We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last positive developments in 1291 A.D.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen to your Saves list
Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waldstatterquai 6, Brunnen 6440, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brunnen
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
307 hotel reviews
Reviews in 250 cities Reviews in 250 cities
475 helpful votes 475 helpful votes
“Last positive developments in 1291 A.D.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This hotel and the city of Brunnen rest on laurels acquired in 1291: the founding of Switzerland on the nearby Rütli-Meadows. It seems that ever since, nothing was added for the tourist. ALL the hotels in town are old, 60s style, rather run-down places. This is also true for the Waldstätterhof. The furniture is old. The ambiance is rather conference style. The gastronomy lacks any concept. The service is mediocre. The garden features some strange sculptures instead of a nice flora. The outside bathing area is a joke. The price level rather not, especially at current exchange rates (€ 240+). It doesn't help that George W. Bush stayed there for whatever celebration. Better go upshore to Lucerne (not fantastic either) or directly to Zurich. The only positive about this hotel is that it makes for a nice picture if you are further uphill. Sorry, no mercy, if tourists are exploited with such a bad product.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    38
    14
    1
    8
See reviews for
19
52
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

nice hotel and very friendly staff. its a la carte restaurant is also very good. the only downside is probably brunnen, it is not the most exciting travel destination in general despite the stunning views of the lake and the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
480 reviews 480 reviews
329 hotel reviews
Reviews in 291 cities Reviews in 291 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We had seen this hotel a couple of years ago while on a boat trip from Lucerne and we loved the spot so decided to visit it. The hotel is very well located across from the lake in Brunnen. Parking was busy but we did find a spot and I believe they also have a garage. The room was very nice, although a little on the small side for a room described as 'superior', with great views of the lakes and mountains.

Room was very clean and we were able to request a kettle in the room for morning coffee. The staff overall were very friendly and responsive. Breakfast buffet was very nice and we had dinner one night on the terrace which was also very good. I liked the small private garden with access to swim in the lake. The room did not have airconditioning but luckily the temperature at night cooled down so opening the windows worked well.

This hotel was very expensive compared to equivalent hotels in the US prices but I guess that's the same all over Switzerland. However, we did very much enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

My husband and I (aged 62) stayed in the Seehotel for the first night because of it's water front location and the hotel we had planned to stay at was full. We were all the better for it and after the first night we decided to stay longer and purchased one of their 3 day packages. I cannot decide which was better ...the room facing the water or the amazing dinner (included in package) First time I have ever had roasted chestnut and coffee soup!!!! Had to try it and then asked for the recipe which they happily provided. I would highly recommend this hotel on several levels. Did I mention the amazing and helpful front desk? The management deserves full accolades for providing a wonderful cozy hotel but underscored with great service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, Lancashire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

We visited this wonderful hotel in September and have already booked again for next year. From the moment we arrived in Brunnen we were welcomed by the staff who were always very helpful. The staff in the restaurant and breakfast room were superb. They did everything they could to make your stay enjoyable. The breakfast was substantial with hot and cold dishes, as much as you could eat, with a choice of drinks ranging from tea and coffee to prosecco. We went with Kuoni on a half board basis and the evening menu was very varied with a choice of meat or fish for main course. If you didn't like one of the courses then you could ask for something else. The sauces on the main courses were particularly good. The restaurant staff (Ronnie, Stefan and Thomas) could not do enough for us.

The room was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was spotless and the sheets on the bed changed frequently. Fresh fruit was available in the room and replaced every few days if you had not eaten it all. The view from the balcony was superb, looking straight down Lake Lucerne. The hotel is situated right next to the boat station so it was very easy to get about by boat but was not noisy. The train station is about 10 minutes walk away and you can get all over Switzerland easily from here. We went to Bellinzona one day on the train and the views were magnificent with the train line winding back on itself as you climbed over the mountains. The bus stop is just around the corner from the hotel and the buses can be used to get about very easily. There are many small cable cars going up in to the mountains within a 10 mile radius of Brunnen and walking opportunities are endless. Or if you just want to go up in the cable car there is invariably a small cafe at the top for a coffee and a cake and a look at the wonderful view.

Brunnen itself is only a small place but very charming with a very helpful tourist information office. There are 4 bakeries and a supermarket where you can get your packed lunch for a trip into the mountains. If you want nightlife then this is not the place for you. If you like to walk and sail then don't hesitate but book yourself in to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

After holidaying in Switzerland for many years we feel it necessary to comment on this hotel.It's location is stunning and we had a superior lakeview room,it was quite small and had a pink allover bathroom, not what we were expecting but the view was spectacular and unfortunately that was the only thing that was spectacular.On half board we were shown the dining room.It was more like a canteen,bland uninspiring and definately not a 5 star.On arriving for breakfast we had to find a table,then to our utter amazement we had to set it ourselves,then fetch crockery cutlery our tea or coffee then by the time you then fetched your breakfast everything was going cold.In the evening we were shown the same dour room for our meal.There are no choices for starters,one meat or fish for main and no choice for dessert.This is definately not the hotel for anyone who has travelled in Switzerland before and would recommend elsewhere.When after dinner we asked if we could have our coffee outside by the lake we were told no as we were half board( the most you can have) and had to take it in the bar as that was the only person who would serve us.There are beautiful large rooms in the hotel but they are never used and when we asked why they said they were for outside guests.Imagine how we felt,what did they think we were? August 1st came which is Swiss national day and the festivities in Brunnen were great this caused an influx of extra people to the hotel and next day at breakfast they decided to open one of the beautiful rooms and it was absolutely chaos.People wandering round trying to find a table, one elderly lady with a stick trying to balance an egg in an egg cup in one hand,we felt like screaming,what on earth was going on.It wasn't even 1 star service as there just wasn't any service. The weather was hot and we asked to dine outside, there again staying guests cannot dine by the lake instead you are put in a weed filled patch with plastic tables and chairs , not nice at all.I hope this helps anyone contemplating going to this hotel because we would say don't.We have looked at the brochure for 2010 and see that it has had its status downgraded to a 4 star, as we have said that is for the view it commands and nothing else.We read that it boasted that Sir Winston Churchill and Queen Victoria stayed there , we assure you she would not have been amused.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

Waldstatterhof Hotel is undoubtedly the best choice you can have if you got a chance to visit Switzerland and Brunnen is our favorite town. The service of this hotel is excellent, we got the warmest hospitality from all the staffs from the moment we set foot in the lobby. The room is super clean with the real nice balcony, where you can see the whole Lake Luzern embrace with the mountains view all around. We especially love all the bed stuffs, it's given you the most pleasant sleep one could ever had. The location of the hotel is in the middle of everything, it take only 10 mins walk to the train station and right in front the Brunnen pier. The fruit plate is change everyday with the best quality fresh fruit, also with the variety of tea and coffee in the room. After a long day of traveling to other towns, we always come back to the room and get the new postcard and the nice chocolate on our pillow every night. The food at the hotel is also very nice, and it's a great place to chill out at the outdoor area facing the lake, we do enjoy our wine with the lake : )
The hotel is also surrounded with the nice restaurant where you can walk around the lake side and find many nice places to relax.

Well, we can't thank you all the staffs enough for making our trip so memorable and hope to get back there soon : )

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen

Address: Waldstatterquai 6, Brunnen 6440, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Schwyz > Brunnen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldstatterhof occupies a captivating and awe-inspiring location on the cusp between Lake Lucerne and Lake Uri, surrounded by a beautiful private park and with views of the Alps of Canton Uri. Situated within sight of the historic Rutli Meadow, this place awakens memories of the Swiss Confederation's Genesis back in the mists of time, interwoven with myths and legends. This is a place that's imbued with energy in the midst of an archaic, natural spectacle encompassing mountains, cliffs, water and wind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Waldstatterhof Brunnen Hotel Brunnen
Seehotel Waldstatterhof Hotel Brunnen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.