We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Waldhaus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Waldhaus to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Waldhaus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dil Parc, Flims 7018, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Flims
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights before Christmas 2012, while skiing in the area.

We had a room in the Villa Silvana, which is their 4 star facility located near the main building in the beautiful park. The room was very spacious, with high ceilings and a large bathroom. There is an underground tunnel from there to the spa facilities, which comes in very handy of course. The spa itself is wonderful with its heated outdoor pool and several saunas and hammams.

We had dinner in the Rotonda (main restaurant - very good) one evening, and in the Curler's Pub the other (the only facility not quite deserving of the 5 star rating, as the chinese fondue didn't meet the quality of the food from the previous night).

The staff are all very friendly and welcoming, as you would expect from this kind of place. One special perk is the free hotel shuttle to and from the ski resort, which saves the hassle of walking to and waiting for the public bus.

Overall, we spent an amazingly relaxing couple of days here, and would definitely like to come back some day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ugrimm, General Manager at Grand Hotel Waldhaus, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Waldhaus Guest
Thank you very much for recommending our property on tripadvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your short skiing-break with us and look forward welcoming you back to Flims. Also your comment concering the chinese fondue is much appreciated.
Kind regards, Yasmin & Urs Grimm Cachemaille, General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    42
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
51
86
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at this resort in January 2012 for three nights. The overall experience will never leave us, as this was one one the best experiences ever. The whole resort is magical and you do feel like you entered another world. The interiors are incredibly beautiful, the outdoor hot pool is amazing. The list could go on... The only slight negative for us was the room we stayed at - make sure you know which villa or room you will be staying at. We stayed at Villa Silvana and our room was in decor far from what we have seen in the main building and there was no bath in our bathroom - which is not adequate for a ski resort..
But we would recommend it and would love to return ourselves.

Room Tip: Do want to know where your room will be located. As romantic as the villas seem from the outside, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ugrimm, General Manager at Grand Hotel Waldhaus, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Waldhaus Guest
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your winter-holiday with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Waldhaus Flims.

In terms of our rooms, you are right in saying that we offer different types of rooms and guest houses. One of our guest house (the Grand Hotel) is rated 5* Superior, the other two (Villa Silvana and Chalet Belmont) are rated as 4* Superior Hotels. This choice is much appreciated by our guests and we always make sure upon arrival, that the room meets with the expectations of our clients. In the rare case that guests do not like the rooms they have booked, we will do our utmost to allocate another room which meets their preferences.

Warm regards from Flims,
Yasmin & Urs Grimm Cachemaille, General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

we have spent just a weekend there - 2 nights when there was a lot of snow and blue sky!
wounderful!
superb attentive service! we went 2 times to the epoca Gourmetrestaurant and the second time the cook made especially an other menu on the second evening becuas we have had the other one already the night before! That was a big surprise! Wounderful lovely service! thank you so much!
a faboulos place to relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ugrimm, General Manager at Grand Hotel Waldhaus, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Waldhaus Guest

Thank you very much for recommending our property on tripadvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your short stay with us, especially appreciated is your feedback about our new chef at the EPOCA restaurant.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Waldhaus and send you kind regards from Flims,
Yasmin & Urs Grimm Cachemaille
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I love this hotel, it really is as good as you can get. I have stayed there three times, summmer and winter, and I have another week booked for early Nov 12, and never been disappointed. It isnt cheap but it is so classy and perfect that I am happy to pay the price. Quiet elegance and superb service, far better than any other hotel I have visited.

It is really something special, you will not be disappointed. You have to see and experience for yourself.

Richard Arkle

Room Tip: Just ask the staff, It is in own grounds so it is very quiet. I have always stayed in the main hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ugrimm, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Waldhaus, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback which we gladly share with our team. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stays in the past and we look forward welcoming you back to the Waldhaus in November.

Kind regards,
Yasmin & Urs Grimm Cachemaille, General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My family and I just returned from a three day stay at the Waldhaus. The children were literally crying as we left, that is how much they enjoyed it. We did not get the chance to dine in the gourmet restaurant, because of the children, but we did experience the Chinese and the Italian Restaurants. Both were superb and the Half board option is a great value, I would highly recommend. Lunch was also very good, simple but well executed. The front desk staff and the bellmen/ shuttle drivers were all very friendly and helpful. And the General Management, Mr. & Mrs. Grimm, were a delight and always around. Hats off to the whole team. We will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Room 341 was amazing, with a private roof top terrace!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ugrimm, General Manager at Grand Hotel Waldhaus, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest
It was a great pleasure welcoming you and your family to the Waldhaus Flims and we thank you for your valuable feedback. Together with our team, we look forward welcoming you back to the Waldhaus in the near future and send you kind regards from Flims,
Yasmin & Urs Grimm Cachemaille, General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in June for one week. Location is perfect and the scenery is breath taking. The hotel is very clean so the rooms and bathrooms as you expect from a 5 star resort. We stayed at the main hotel which is fabulous, rooms all have fantastic balconies. Food is great. Lots of selections for breakfast. Great indoor swimming Poole. I totally recommend it if you can afford it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ugrimm, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Waldhaus, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for you valuable feedback! It is great to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward welcoming you back to Flims, soon.

Kind regards,
Yasmin & Urs Grimm Cachemaille, General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I really like this hotel! Beautiful! In a stunning location. Really fun! My husband and I + our 2 daughters go there skiing for 1 w-e every year in January. And we LOVE it. The rooms are so comfortable! Very easy to go skiing. There is a shuttle bus that takes you to the bottom of the ski slopes! Fabulous resort for skiing. Great hotel for kids too as there is a kiddy club (my daughters love it), a special corner at breakfast. But the BEST is the pool! Heated outdoor swimming pool (water temperature around 40 degrees). Magical - especially when it snows. A treat!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Waldhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Waldhaus

Address: Via dil Parc, Flims 7018, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Flims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flims
#2 Spa Hotel in Flims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Waldhaus 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the biggest hotel park in Switzerland, a unique variety of offering await you – for summer and ski vacations with family and friends or simply for a quiet weekend for two. Our guest houses the Grand Hotel Waldhaus (member of «The Leading Hotels of the World»), Chalet Belmont and Villa Silvana offer approximately 150 rooms & suites in various design styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Waldhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldhaus Flims, Mountain Hotel Flims
Waldhaus Flims, Mountain Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Waldhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.