We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced over hyped!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant La Dent Blanche

Restaurant La Dent Blanche
Rte de Plans-Mayens 37, Crans-Montana 3963 , Switzerland
027 481 11 79
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 71 Restaurants in Crans-Montana
Cuisines: Swiss
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Verbier
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Overpriced over hyped!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lunch here with friends
We ate on the terrace with no tables in the shade! It got worse asked for wi-fi code told it was needed for the hotels function ,rubbish
Ordered rack of venison cooked on open fire sounds great it wasn't , very over cooked and no apologies
Atmosphere zero service , the client is at fault to end 650chf for 6 inc a child of 10!
There are better places who are pleased to serve you in Crans

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant La Dent Blanche, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Sir,

We are very surprised to read your comment and we would like to first appologise for what looks like an unpleasant time you had in our establishment.

First, we are very sorry for the Wifi password that we cannot give for professional reasons. We are even more sorry about the fact that the person that told you about it talked to you in a rude way and didn't manage to explain well why we could not give it to you. Here is the reason: we have had problems in the past with our credit card machine (which is connected to the wifi) while customers were browsing on the internet. As a safe way of payment is important to us, we decided not to give the password to customers anymore until the connection is changed.

Secondly, we have a clear policy when it comes to a meat that is not cooked as the customer likes it: We change it straight away! We could not apologise about the rack being overcooked as you might not have told us about it. If you had, we would have cooked another one straight away (it already happened and we gladly changed it, mistakes happen). If you did tell someone about the rack being overcooked and nothing was done about it, then we should apologise 100 times as it is not the way we usually deal with customer dissatisfaction.

We are, once again, sorry about the whole situation and hope you will give us a second chance. We would gladly welcome you back and make up for our mistakes.

Sincerely,

La Dent Blanche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“I love this Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

escuse me for my English but i am french .
i love this place .i try to have dinner at this place every summer when i visit my friend in Crans-Montana.
i love the ambiance .the staff is young and helpful.Food is great local food.The raclette "au Feu de bois " is agreat show. there is a stong smell of cheese so if you do not like cheese suggest you abstain..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant La Dent Blanche, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Mr Thierry F,

Your English is more than fine! We are delighted to have such loyal customers and we thank you for that :)

See you soon at la Dent Blanche!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“le dent empoisonne”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are not happy at all.
The fondue de fromage was completely full of alcohol, uneatable! The fondue barbare was nothing special and prices were not up to standard (please find the attached file).The atmosphere would be nice but the manager is very rude and the waitresses are visibly terrorized by her. It is not nice and elegant mistreat waitresses in front of clients. I would not recommend it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant La Dent Blanche, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Good afternoon,

I have been an employee at "La Dent Blanche" for 5 years and I have to say that I am very surprised. Usually guests come to us as we have, in their opinion, "the best raclette and fondue" of the region! Errors in proportion can happen and your fondue might have been "uneatable", however you should have told us and we would have changed it right away.

Concerning the service, I would like to apologise. During Christmas and New Year's Eve the ski resort is full and we have a lot of reservations which means that we don't have any day off and that we work 10 to 12 hours a day. The manager might have been a bit nervous due to the lack of sleep and stress but believe me, we are not terrorized by her! I personally love working with her and I totally understand if she gets nervous as working in the hospitality industry can be really harsh.

When it comes to the "fondue barbare", it might not be your piece of cake but believe me, you would be amazed by the number of guests that come every year just because they absolutely love it. It is the dish that we sell the most!

I hope that you will have the opportunity to come again. We would love you to experience the "Dent Blanche" experience once again, and to enjoy it!

I wish you a nice day,

Aymon Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Check the bill...twice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very unfriendly staff, quite rude and slow. We had to send the bill back twice for correction and got a lot of attitude from staff... overall, bad experience. The fries were good, the rest of the food average.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant La Dent Blanche, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear guest,

We appologize for what sounds like an unplaisant stay at our restaurant. We constantly try to make our best to please our guests, however we sometimes fail. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to make up for it.

We wish you an excellent day and we would like you to feel welcome to come back for a nicer experience!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very nice atmosphere & very good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The restaurant has a typical and relax atmosphere. The service is very good and last but not least the food was simply great. Couple of us had a special fondue (it was simply great) and the others hunting (great as well). They propose very good local wines. Really worthy to go there and this is what we will do next time we'll be in
Crans-Montana!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant La Dent Blanche, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear G V,

Thank you for your review! Our main goal is to delight our customers and we can say "mission accomplished" :) There is no better rewards as managers.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Dent Blanche also viewed

Crans-Montana, Canton of Valais
Crans-Montana, Canton of Valais
 
Crans-Montana, Canton of Valais
Crans-Montana, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Restaurant La Dent Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant La Dent Blanche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.