We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel; Attentive Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie Du Pas De L'Ours

Save Saved
You added Hostellerie Du Pas De L'Ours to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostellerie Du Pas De L'Ours
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Pas de l'Ours 41, Crans-Montana 3963, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 hotels in Crans-Montana
Preston, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel; Attentive Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A small hotel with high standards. Very friendly staff who are most attentive. Very pleasant breakfast.
Room was spotless and very comfortable.Large TV with UK channels.
Dined in the Bistro. We felt a bit rushed (we booked late and so were told we could have the table for 2 hours but the staff seemed eager for us to leave more quickly!) but the food was of a very high standard. Wine list huge and there wasn't enough time to look at it thoroughly. Again we were being rushed a bit.
We would return in the future; if we were dining again we would have to have a table for the entire evening though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you are looking for a most inspiring mountain lodge with the feeling of being surrounded by wilderness this the spot for your next winter or sommer holidays.Wood and stones all around you; fire place and jacuzzi in the room. How wonderful way to be pampered! I had infortunatly no much time as I was on business in Cran, I could not even try the restaurant which, as I heard, is great. All the same i enjoyed even more my breakfast in front of a panoramic mountain view,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Büdesheim
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We were originally booked in another hotel but this one was not finished yet, so they offered us a room in Hostellerie du pas de l'ours (18 room hotel). At the moment you arrive they try to make you as a guest very welcomed and at home. We had lovely weather and we could even have lunch on the terrace outside in the sun. The wine list is a long one, from local wineries to the more classical regions, it is all there. The best thing about our room was the fireplace, with real wood! We really loved it. We were there for skiing and needed a rental place. They recommended the store pacific. We got excellent skis to rent. The best we got so far in Switserland.
The only minus point we can add is that the hotel shares its fitness with the hotel next door. This lady at the front desk was very unfriendly and unhelpful. That was a pity.
The food is good in the gourmet restaurant but expensive, not affordable for everyone as the 'cheapest' menu during the weekend is chf 145 (5-course meal). Allover it was a fantastic weekend and we can recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We are rather used to going to Crans-Montana for skiing but we managed this year to spend some summer time up there. It has been a blast. In addition to all summer activities available, we had a wonderful time staying at the Pas-de-l'Ours, which is in our eyes a high quality, charming, and true romantic place. The Chef Frank Reynaud and his team, ranked in Michelin, will as well for sure not desapoint you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

Having just come back from a perfect break at this gorgeous hotel I had to post a review. What can I say, not only was the hotel stunning and the rooms gorgeous but the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly too.

The hotel really is beautiful and romantic especially if you manage to get a room with an open fire as we did.

In addition the food was fabulous and that includes the breakfast, bistro and the michelin star restaurant.

I woudl recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2008

Very expensive and not worthy. First and last time that I'll go there. A lot more hotels in Crans offer a better service for a cheaper price !

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the room, the optionals
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2004

This Relais and Chateaux Hotel in Crans-Montana is well worth a stop if you are in this part of Switzerland. The rooms are large, modern in a Swiss chalet style with views of the alps across the valley. Our room had a fire place, sitting area and excellent bathroom. Service is polite and although they speak some English communication was not a problem. The hotel has a superb restaurant. Sitting outside in the summer having lunch with views of the mountains, cool mountain breezes and sipping on the local wines- well it just dosen't get any better than this.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostellerie Du Pas De L'Ours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Du Pas De L'Ours

Address: Rue du Pas de l'Ours 41, Crans-Montana 3963, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Crans-Montana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 hotels in Crans-Montana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hostellerie Du Pas De L'Ours 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostellerie du Pas de l'Ours proposes you 15 junior suites and suites south-facing, with view on the mountains, fireplaces, jacuzzi and shower. The Chef Franck Reynaud offers you two restaurants: the gastronomic "L'Ours", 1 star in the Guide Michelin & 17 at Gault Millau and the Bistrot des Ours.In the Spa l'Alpage you will find a menu of personalized treatments, turkish bath, jacuzzi and sauna. Inside / outside swimming pool in the lower floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hostellerie Du Pas De L'Ours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie Du Pas De L'Ours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.