We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Empty on a Friday evening” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Chequers

The Chequers
33 Queen Street, Stotfold SG5 4NX, England
+44 1462 735465
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Stotfold
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Bedfordshireclanger
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Empty on a Friday evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

What could be the best pub left in Stotfold seems to be giving up. Virtually empty on a Friday evening. No food available after 9pm. One real ale at the bar. Can't be bothered to return.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    10
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stotfold
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gone Down Hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Chequers
33 Queen Street, Stotfold SG5 4NX, England

Not sure if the owners are aware or have concerns about the general word in Stotfold about the Chequers pub, “But here goes” first this was a lovely pub in the correct settings a stone’s throw from The Mill and is steeped in history, but after some investment by its present owners nearly all of its heart has been ripped out of this old pub, the inside is clean and clinical beige everywhere, the furniture is of good quality, So you’re asking yourself what’s the problem, well Sunday we decided to go and have some lunch we walked in and was greeted by the manager so a good start, but please remember one thing this should be a family pub warm and welcoming with good pub food, and the sign of a good pub is seeing family’s eating in it, apart from us there was one other table with people eating, we looked at the menu it was very clear to see it was a Pub trying to be a four star restaurant we ordered one fish pie, one Sunday roast a beer and one glass of wine £28.00 this arrived at the table in 3 minutes flat, so ask yourself it must have been (Microwave) then looking at the Main menu if we had gone with the full menu we would have been looking at £45 plus for two, then the cheapest bottle of wine on its list was £15 on top. The menu overall was not interesting and very very basic and overpriced, we have lived in Stotfold for over five years and I would have to say if you are looking for a pint only “go for it” if you are looking for good food try Baldock area plenty of Pubs and all of easy walking between them.
My last word for the owners please looks at your prices keep it simply but good quality or try visiting other good pubs outside of the area i-e Clophill A507 to get inspiration or get Gordon Ramsey you need help.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“going down hill fast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I moved to Stotfold a year ago and have eaten in The Chequers 6 times over that year, what seemed like quality food at first has since changed, the quality has dropped. Last week I ordered ribs and chicken which arrived within 10 minutes, straight out of the mircowave! disappointing! The pub used to stock guest ales but in the last 3 visits I've made only had IPA on tap!
In January as a family we ate the Sunday roast which was awful, no where near the standard we'd had last year! Somehow they can still turn out a semi decent rump stake, although it's over priced! Wont be rushing back any time soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Golden wedding dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

After having to change our plans we decided to have a dinner to celibrate our Golden Wedding with friends and family, the manager of the Chequers was able to fit us in at short notice after some juggling around. we could not have made a better choice of venue the Chequers is such an attractive pub/resturant in the village of Stotfold. Our food was of the highest quality at very reasonable cost served by very pleasent staff who done everything they could to make you welcome, all of our party had only praise for their food which is unusual for a large party. We have visited the Chequers on previous occations and will definatly continue to do so. a big thank you to the staff for making our visit so enjoyable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We attended The Chequers in Stotfold on Sunday 17th February 2013 to gather with family to celebrate my Brothers birthday. We were able to get a drink from the well stocked bar and relax for a bit of a chat in the bar area. When we were ready we were shown through into the restaurant area where our table for 10 was set and waiting.
Despite being a large group, our order was promptly taken and the food arrived soon after. The Sunday Roast was very well cooked. The vegetables were fresh and tasty. My family told me that the roast turkey was good and as vegetarians we were offered a dish from the vegetarian menu to go with our roast dinner. This was very tasty and done with no fuss or bother.
They do childrens meals and childrens Sunday Roast portions and even allowed my father to have a childs roast as he doesn't have a big appetite.
The sweets were all prepared on the premises and were of the old English variety, Apple Crumble, Bread & Butter Pudding, Jam Sponge etc.
All in all, we had a great lunch in unhurried and relaxed surroundings. The staff were excellent and the food great.
Highly recommended for a celebration meal, a family get together or just a quiet meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chequers also viewed

Stotfold, Hertfordshire
Stotfold, Hertfordshire
 
Henlow, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Chequers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chequers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.