We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pinte du Vieux Manoir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Pinte du Vieux Manoir to your Saves list
La Pinte du Vieux Manoir
5.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Rue de Lausanne 18, Meyriez CH-3280, Switzerland (Formerly Le Vieux Manoir Au Lac)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Just superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

One of the best country hotels in Europe waits for you at lake Murten. Each room is unique masterpeace, and the glass treehouse is another unforgetable option. Everything is just superb!
I stayed in the room with angels around (small wooden statues on the bed) and I really slept like an angel.... The view from that room on the seceon floor is just perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    13
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
43
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Every time we have dinner at the Vieux Manoir we feel on holidays.
The superb location at the lakeside with beautiful sunsets makes a dinner experience even
more sprecial.
The fine cuisine prepared by Franz, a well balanced mixture between Asian and European flavour,
makes every dining a feast.
A big shame that it will close down this October.
We all hope that the owner will reconsider a parcial opening in one way or another next spring.

We will miss you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

From the moment the hotel came into view to the moment we left we were pampered.

The staff in all departments are so well trained so precise and so helpful. they remembered who we were and our preferences, nothing was too much trouble for them. At dinner taken on the terrace one evening the most amazing wind blew up. Within minutes the staff had cleared the terrace taken our drinks and us inside and it was almost like nothing had happened. The team work was just amazing.

The venue is extraordinary, attention to detail thorough, with the right food, drink, furniture, glasses just perfect. The menus are exquisite and the wine cellar extraordinary.

We were truly sad to leave and even more sad that it is possible that the hotel will close.

Room Tip: Just go there you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bevaix, Switzerland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had the confirmation lunch for our daughter with 22 people at the Hotel Vieux Manoir and we would not return for a function for business or private.
The location is spectacular and the food was very good, but we were greatly disappointed by the organization of the event.
Below some examples on why we would next time go to another hotel (eg. Hotel Pallafitte in Neuchatel, Beaurivage Lausanne, or Montpellerin Kepinski):
- We were not informed that our room was not in the hotel, but in a separate building (Pinte de Merriez),
- the lady organizing the event was quite arrogant, let my spouse wait for one hour and even did not apologize
- the menus prices were increased from the initial agreement and menus without meat or fish charged the same
- 300 CHF were charged for 6 small plates of apero pastries
- table set-up agreed previously was not respected and dessert changed

As said the location and hotel are very nice, but the hotel staff we met were not up the standard we expect and paid for.

Sandra and Rolf Lutz

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The historic buildings are constantly being upgraded but the hotel never loses its great charm. There is a plethora of staff--this is a classy establishment--and guests are treated with dignity and care. Special touches include turn down service, a superb breakfast with the option of having it in the room, rooms with views of the lake, several styles of accommodation. You pay for all this of course--the place is not cheap--but luxury never is. Dining in the two restaurants is a real treat as food is creative and carefully prepared and served with understated elegance.

Room Tip: We prefer a room (even a small one) facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you want a tranquil rest away from the crowd and to be looked after with excellent service, then this is the place. It is good value for money in Swiss terms, bearing in mind of course that it is not the cheapest country in Europe!

It is a relatively small hotel with the most excellent cuisine and has a beautiful lake at the end of the gardens. It is centrally located in Switzerland making a good base for day touring to Gruyere, Bern, Fribourg, etc.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited the restaurant at this hotel in April 2013. We did not stay at the hotel but we dined in the restaurant and had to opportunity to see the property and the grounds. It is a lovely place and the small town of Morat is well worth a visit. The lake is absolutely beautiful and the town is extremely clean and well kept (like all of wonderful Switzerland). The view from the restaurant Juma is spectacular. If you go, try to be there for sunset.

Now, on to the meal. There were 11 of us for a pre-selected very special dinner. Our 5 courses were all spectacular, probably one of the best meals anywhere in the world. Now if you want details - the five courses were: 1. a lovely dish of two different types of asperagus, one of which was an amazing terrine; 2) soup of young peas and mint with scallops; 3) a white fish from the lake Morat with an incredible bouillon, spinach, carrots and passion fruit; 4) veal steak in croute with herbs and a potato galetter, green beans and morels; 5) a rhubarb tart in what is best described in english as puff pastry - mille feuilles in French.

Both wines were from the local area and were incredible. Swiss wine is all so amazing. Be sure to have local wine any time you are in Switzerland. It is as good as anything you will have in Italy, France or Spain. They just drink it all and don't export much so we don't know about Swiss wine if we live outside the country.

The service was perfect. We were invited as guests so I have no idea how much it cost but I can guess. It was worth every penny (even if I had been the one footing the bill).

We will go back and next time we will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Pinte du Vieux Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pinte du Vieux Manoir

Address: Rue de Lausanne 18, Meyriez CH-3280, Switzerland (Formerly Le Vieux Manoir Au Lac)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Meyriez
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Meyriez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — La Pinte du Vieux Manoir 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glamping at La Pinte du Vieux Manoir - Outdoor experiences in luxurious style.La Pinte du Vieux Manoir lies right next to Lake Murten. Its facilities include a four-room lake house with private sauna, barbecue spot and lake access as well as a tree house on stilts suspended among the treetops with private lake access and a raft that serves as a peaceful island retreat. 'Glamping' is celebrated here: the fusion of glamour and camping. Guests can enjoy exceptional outdoor experiences, without sacrificing luxury, style and comfort. This pioneering 'retreat' is managed by Maitre de Maison Franz W. Faeh, who presents also his regional cuisine in the restaurant 'La Pinte du Vieux Manoir'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Pinte du Vieux Manoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pinte Du Vieux Manoir Switzerland/Meyriez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pinte du Vieux Manoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.