We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful hotel - winter and summer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alpina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alpina to your Saves list
Hotel Alpina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 1, Klosters 7250, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Klosters
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A delightful hotel - winter and summer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Different generations of my family have been coming here once or twice a year since it was built 25 years ago. The Conzett family, who run it, are delightful people, whose charm and attentiveness to detail are felt throughout the hotel. The restaurant is superb and is a regular attraction for people coming for the weeend from as far away as Zurich. Lutz, the barman, is fast becoming a local legend.
The hotel is perfectly situated for the many ski areas in the Klosters/Davos area. Also easy access to Cross country pistes, the ice rink, and, in summer, tennis courts and open air swimming pool.
In summer, Klosters is a wonderful centre for superb mountain hikes, all easily accessible from the Alpina.
The Grischuna down the road is the only serious competition in Klosters. The building is historic, but the rooms and location less convenient. By contrast, the Alpina building is functional rather than beautiful, but has a decent indoor swimming pool, sauna and spa area. The other choices in Klosters are not at the same level

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    22
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
46
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

I stayed here a few years ago and loved everything about this hotel. It was very warm and inviting, the lobby always had a roaring fire going and the front desk staff was very helpful. Everyone spoke fluent English. The breakfast room in the hotel was wonderful, I ate with my family every morning before hitting the slopes. The selection was great. The pool was very clean and warm. The hotel was well appointed, they even lent out DVDs free of charge, just go to the front desk and ask to see what movies they have. They were very friendly, we borrowed Kangaroo Jack and watched it in the room.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

A superb full service hotel right by the train station and Parsenn ski area cable car but extremely quiet and restful. Superb food, very friendly helpful staff, and excellent wellness area with pool and suana. I cannot think of one negative thing to comment. I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights in April 2009 near the end of the ski season. The hotel has the best location being opposite the train station and the cable car (reached by path under the railway). The hotel itself is traditional Swiss with lots of pine and red/white furnishings but in a fresh modern way. The breakfast room is large and light with plenty of choice and serving great tasting coffee!
We ate in the hotel restaurant one night, while the food was very good and pleasing to the eye it was rather expensive. Unfortunately the hotel pool was out of order when we were staying, it looked very good and we had been looking forward to using it. The saunas are for use without bathing suits, something I'm not too keen on doing so I didn't use them.
Heated ski room at side of hotel (next to laundry room so smelt nice for a change!). Staff are very friendly. Bar area very nice and bar man (as mentioned in other reviews) was very helpful and friendly too.
Room was excellent with plenty of storage, especially good with Winter clothing and seating area. It is beautifully decorated and furnishings to a high standard. Hot water bottles placed in beds of an evening, a very nice touch. Bathroom contained shower that was very large and also very large double sink with enough complementary toiletries and slippers.
Hotel was busy but quiet in the rooms, with no noise from other guests rooms. Outdoor terrace was very nice for an apres ski drink.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

We stayed for 5 days and had an excellent experience. The location is perfect, right next to the ski lift. The hotel facilities and the wellness area are really comforting, with a swimming pool, several saunas and very professional massages. Only the fitness room is a bit small. But what makes this hotel really outstanding is the staff and the personal approach of every single person. Everyone is introduced on a big poster with a photo, their name and their responsibility and you will learn more about people and events in the personalized Alpina Newsletter you receive every morning with the breakfast. The dinner (half-board) was outstanding in quality and arrangement – a clear highlight every day. Service was excellent, in our case thanks to Jasmin who was very attentive, quick-witted and had a personal word when appropriate. You can see when people like the work they do. The director Raeto Conzett is part of the service family and you will see him every evening helping in the restaurant. The star of the bar is Lutz because he is fast, attentive and creates a very good atmosphere in the bar. The bar only closes when the guests decided to leave. That is quite rare. There are many little details which added to a fantastic stay. Congratulations to such a great team.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

I just love this hotel, any negatives that I may come across are so out-weighed by the positives we will always be coming back. First, you cannot beat the location, opposite the Gotschna cable car, and railway station, so its virtually ski to door. We love going half board and spending evenings in the restaurant eating the beautifully presented food and watching the trains pull in and out. It just feels like we are in some 1940's spy thriller with the old-style trains, the snowy mountains, and the rest. The newly refurbished foyer is now even warmer and cosier, the pool and wellness area is spotless and beautifully tiled. No matter what room I am put in always love them, despite any niggles, they are normally spacious, with warm furnishings and bright and spotlessly clean. The niggles that I have come across are that, as I am 6 foot 2 inches, the duvets always seem a little short, the TV is a small portable which is perfectly adequate, but probably time to go flat screen and bigger, erm but thats it. The staff are always friendly and wonderfully helpful. I'm loving it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

This is a superb hotel with extremely friendly staff and the best barman in the world - Lutz! It has recently been refurbished and the rooms and lounge/bar area are superb. The buffet breakfast is also superb. The cable car to the red runs is just across the road, and you can ski down right to the resort on your way back to hotel.
This hotel is very highly reccomended!

  • Liked — The property and service
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 1, Klosters 7250, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Klosters
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Klosters
#1 Family Hotel in Klosters
#2 Romantic Hotel in Klosters
#2 Luxury Hotel in Klosters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpina 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Klosters

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alpina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.