We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit like the Bates Motel !!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Larkfield Priory Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Larkfield Priory Hotel to your Saves list
Larkfield Priory Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   802 London Road, Larkfield ME20 6HJ, England (Formerly Hamlets Hotel and Restaurant)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larkfield
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bit like the Bates Motel !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from an overnight stay with friends, at this hotel.
Very disappointed. Our evening meal was Luke warm, felt so sorry for the young waiter, who tried so hard to put things right, but it was well out of his control.
Also no heating in the bathroom, I could go on !!.
Won't be returning !!!.

Room Tip: Wouldn't want to be responsible for room recommendations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelManager001, Guest Relations Manager at Larkfield Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jean
Thank you for staying at the Larkfield Priory Hotel. We're sorry to hear that your stay wasn't up to your expectations. We have a great staff base who work hard to satisfy our customers needs, we'll take your comments on board to improve the visit of any future visitors. The hotel is going through a rolling refurb programme,so hopefully your next stay will be better. As to the heating that is being checked in the whole hotel to make sure that does not happen again with respect we only wish you had bought it to our attention and we could have put things right as we have on site maintenance team for just such events or we could have relocated you to another one of our superior room.we do hope you will forgive us for this as we really value your custom. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you again for your review
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    57
    42
    39
    35
See reviews for
34
82
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We were disappointed with our stay here. It seems the hotel had gone down hill and was operating on a shoestring budget. As there was no hot shower water in our first room we asked to be shifted but the second room was no better - scalding hot or freezing cold water! Breakfast was very limited and although the staff were pleasant and helpful there were many things that went wrong during our stay. This is very unfortunate as it is a lovely building and very convenient.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelManager001, Public Relations Manager at Larkfield Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying at the Larkfield Priory Hotel. We're sorry to hear that your stay wasn't up to your expectations. We have a great staff base who work hard to satisfy our customers needs, we'll take your comments on board to improve the visit of any future visitors. The hotel is going through a rolling refurb programme,so hopefully your next stay will be better.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Larkfield hotels

Yaxley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

After staying at this hotel for third time things get worse not better. After getting ready to get in shower finding the water was just tepid,reported it to reception who came down with member of staff who then asked how I turned it on,well didn't know there was a specific way to turn on water. We waited 1hr and.was no better so decided to have one in morning, Wrong,still no hot water,maybe the hint there was that there was no bath mat.Reported it again! Had to use small towel to have a wash.Went to make coffee in room and no teaspoons,so had to call reception again. Went for breakfast and had to ask for cereal as we did the time before, when asked why cereal wasn't out was told that the manager had said they weren't allowed to put it out. On Sunday morning there was only 2 choices of cereal.Went back to Room 1 after breakfast,used toilet and the whole system blocked when went to flush.Wasn't even offered a refund,disgusting! We were here to visit my brother who is in a hospice.

Room Tip: Can't give a tip,nothing good to say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelManager001, Public Relations Manager at Larkfield Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying at The Larkfield Priory Hotel. We're sorry to hear that your experience was not to your expectation. please note we have hundreds of guests each week going through our doors, leaving lots of good compliments which you can see on our website and from time to time a mistake does happen as we are only humans but we will take appropriate action on any points raised in your review , to make sure it does not happen again We have a great staff base who work hard to satisfy our guests needs. The hotel is always looking to make improvements to the service it provides to our guests, so hopefully your next stay will be even better. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you again for your review
From all the staff at The Larkfield Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

My wife,mother-in-law,daughter and myself had an excellent afternoon tea.
The food and service from a youngish waiter (Callum) was first class.
I can highly recommend this restaurant for visitors to this part of Kent.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelManager001, Guest Relations Manager at Larkfield Priory Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Kenneth
Thank You for Your 5 star rating review we have taken on board all your comments and appreciate your kind review .we do hope you will visit us again in the future and we will try our utmost to retain your very precious 5 star rating .Thank you again
From all the Staff at The Larkfield priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

I stayed at the larkfield priory hotel overnight . What a mistake!
The attitude of the staff was shocking, room was unclean,smelly and freezing i slept in my jacket , no hot water to wake up to, no wifi in room had to go to bar to send email . Breakfast the next morning was an absolute joke i had to wait five minutes for a clean plate, i had to ask staff for another mug as mine was used before i had arrived at table food was cold, bland and the quality was as if someone had popped to the local happy shopper with £5 and expected to supply around 26 guests with breakfast. When complaining to a member of staff a nod is all i received i don't know if he was agreeing with me or just did not understand me. I have stayed at many hotels across the south of England and this has to be in the bottom three. PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY if i had a choice it would receive no star and am reporting this hotel to trading standards

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelManager001, Guest Relations Manager at Larkfield Priory Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying at the Larkfield Priory Hotel. We're sorry to hear that your stay wasn't up to your expectations. We have numerous guests who stay with us on regular basis without any of the complaints you have listed,we also have a great staff base who work hard to satisfy our customers needs,we also supply FREE complimentary FULL ENGLISH breakfast with the option of a complimentary FREE lighter option we are sorry it did not come up to your expectation, we'll take your comments on board to improve the visit of any future visitors, With regards to your complaint: the hotel has a thorough complaints procedure in place. Had you raised this problem at the time, your concern would have been logged and a dedicated member of staff would have contacted you upon investigating the problem. However, your decision to not bring this to our attention and instead attempt to make a publicly issue of it, means that the case is no longer in our hands. The Trip Advisor community consists of experienced and knowledgeable travelers and diners, who undoubtedly see through your comments. The hotel is going through a rolling refurb programme,so hopefully your next visit will be better.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincanton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

The information says "WiFi is available" - it doesn't say "WiFi is only available in the bright, noisy cold bar!"
As far as I can see, most guests are working travellers - and probably like me, they would prefer to work in the evening, in the privacy of their room rather than be forced to sit in the cold ugly bar downstairs!
Having had a bath, and put on my pj's before realising the WiFi was not working, I then realised there was no signal on my phone either - so cant even tether to the 4G I am now very annoyed and pretty grumpy!
In this day and age, I see no point in restricting WiFi and making guests grumpy and unlikely to ever stay again!!! I have to stay away from home often, and this drives me insane!!!!

Room Tip: Always ask for a room away from reception areas, roads, banging doors and lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelManager001, Public Relations Manager at Larkfield Priory Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for staying at the Larkfield Priory Hotel. We're sorry to hear that your stay wasn't up to your expectations. We have a great staff base who work hard to satisfy our customers needs, we'll take your comments on board to improve the visit of any future visitors. The hotel is going through a rolling refurb programme,so hopefully your next stay will be better. As to the Wi fi that is being worked on to make sure its available in rooms should a guest request one
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you again for your review
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We stayed to attend a nearby wedding, we had called previously to enquire about an early check in as the wedding started before normal check in time but we're told nothing was available and we'd have to leave our bags in the car to check in when we arrived back after the wedding. On arrival, the old part of the building is lovely from the outside but the new additional buildings are very unsympathetic and rather ugly. We were greeted by a woman on reception who clearly didn't want to be there and when I asked if I could complete the check-in paperwork now so that I could just collect a key later that night (wine and paperwork do not mix!) She did eventually, begrudgingly agree.
Onto the rooms..... Firstly, my room was right next to reception so was incredibly noisy. There is a door buzzer to be let in late and this went off numerous times followed by the hideously loud bell on the desk, when I went out to ask if I could close the fire door between my corridor and the reception I was curtly told 'No'. Considering I was in a newly decorated room, although clean, they obviously purchased wallpaper, curtains and carpets that were within the tight budget with absolutely no regard of what matched! Stripes, tartan, floral patterns in an array of colours does not do the reasonably spacious rooms justice.
The breakfast was nice with a good selection but again the staff were not interested in you.
This hotel could have much to offer but personally I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelManager001, Guest Relations Manager at Larkfield Priory Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for staying at the Larkfield Priory Hotel. We're sorry to hear that your stay wasn't up to your expectations. We have a great staff base who work hard to satisfy our customers needs, we'll take your comments on board to improve the visit of any future visitors. The hotel is going through a rolling refurb programme,so hopefully your next stay will be better.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Larkfield Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larkfield Priory Hotel

Address: 802 London Road, Larkfield ME20 6HJ, England (Formerly Hamlets Hotel and Restaurant)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Larkfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larkfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Larkfield Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and indulge. Our champagne is chilled, the dining experience a marvel and the four poster bed a dream. Our extensive bar and restaurant menu caters for all taste and prices So come on - it'll be fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Larkfield Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Maidstone
Maidstone Regal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larkfield Priory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.