We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view - Fine Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen to your Saves list
Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waldstatterquai 6, Brunnen 6440, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brunnen
1 review
“Amazing view - Fine Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The Lobby is somewhat small but a look into the Dining Room with its high 6m ceiling and Glass fronts promises class and old-fashioned luxury. Rooms are of modest size but comfortable, clean, and they give out to a spectacular mountain - and lake panorama. Beautiful new Spa and Sauna.
The best way to arrive is by Steamboat from Lucerne. Admittedly it takes a full 2h but this is well worth it. Plan excursions to the Devils bridge near Andermatt, learn about Suvarows battle against the Napoleonic army, take the gondola up to Urmiberg, Visit the 'Gruetli' (birthplace of Switzerland) and hike to Seelisberg and to Morschach.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view (Churchill stayed here)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    38
    14
    1
    8
See reviews for
19
52
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I've visited the Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen over one year ago and had a very good experience.
The staff was very nice and we felt welcome to the hotel, the hotel bar is small but adequate. The location is what makes this a very special place, with fabulous views all around the hotel.

All in all, a great place to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a super stay at the Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen with 3 adults and a child. the service is extremely hospitable and the rooms spacious and very clean. The morning breakfast is a good spread and staff that is attentive to special requests. starting at 7-11 you dont feel rushed to get up and you dont have to wait too long if you wake up early.The view on the lake view is worth the extra money and the balcony although very tiny, a perfect treat for early risers. If you are planning a one time visit and dont mind the splurge Seehotel is worth every coin, for a memorable experience.

Room Tip: I really suggest the lake view because of the spectacular location. that said, the rooms are large a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We enjoyed every bit of our week-end in Brunnen and would like to thank and compliment the staff for their professionalism and kindness.

YES: room with a view....definitely upgrade for a lake view. You'll be mesmerized, no matter the weather - of course, waking up to a sunshiny day will be even more spectacular.
YES: the SPA.... with a view. Small but exquisite.
YES: the feel good feeling
YES: the brunch.... one can spend hours savouring the richest offer of breakfast, cold meats, cheeses, carvery, desserts. If needed, it's ok to go out for a walk and return for more.
YES: dinner in a rather tranquil setting with a very attentionate service, good food and a rather interesting wine list
YES: the treatments were delightfully relaxing.


So so: there is a smoking lounge opposite to the elevators that take you to the rooms and the main staircase. The public areas are a bit smelly (but it does not affect the rooms or the restaurants).
So so: it's an old building meaning that you can hear the footsteps of those who lodge above you.
So so: no plugs besides the bed... a problem if you want to charge your phone/iPad while surfing the news before going to sleep

Room Tip: Room with a view...you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed there for one night only, but had a very nice stay. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet great and the location is superb. The only reason I don't award top points is that I still consider the room a bit pricey, but I would nonetheless recommend anyone to stay there. I was there a few months ago for two nights on a business trip, and it was equally good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Desert, Maine
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We liked everything about this hotel except a few small things. Actually, they kind of added up enough for me to drop my rating from very good to average. The hotel just costs way too much for the 'little stuff' to happen.
First the good - beautiful rooms, well decorated, window in the shower to see the view too! It's right on the lake and practically at the boat dock. Unfortunately, our day of arrival was windy and the boat docked a few minutes walk away. Still, very convenient. The staff are professional and helpful. The hotel is beautifully maintained.

The internet can be a hassle, especially with multiple devices. Supposedly, you sign in with your phone and the texted code is good for all devices. We never got a text so had to have the front desk give us separate codes for the phone, IPad, computer etc. And then you have to enter it each time you wake the device up. A real pain. Not one device was able to remember the code on the device. Or the system didn't allow it.

Be aware there will be many many groups in and out for either overnights or conventions/meetings/seminars. The hotel really works at this and it can be disruptive, even in late October. The lobby will get crowded at check in/out time and the breakfast room is small and somewhat cramped. The food is excellent. The bar is really only for smokers - it really stinks in there. There is no bar (except outdoors!) for non smokers. The smoke wafts into the hallways. You have to use the hallway where the bar is to get to the lobby and front entrance.

We didn't leave on a great note - we had to arise at 4am, and the shower was cold. Not warm, cold. With 24 hours of travel ahead of us, not showering wasn't an option. It was brutal. The complimentary van wasn't available at 5:30am so we took a cab, very short 11 franc ride to the train station. Overall, we still loved this place, but for the extremely high price even in October, the 'little things' should be taken care of.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibach, Schwyz, Switzerland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen enjoys a brillant location in the center of Switzerland and close to the historical place - the Rütli meadows. Unfortunately they do not deserve the 5 stars because they do not make any efforts to make you feel in a 5 stars.
The welcome: no welcome.
Nobody says "Welcome to our hotel". So after a long trip, you do not get a friendly face. Very few personal, all very young without experience.
The rooms are done in a very quick way so hygiene and organization is not 100% perfect.
Because of the tourist boats arriving daily to the location from the Waldstaettersee (Lake of Lucern), all the ground floor is invaded by hundreds of tourists using the toilets. I let you scent the smell of a heavy used toilets just near by the breakfast room. At the breakfast room, there is only one lady doing the tables cleaning (that does not tell you hello) and another running to bring you a coffee. Again lack of people.
My last night, the entire ground floor smelled cigar and tobacco as their fumoir does not have an appropriate ventilation.
Last but not least: I ordered room service. When the lady arrived to bring me my meal, she filled the air of my room with the bad cigar smell as she probably brought my diner from the ground floor. I needed to open the window of my room for several minutes in order to get the smell away. So please avoid this place as the owners are lazy and expect to get the customer's money without making any efforts at all.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen

Address: Waldstatterquai 6, Brunnen 6440, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Schwyz > Brunnen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldstatterhof occupies a captivating and awe-inspiring location on the cusp between Lake Lucerne and Lake Uri, surrounded by a beautiful private park and with views of the Alps of Canton Uri. Situated within sight of the historic Rutli Meadow, this place awakens memories of the Swiss Confederation's Genesis back in the mists of time, interwoven with myths and legends. This is a place that's imbued with energy in the midst of an archaic, natural spectacle encompassing mountains, cliffs, water and wind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Waldstatterhof Brunnen Hotel Brunnen
Seehotel Waldstatterhof Hotel Brunnen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.