We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didn't live up to expectation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Romantik Hotel Krone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Romantik Hotel Krone to your Saves list
Romantik Hotel Krone
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seestrasse 11, Gottlieben 8274, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gottlieben
Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“didn't live up to expectation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

It is a fabulous property in a fabulous setting. Although we had a very warm welcome we were not told about the services the hotel offered, or even where breakfast would be served (though the peculiar key arrangement was well explained). As it turns out there is a private cinema you can use. There didn't seem to be an option to have a quite drink inside so we took ourselves off to a much less pretty but much more hospitable bar-come-resturant five minutes' walk up the road. Turned out that at least one other guest from the hotel did the same. If it hadn't been tipping it down with rain we would have walked into Konstanz to see what was on offer there. Our room was all right but not special. It was very hot, but to have the window open (as it had been when we arrived) meant there was no peace: given the apparent tranquility of the location it was very noisy at the side of the hotel. (Of the 11 hotels we used over our holiday this is the only one we had a bad night's sleep because of noise and the room being uncomfortably hot.) The sink in the bathroom was so large that the door could only half open: while the designer basin may be great in a large bathroom it was totally impractical in the tiny en suite and made the whole bathroom unworkable for two people. Ironically the basin had two halves (a his and hers) but one half couldn't be used because of the door and the side that could be used had an enormous crack in it. Breakfast was all about presentation but the service wasn't great: when items ran out they weren't replenished without you asking, and without you feeling that it was perhaps a bit of an imposition... though coffee had been served cheerfully. The room and whole hotel was spotlessly clean and endearingly quirky but on balance we didn't think it offered good value for money or live up to expectation. Hard to whole-heartedly recommend but certainly wouldn't say to avoid

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    18
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
9
38
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Was looking to spend a night near Konstanz. Found this hotel 5 minutes away by car or 45 min walking distance. Welcoming not so great. We were given wrong room and no indication about hotel amenities or things to do around. Room was very average and quite noisy not because of the village but neighbor just watching TV. Only 2 restaurants in the village. We selected the one from hotel. Good food but overpriced. Chf 50 for fish an risotto. Then trip to Isle Mainau. Not worth it. Eur 18 entrance ticket + 4 for parking just to walk in the parc and visit few things.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Pleasant and clean hotel. Free and good wifi. Good and correct service but not particularly friendlyt reception.
The breakfast was outstanding and by far the best we had in Switzerland regarding both the service,the quality and the choice of food. The biggest surprsie was that the waitress presented an egg menu and we could choose what kind of eggs we woulld like. Would definately return to this hotel if ever again in that area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Perfect place for a City-Trip to Konstanz, less than 10 minutes by car. Gottlieben consists of less than 20 buildings, but therefore nice postcard feeling. Directly at the river Rhine it's nice to enjoy the first (or last) class of whine on the terrace.

Unfortunately eating is a bit pricey in Switzerland compared to Germany (keeping in mind it's less than 10 minutes to pay half the price), also the food in the hotel is excellent.

All in all it was definitely worth the money and I would come back anytime when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgdorf, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

perfect Location for People who are seeking peace, rest and quietness. Nice People, perfect winelist and good Food. And don't Forget the beautiful surrounding cities like Konstanz, Friedrichshafen etc

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Gottlieben is a lovely, tiny, picturesque village located at the Rhine outlet of the Lake of Constance. If you seek a quiet, romantic getaway or just a more serene break from stressful business travel in Zurich (40 min. by car on motorway M1/M7) or Konstanz (7 min by car) this is a good place to stop over (provided you are motorized). You won’t hear any traffic noise BUT be aware that there is a church that proudly rings the bell every half hour after 7 AM.
The Hotel Die Krone is spectacularly located at the shore line of the lake. An early morning swim in the lake is absolutely fantastic although discouraged by the house rules because wet foot stamps on the floor and guests in wet swim gear are not liked to be seen.
The hotel is a bit weird; the ambitious management strives to be creative and provide high end cuisine (have not had a chance to try and test) and mix it with a theme-based guest room environment. The theme is “crown” (Krone) ; all rooms are dedicated to some European house of royalty or duke etc. My relatively affordable room (less than 100 Franks) was dedicated to some lower level Duke and it felt a bit like that. The closet looked like a do it yourself project and I was desperately missing a simple chair in the room as I needed to do some work at the desk; there was no free wireless internet connection in my room, no air condition and the TV set had its prime days in the 1990s and delivered haze on several channels. The ambiance and the décor in the hallways looked dark and a bit tacky to me. I did not like the elevator at all which was painted in black (creepy, strange).
For breakfast there are two choices: a “business breakfast” for 10 Sfr. which is offered until 8 AM and is a very good value for a very nice selection of croissants, other selection of bread , cold cuts, cheese, marmelades, honey, cereals, fruit etc. The coffee is prepared individually from a high-end Italian coffee maker and is excellent.
After 8 AM you can get an even richer selection at the buffet for steep 25 Sfr. which includes champagne, salmon and other exquisite items.
Taken together, if you want to avoid super-expensive hotel rates in Zurich and you are heading or coming from Germany this place is a worthwhile option. However there is definitely (a) room for improvement on the Duke level. The early bird breakfast for 10 Sfr is just fine.

Room Tip: ask for a room with lake view ( may cost you more, though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I spent a wonderfully quiet weekend in the Krone last weekend. The village of Gottlieben is picture perfect, and the hotel staff made our stay top notch. We rented bicycles from the hotel and drove into Konstanz (about 5 km) and around the neighboring villages. The restaurant at the hotel was absolutely fantastic (both the food and the service)- I think my husband would just go back for the food if he could. All in all, a fantastic romantic getaway!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Romantik Hotel Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Krone

Address: Seestrasse 11, Gottlieben 8274, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Thurgau > Gottlieben
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gottlieben
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Romantik Hotel Krone 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Romantik Hotel Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romantik Hotel Krone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.