We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swisshotel Flims

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Swisshotel Flims to your Saves list
Swisshotel Flims
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nova 72 | Flims Dorf, Flims 7017, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Flims
Houston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unbeatable Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I recently relocated from Houston, TX to London for work and were looking for a quick weekend ski trip and Flims Laax was recommended to us.

If your goal is to be as close to the ski lifts as possible, this is the place for you. The hotel is located at the Flims Base and is a very short walk to the gondola. The skiing is excellent and the views are breath taking from all spots on the mountain. I felt like I was in a Swiss Miss commercial sipping some hot chocolate at one of the mountain bars.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We had a corner balcony room overlooking the Arena bar across the street. While there was some noise on Friday and Saturday night, it wasn't loud enough to really bother us and it seemed to quiet down around midnight. The room was larger than we expected and furnished with a comfortable bed, mini-fridge, a couch and laptop (which was really nice to not have to bring ourselves).

Breakfast was served each morning in a beautiful room that overlooked the gondola. Breakfast consisted of assorted pastries, meats, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, cereal and juices.

I've seen other people mention the price of the hotel, and they aren't exaggerating, it is really expensive, however we thought worth it for the location and the views. After wandering around the various other hotels and restaurants we discovered that the high cost is pretty much standard in Flims (and all of Switzerland really). To help keep some more money in our wallets, we stopped by the Co-op Grocer down the street (easy walk from the hotel) and picked up a few snacks to nibble on while in our room and to take with us on the slopes. We also grabbed a few bottles of wine to enjoy. The prices are very reasonable and I highly recommend doing this.

The spa room was very nice and well kept. As others have said, the Jacuzzi was not hot. We couldn't tell if it was broken or if it was never meant to be hot (but it also wasn't cold enough to be a plunge pool either). The steam room and saunas (1 was normal sauna hot and the other one was like sitting on the surface of the sun) were nice and never crowded.

We ate at a local fondue restaurant one night (inside Hotel Vorab), Arena another and then at the Mexican restaurant in Swisshotel. I must say that the Mexican restaurant was the biggest surprise, being from Texas we kind of laughed it off as a "why the heck not try Swiss-Mex?" and expected it to be bland, but it was quite the opposite! It was actually really tasty!

Overall, we had a great experience at the Swisshotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the Arena bar can be a little bit loud on weekend evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Right next door to the ski lifts, very friendly owners, simple but good breakfast, nice (and not that busy) bar area with ability to order the good Mexican food served next door, ski rental next door. We went there with our three kids and dog and appreciated all that I mentioned above. If I were to go longer than a few days I probably look at renting a small house for cost reasons, but if you're there for easy access to the slopes, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is not cheap, but the location is excellent, the facilities are nice and clean, and the staff were friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a lovely room with balcony overlooking the Arena bar which we did not find to be at all noisy (unlike other reviewers). The spa downstairs is very well done, the only complaint is that the jacuzzi was very cold and not usable as a result.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel for a weekend of skiing due to amazing location and very good service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Ideal location for a couple of days skiing. MINUTE single rooms but well furnish with 5 English television channels. Great gym. Within two hours drive from Zurich and within the Laax ski arena. Friendly and hospitable manager and good breakfast.

Room Tip: Take a double room if you are claustrophobic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A very nice and friendly place with a perfect location. All what it needs.
We spend 5 nights here and enjoyed it very much.
Just a few steps from the mainstation of the Ski Lifts. Nice Roms with lovely beeds. A little spa for relaxing after the Snow Fun.
We come back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacka, Sweden
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The hotel is situated right by the skilifts going up the system. The standard is ok., with a SPA in the basement.

The service and breakfasts were perfektly ok. for this kind of hotel

If you want to have an easy skiing week/weekend this is a goog place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

Very well positioned next to the main lifts, although beware street facing rooms are across the street from a buzzing night clubs/pole dancing bar, so late night noise potentially an issue. Hotel is typical Swiss spotless, rooms fair, and all in all standard well positioned 3/4 star. Would recommend for weekend, short stay location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swisshotel Flims? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swisshotel Flims

Address: Via Nova 72 | Flims Dorf, Flims 7017, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Flims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Flims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swisshotel Flims 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exklusives Hotel in Flims an bester Lage direkt neben den Bergbahnen und Ski-Schulen im Herzen von Flims/Laax. Die individuell eingerichtete Zimmer und Junior Suiten sind gemutlich und komfortabel ausgestattet. Grosse Fenster und helle Farben sorgen fur elegantes und einladendes Ambiente. Die Badezimmer sind elegant und mit allem Komfort ausgestattet. Die Executive Zimmer und Junior Suiten sind als Doppelzimmer ausgestattet, lassen sich jedoch bequem mit einem Zusatzbett erganzen. Alle Zimmer haben ein herrliches Ausblick auf die Berge. Ein kostenloser Laptop und WLAN gehoren zu Standardaustattung in jedem Zimmer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swisshotel Flims reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swisshotel Flims, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.