We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Evening! Food and then the Adventure Down the Hill!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berghaus Alpenroesli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Berghaus Alpenroesli to your Saves list
Berghaus Alpenroesli
Talstrasse 135 | 7250 Klosters, Klosters 7250, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Klosters
Chester, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Superb Evening! Food and then the Adventure Down the Hill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We hiked the long hour to find this location up the hill from Klosters. We didn't stay in the hotel but we did have an outstanding meal accompanied by a fantastic wine list. After dinner, we all got on "sledges" and screamed (not literally) down the hill in the moonlight. A memorable wonderful evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We've been recomended this restaurant by a colleague who knows Klosters pretty well. The whole experience of dining in this remote place and coming down sledging sounded very exciting. The food was ok but nothing exceptional. However the evening was ruined by an icy service. The German lady who served us was very unfriendly: never a smile, sounded very impatient, we had the impression she was doing us a favor by serving us ...Our guest from London was shocked by her behaviour especially for the prices charged at the end! The cherry on the cake was that she never brought us the dessert menu. And one hour after we finished the main and we asked for one, she said that the kitchen closed and that there were no desserts left, except ice cream. Somehow, we felt so bad about the whole process. Management might have felt our discontent, so they offered us one ice cream. But the damage was done and our guest left unhappy and shocked. Such a pity in a place where tourists are getting rare and where hotels are struggling to fill their rooms because of the strong Swiss Franc and the tendancy of visitors prefering neighbouring hospitable Austria!

Room Tip: Take a table looking onto the valley, next to the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

After a beautiful 20min walk up the mountain you reach this newly renovated restaurant with an amazing view!! After dinner you can sledge down which is great fun.
If you are in Klosters, a visit there is definitely a must.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

And of course, everyone is very friendly: The staff made us feel at home, which is priceless when travelling. The fact that we couldn't drive there makes this a location which feels and is far above daily hassle. However there are plenty of sleighs to take a fast and fun 5 minute ride to Klosters. And for the way up there was always a bus at our command.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

It was the perfect weekend - tons of fresh snow, we took the train from Zurich and were picked up from the train station at dusk by the hotel one-and-a-half hours later, were raced up the mountain to the lodge where no other car would dare venture without chains and spikes in those conditions, were warmly welcomed by the proprietors and thank goodness not held up with filling out registration forms but could enjoy a lovely clean and modern room not without Alpine charm (incl noise from people in other rooms), followed by snuggly dinner by the fireplace in the restaurant with an excellent bottle of red. Breakfast was also most enjoyable, available til late. Wifi throughout provided access to the "other world". Service orientation of everyone was excellent*

Room Tip: we stayed in Edelweiss. Has nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I reviewed the restuarant a year ago and hated it, the hotel has changed hands and I think the change is much for the better. The staff are friendlier and the food much better, we had lunch on a day when the weather prevented us from skiing and we had and great time. If you've had a bad experince before give it another go, you might be surprised!

Room Tip: If you visit in the winter, rent a sledge to go home!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I was glad when the owners changed as the old ones were quite rude. New owners used to run the sportzentrum (food was better there when they ran it than it is now). However - it has been renovated - and instead of being lovely and cosy inside it is now quite sterile - all bleached white pine which could be anywhere - such a shame as it was so nice before. The outdoor terrace is a better now though with more tables - it does get very busy when its sunny. The food itself isn't that great - before you used to get a loaf of bread with a knife in it when you sat down which was nice and something different - how its a slice of bread in a basket. Before you had a whole rosti menu - an individual rosti cooked in a pan an the pan brought to your table with the toppings you chose - now you can have 2 options and the rosti is just dumped in the pan from a large communal rosti. The rest of the menu is less than before and quite expensive for what it is - hopefully this is something that will improve once they have settled in - I hope they bring back some of the old menu and some of the character inside. If not then it will just be a place to go for a walk and a drink before heading back into town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berghaus Alpenroesli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghaus Alpenroesli

Address: Talstrasse 135 | 7250 Klosters, Klosters 7250, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Klosters
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Klosters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Berghaus Alpenroesli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berghaus Alpenroesli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.