We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Astra Hotel Vevey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Astra Hotel Vevey to your Saves list
Astra Hotel Vevey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place de la Gare 4, Vevey 1800, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Vevey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not so great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in October 2013. I had actually booked for the week but was disappointed and ended up checking out after 1 night and went to another hotel that for me was much nicer and 90CHF/night cheaper. Staff there were very courteous but the room on the 5th floor needed a good cleaning. Mainly the bathroom where there was mold on the walls(see picture) and I guess because this was the 5th floor, the roof comes in and inhibits standing straight up in the bath/shower. Seriously I couldn't stand up straight. Maybe my experience would have been better if I was on a different floor but for the price, it wasn't worth it for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review our services.

We here take the opportunity to excuse us for the inconvenience you reported and can confirm you that the mold you mentioned has been removed.

For the room prices, please note that you can always find the best available rate direct on our own website.

Your comments are important for us and help us improve our services and amenities and are shared with the entire team.

Best Regards

Christopher and Nicolas Ming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    54
    24
    8
    0
See reviews for
6
31
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
copenhagen
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel and rooms are kinda basic, good quality. What makes the difference in this hotel ( and what not all guests notice ) is the super spa outside on top of the hotel, overlooking the mountain. And the 3 saunas ( nordic, steam and ionic) in the wellness area on the top floor.

If you have the opportunity go for the rooms with a view over the square and mountain

Price a bit on the expensive side

Room Tip: If you have the opportunity go for the rooms with a view over the square and mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstraVevey, Propriétaire at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at Astra Hotel Vevey and for your kind review.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and services, especially our roof SPA !

Your comments have been shared with the entire team.

We hope to see you soon again...

Best Regards

Christopher and Nicolas Ming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have to agree with the good comments regarding the Astra Hotel, unfortunately only stayed here for one night but would have liked to stay longer, room excellent, also had a small balcony which was lovely. bed really comfortable, Dinner brilliant, Breakfast wonderful so much choice, feel a bit guilty as I took a croissant for my journey home, lovely.
All staff we met were very welcoming, wish we had encountered this hotel on the start of our journey and not the last night of it. Would be happy to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstraVevey, Gérant at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Valerie,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in Vevey!

We thank you for your positive comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon in Vevey Switzerland.

Your review haa been shared with our whole team.

With our kind regards,

Christophe & Nicolas Ming Manager and owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on way home from Italy with Great Rail Journeys,would have been nice if the hotels on the way to Italy had been as good.This hotel was excellent,and made us consider a holiday in Switzerland next year.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Alan,

thank you for your kind feedback about your stay at Astra Hotel Vevey.

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and that you might visit us again next year.

We hope to see you soon !

Best Regards
Nicolas Ming & the Astra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a Great Rail Journeys tour. Evening meal was excellent and breakfast was superb at 6.30 am! Staff were cheery and pleasant. A lovely place to stay.A short walk takes you to the lakeside with amazing views and places to sit and have a drink.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstraVevey, Manager at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Christine,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on your last stay at the Astra Hotel Vevey.

We take a good note about your comments and will share them with our staff.

We are hoping that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

With my kind regards,

Nicolas Ming
General Manager and owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Visited for 7 nights with a Great Rail Journeys group and found the service in the hotel to be exceptional from the reception staff to the restaurant. Food was excellent and our upgraded room large with well furnished bathroom. no hesitation to stay there again if in the area

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstraVevey, Manager at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Kenneth,

thank you for staying at Astra Hotel Vevey and taking the time to review your stay.

We are happy to know that we met your expectations and will let all our staff know about.

We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards
Nicolas & Christophe Ming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very efficient booking in and out. The rooftop jacuzzi in the sun was lovely. Only downside is Switzerland is expensive but if you want something a little different to your costas its highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstraVevey, Propriétaire at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at Astra Hotel Vevey and taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted to read that our location and the services provided by our staff met your expectations.

Your comments will be shared with the entire team.

We are hoping that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

With my kind regards,

Nicolas & Christophe Ming
General Manager and owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astra Hotel Vevey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Hotel Vevey

Address: Place de la Gare 4, Vevey 1800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Vevey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Vevey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Astra Hotel Vevey 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The family-owned Astra Hotel in the picturesque town of Vevey, Lake Geneva Region, Switzerland, stands for tradition, style and warm hospitality. Accommodation 100 modern guestrooms and suites with the 4*sup comfort. All rooms have air-condition, and some are non smoking. Dining and entertainment Historic Brasserie La Coupole (1912), Le Pavillon non smoking restaurant, Elegant Restaurant Quatre Saisons, Caveau le Guillon Swiss cheese specialities, Orient Express Bar. Relaxing and well-being At the beginning of 2009 an oasis of relaxation came into being above the roofs of Vevey. The new City Panoramic Spa offers you generous space for health, lifestyle and recuperation. Here you can lean back, regenerate and fill up with energy, while at the same time enjoying a fascinating view over the "Riviera of Western Switzerland" and over the Lavaux region. Relax body and spirit after a long day. The renovated and expanded wet area persuades with warm colors, with a quiet zone in the winter garden and with a remarkable view. Besides the Finnish sauna, the "Caldarium" and the "Salionarium" you will be enjoying quiet and relaxation in the new winter garden. The high point of the City Panoramic Spa is the new outside area on the roof terrace with its whirlpool bath and sundeck. Meeting and conference facilities Conference & Event center as well as large dining facilities for 10 to 250 persons. Public Wireless LAN in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Astra Hotel Vevey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vevey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astra Hotel Vevey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.