We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such kindness from management” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saflichstrasse 3, Brig 3900, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Such kindness from management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Whilst staying in this well appointed and extremely welcoming family run hotel and enjoying their excellent food we sadly experienced a major medical emergency which necessitated extended negotiations with various Swiss authorities. As we were not German speakers we had to rely on the good offices of the owner Stefan and his wife Grazia and their staff to smooth our path during this traumatic experience. They could not have been kinder, completely taking us under their wing and offering us some of the comfort a family might have done. We would recommend this lovely hotel to anybody with or without a medical emergency.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    80
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
39
94
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Second time we stay in this hotel! No complains! Both times we were in non-upgraded rooms, but even these rooms are ok, bathroom can use some modern touches but it is ok! Service is great and really helpful! Breakfast is really good!! 3 min walking to train station and to the town center. Restaurant is really really good!! also wonderful service!! Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is truly a family run hotel with the friendliest and most helpful staff we have ever experienced. We fully agree with other reviewers about the great qualities of this hotel. Unfortunately for us, one of our party suffered a fatal heart attack about 11.00pm. Immediately, staff went into action calling the emergency services and giving first aid. The help we then had in dealing with the authorities and undertaker, providing accommodation for two sons who rushed out from England to support their bereaved mother was total. We will always be hugely grateful to Stefan, the owner, whose efforts went far beyond the call of duty.
Cathie and John, Stourbridge

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I switched to book this hotel in the last minute due to great reviews here and I was not disappointed. I booked the cheapest room but it was still spacious and clean. Bedding was comfortable. Windows and door were quite soundproof as advertised. We stayed for 3 nights, breakfast was good but it was all the same for 3 days.
It is relatively expensive 3 star hotel compared to other hotels in Brig, but I think it is well worth.
As other earlier comments, its restaurant was quite expensive but foods were good and came in large portions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Spent 2 nights at this hotel on a Treyn escorted tour - excellent hotel, looked refurbished, very clean, in a quiet location but easy walk to town centre and station. Staff very efficient, excellent food and wine. It would seem that the owner(s) had looked at everything to ensure that it was satisfying to customers - even my husband admired how the bathroom tiling was all lined up!! Even though only a 3* it was better than the 4* we had stayed in earlier on the tour, simply could not find anything to say against it. Was a comfortable and restful end to a great Swiss tour.

Room Tip: If you can afford it upgrade to a junior suite - although all rooms were of the same quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for two nights last week while on a Treyn holidays tour. We were greeted at the station by the manager who was from the start polite and very helpful. He had heard about our previous experience at the Seehotel Pilatus from our Tour Manager where the hotel was drab and our room was right by the main road, thus noisy. the Ambassador Manager immediately upgraded us to a suite at the top of the hotel and him and his staff could not do enough for us. The quality of the food in the hotel was excellent and why it is only 3* is amazing as it fits more into a 4* without doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is in a peaceful location but still only five minutes walk from the station.
Brig is an excellent small town from which to explore the region especially if using the excellent Swiss railway system with your Swiss pass as we did.
Breakfast is of a good standard with a tasty selection of breads, ham and cheeses etc.
The beds are extremely comfortable and we always got a good nights sleep. The rooms are spotless.
This THREE star hotel has an excellent FIVE STAR restaurant with attentive service. Some might think that the prices are on the high side....but as I said you are eating in a FIVE star restaurant!
Plenty of alternative eating places in the town but we especially enjoyed the close by Thai restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: Saflichstrasse 3, Brig 3900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Brig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive and immediately feel at home. The rooms are individually designed, Spacious and Bright. Exclusive boxspringbeds provide you with restful sleep. The hotel Ambassador has a quiet central location 200 metres away from the train station in Brigue with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Brig

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.