We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feedback on a « Romantik » week-end” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen to your Saves list
Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waldstatterquai 6, Brunnen 6440, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brunnen
French Riviera
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“feedback on a « Romantik » week-end”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My wife and I enjoy Switzerland and we are fortunate to live only 4 hours away by car. I came across an offer on internet for a romantic week-end: 2 nights, a candlelight dinner on the first
night, a half bottle of champagne served in the room after dinner, a surprise in the room, a special breakfast plate with a glass of presucco on the first morning, a 4 course meal on the second night. I guess I didn't forget anything and wanted to share with you the excellence of this package.
First of all the location is wonderful right on the lake shore and the package guaranteed a room facing the lake and the snow capped mountains in the back-ground. The hotel is in mint condition and deserves without any doubt its 4 stars (not 5 stars as mentioned in a previous review). The outdoor parking is plentiful. The reception was quite friendly and helpful on check-in. However don't expect valet parking. You also get to haul your luggage to your room.
The room itself is of average size meaning that there is enough room to put 2 arm chairs and a small round table in one of the corners.The bathroom is fine with black sink and sides and pink tiles as in the 1950s. I have been wondering how I could best describe this room
emotionally and I guess « dull » would be my choice. Very clean, outstanding view, but the interior decoration …
The restaurant ! That was another wonderful experience. I was a little worried with the half board deal but the chef is experienced and prepares fresh local food. The menu is set with a choice of fish or meat and was completely changed for the second day. We enjoy
eating and couldn't believe our luck. I guess the best example was a creamy vegetable soup (which I normally skip) and turned out being a real treat. We couldn't figure out what we had eaten and it turned out to be made with leaves of wild garlic! This vegetable is only available
in the Spring and is quite popular says the waiter. He went to the kitchen to bring back a couple of leaves on a plate so that we could discover the source of this delicacy! This gives me the occasion to highly compliment the service and friendliness of both waiters.
So in net 2 outstanding features: the location and the restaurant.
First tip: if you wish to go to Luzern (and the weather permits) take the boat which stops right by the hotel. Enjoy the ride and the sights.
Second tip: the hotel is separated from the lake by a pedestrian walk (so no traffic noise) and the walk is delightful !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    38
    14
    1
    8
See reviews for
19
52
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

This amazing hotel in on the banks of the beautiful lake with snow capped mountains in the back ground. Excellent rooms with all amenities. Breakfast was superb. Regretted on stayed 1 night.

Room Tip: Ask for room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlenbach, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed for 5 nights on a seminar trip. With mostly beautiful wheather in May the Waldstätterhof offers all convenience and a nice lake shore patio for lunching and dining.

Seminar rooms are a little bit scattered, some very small and the big main room a huge hall with difficult acoustics.

Food is excellent.

Doing business here is almost a waste; if you can manage go for a run, hike up the Rigi or a swim in the lake. Unfortunately, the rather large hotel does not have a pool or wellness area!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This hotel appears to be relying on its location and previous visitor history to justify its "5 star" status and exhorbitant tarriffs (yes, I know Switzerland is expensive, but for what is provided, this is in a separate league) . Stayed here 4 nights for a business conference (not a convenient place to get to for a conference). Fortunate enough to be allocated a room overlooking the lake (several other attendees were not so lucky). Yes, the views are great, staff friendly, breakfast comprehensive, and the adjoining outdoor eating area charming. However, but considering the tarrif, the lack of airconditioning during the very humid hot weather made it unpleasant, especially at night (unless windows were left open), something that is not acceptable in other countries for even a 3 star hotel. Additionally, the interior decor had a distinctly "1970's" appearance, is dated in certain places and the bedrooms lack airconditioning. On top of this, wireless internet was only available at extra cost (5 CHF/day). Had to pay extra to allow my wife to join me (at 100CHF per night!) Considering this was the most expensive hotel we have stayed at in Switzerland by far, it is overrated, and I would not choose to stay here in the future.

Room Tip: There is little point in paying such a high tarrif unless you can be given a room with good lake vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
307 hotel reviews
Reviews in 250 cities Reviews in 250 cities
472 helpful votes 472 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This hotel and the city of Brunnen rest on laurels acquired in 1291: the founding of Switzerland on the nearby Rütli-Meadows. It seems that ever since, nothing was added for the tourist. ALL the hotels in town are old, 60s style, rather run-down places. This is also true for the Waldstätterhof. The furniture is old. The ambiance is rather conference style. The gastronomy lacks any concept. The service is mediocre. The garden features some strange sculptures instead of a nice flora. The outside bathing area is a joke. The price level rather not, especially at current exchange rates (€ 240+). It doesn't help that George W. Bush stayed there for whatever celebration. Better go upshore to Lucerne (not fantastic either) or directly to Zurich. The only positive about this hotel is that it makes for a nice picture if you are further uphill. Sorry, no mercy, if tourists are exploited with such a bad product.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

nice hotel and very friendly staff. its a la carte restaurant is also very good. the only downside is probably brunnen, it is not the most exciting travel destination in general despite the stunning views of the lake and the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
480 reviews 480 reviews
329 hotel reviews
Reviews in 291 cities Reviews in 291 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We had seen this hotel a couple of years ago while on a boat trip from Lucerne and we loved the spot so decided to visit it. The hotel is very well located across from the lake in Brunnen. Parking was busy but we did find a spot and I believe they also have a garage. The room was very nice, although a little on the small side for a room described as 'superior', with great views of the lakes and mountains.

Room was very clean and we were able to request a kettle in the room for morning coffee. The staff overall were very friendly and responsive. Breakfast buffet was very nice and we had dinner one night on the terrace which was also very good. I liked the small private garden with access to swim in the lake. The room did not have airconditioning but luckily the temperature at night cooled down so opening the windows worked well.

This hotel was very expensive compared to equivalent hotels in the US prices but I guess that's the same all over Switzerland. However, we did very much enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen

Address: Waldstatterquai 6, Brunnen 6440, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Schwyz > Brunnen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldstatterhof occupies a captivating and awe-inspiring location on the cusp between Lake Lucerne and Lake Uri, surrounded by a beautiful private park and with views of the Alps of Canton Uri. Situated within sight of the historic Rutli Meadow, this place awakens memories of the Swiss Confederation's Genesis back in the mists of time, interwoven with myths and legends. This is a place that's imbued with energy in the midst of an archaic, natural spectacle encompassing mountains, cliffs, water and wind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Waldstatterhof Brunnen Hotel Brunnen
Seehotel Waldstatterhof Hotel Brunnen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.