We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place for holiays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Egerkingen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Egerkingen to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Egerkingen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoehenstrasse 12, Egerkingen 4622, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Egerkingen
GreenLeadersGold level
Jalgaon, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice place for holiays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

out skirts of city ...nice hotel ....good restaurant , i travel with kids ,very good from room.
value for money hotel ...highly recommended place for family.
can spent 2/3 days . staff at restaurant is little bit rude ... but otherwise it's really a very good hotel
but no complimentary WIFI.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    39
    21
    10
    3
See reviews for
23
17
3
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Since everything in Switzerland is expensive, it's difficult to find a great hotel with reasonable price. So I'm gonna be fair when giving my review. I went there twice during business trip, it was located up in the hill and bit far from the city center. Nothing I could remember so special about the room, the first stay I even got a room without view which is okay since I will just be in my room for sleep.

The nice part from this hotel I think the staff and the outdoor cafe. I made a complain about my bed n the first stay and the hotel management reply to it in timely manner, apologizing and promise to make my next stay better. The second stay I got a room with the view which is really nice as it was during autumn. Had view beers at their outdoor cafe (at that time was not too cold), it was great. It has a nice view of the valley and hills on the opposite side.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I stayed in the hotel during a business trip, our company had a one week training there in December 2012.
Hotel itself is nice, the room was big with a view on a hill, I liked it. Minus points go to internet access, which was paid and quite expensive (however this is something quite common in 4* hotels in Switzerland, but I dont understand it - in Slovakia it is took for granted to have a free Wifi).
The meals were excellent and tasty, UNTIL: during lunch my colleague by my table found in the spinach a BIG COCKROACH!!! This simply cannot happen in a 4* hotel at any chance!
It was a big shock, and the hotel apology was quite poor also - we who sit in that table received a bottle of a cheap wine as "sorry". Very very sad about it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011 via mobile

The Moevenpick Hotel Egerkingen is a decent travel hotel in a very remote location off the motorway between Solothurn and Olten.
The rooms are clean and a nice size and the staff is friendly.
Breakfast is not included in the room rate, and costs 26 Chf, which is a bit absurd.
The hotel is located far outside of olden or solothurn, so if you come off the train from the airport as I did, you are a bit stranded.
There is a very nice trail system in the town if you like to hike or jog. You can choose from short to long and varying degrees of difficulty.
It is not the best hotel for the price, but it does the job for what is needed.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bousval, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This hotel is simply perfect. We booked this hotel for our return from Tuscany to Belgium and we get all what we need (perfect room, breakfast is simply delicious and services from the staf is also perfect

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Only stayed here one night on our way to Italy, but it really was great! Nice, clean, comfortable rooms. A very nice restaurant with a great view, excellent food and very good service. They make you feel very welcome. Buffet breakfast very good with all kinds of bread, eggs how you want them made, fish and meat and fresh fruits. Must not forget to mention the prosecco. A very good stopover on your way to Italy or further!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schweiz
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Meine Erfahrung mit diesem Mövenpick Hotel beschränkt sich auf die Reservationanfrage für mehrere Doppelzimmer, da ich Gäste nach einem Fest dort unterbringen wollte. Für den angefragten Termin im Sommer wurden mir Business-Zimmer angeboten. Auf meine Anfrage nach günstigeren Zimmern hiess es, diese seien breits ausgebucht, Sonderkonditionen z.B. bei Vorauszahlung auch nicht möglich.
Nachdem die Reservationsbestätigung per Email nach drei Tagen immer noch nicht eingetroffen war, erkundigte ich mich und musste feststellen, dass die Emailadresse mehrere Fehler aufwies (trotz Buchstabierung).
Eine Buchungsanfrage via "booking.com" einige Tage später führte zum Ergebnis, dass in diesem Hotel für den gewünschten Zeitraum sowohl genügend Zimmer einer günstigeren Kategorie buchbar waren, bei Vorauszahlung auch mit einem entsprechenden Rabatt.
Ich entschloss mich daraufhin, meine Gäste anderswo unterzubringen.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Egerkingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Egerkingen

Address: Hoehenstrasse 12, Egerkingen 4622, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Solothurn > Egerkingen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Egerkingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Egerkingen 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home while travelling. The Mövenpick Hotel Egerkingen is your oasis where you can let yourself feel pampered - whether travelling on business or privately. Experience the perfect ambience for business events and conferences.Situated in an elevated position with breath-taking, panoramic views over the Swiss west-central heartland, the Mövenpick Hotel Egerkingen warmly invites you to be our guest. The Mövenpick Hotel Egerkingen is surrounded by a beautiful countryside and can be reached within 40 minutes from Basel, Bern, Zurich and Lucerne. Parking is available directly in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Egerkingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egerkingen Moevenpick Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Egerkingen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.