving dirty plates on the table and making everyone too tired for the actual third course they wanted. No apology.
- my bathroom was totally bizarre. It had a full length window in the shower looking out into the carpark and driveway. There was no blind. It was impossible to have a shower without flashing anyone coming into the entrance of the hotel. Mad. I pointed it out. The covered the window with something and said they would mention the issue. No apology.

Really a beautiful hotel but I came away rather irritated. Just doesn't live up to its pretension.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Bad service (but not particularly badly intended)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Founex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

Le Vieux Manoir au Lac is located next to the historical town of Morat. The situation is absolutely fantastic; it's an old manor lying in a beautiful park directly on the lake. The rooms are large (I saw many of them) and elegant (Laura Ashley style) but with modern confort (flat screens, DVD palyers and wi-fi everywhere. The ones with view on the lake have big terrasses and are incredibly quite (I was only distrub by the birds singing...). The hotel's staff is very helpfull and well organized. It's a 5 stars hotel and so are the prices... I would definitely recommend this hotel, especailly for a romantic gateway...

  • Liked — Situation, rooms, tranquillity...
  • Disliked — Not exactly cheap
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Pinte du Vieux Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pinte du Vieux Manoir

Address: Rue De Lausanne 18, Meyriez CH-3280, Switzerland (Formerly Le Vieux Manoir Au Lac)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Meyriez
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Meyriez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Pinte du Vieux Manoir 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glamping at La Pinte du Vieux Manoir. Outdoor experiences in luxurious style.La Pinte du Vieux Manoir lies right next to Lake Murten. Its facilities include a four-room lake house with private sauna, barbecue spot and private lake access, a tree house – an exclusive lakeside dwelling on stilts suspended among the treetops – and a raft that serves as a peaceful island retreat. ‘Glamping’ is celebrated here: the fusion of glamour and camping. Guests can enjoy exceptional outdoor experiences, without having to do away with luxury altogether. This pioneering ‘retreat’ is managed by Maître de Maison Franz W. Faeh, who presents also his eclectic cuisine in the restaurant ‘La Pinte du Vieux Manoir’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your La Pinte du Vieux Manoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pinte Du Vieux Manoir Switzerland/Meyriez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pinte du Vieux Manoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.