We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant and exceeded our expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drei Konige und Post

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Drei Konige und Post to your Saves list
Hotel Drei Konige und Post
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Gotthardstrasse 69, Andermatt, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Andermatt B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and exceeded our expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

I booked the Drei Konige und Post back in August 2010 for a sneaky long weekend of skiing in January 2011. Andermatt was new to me, but I'd heard good things about it from friends. Namely: "Pretty village with advanced skiing".

Well, we're just back from said long weekend, and have had a great time! I'll definitely be returning to Andermatt in future winters, and when I do I'll hope to be staying at the same hotel.

We drove from Zurich on the Thursday night. It was snowing and the traffic was crawling along, so in the end it took about three hours. As a comparison, on the return trip on Sunday afternoon it was just 90 minutes! Anyway, the first pleasant surprise about the hotel is there's guest parking at the front of the hotel (for about 10 cars) and a much larger carpark around the back. For such an old town with narrow streets, this was quite a treat.

We were greeted in a very friendly manner upon checking in, and as we'd chosen half-board we still had a table reserved for us even though we'd arrived a lot later than intended. And then the next surprise - the food was fantastic! Far better than one might expect from the average hotel in this class. We ate four courses each night, and all the dishes were well presented and very tasty. The same table was reserved for us each night, which made things very easy.

Breakfast was in the typical Swiss style. That is, yogurt, fruit, nuts, several breads, meats and cheeses. One thing I missed was 'Birchermüesli', although it was possible to combine enough individual ingredients to get something close. Anyway, at that time of the morning I was more interested in getting in the calories and then beating a track for skiing.

Andermatt seems to have one main street through it, in a general "L" shape. At the short end of the "L" is the railway station for the Nätschen area, and then on to the Oberalp and Dieni areas. At the end of the long side of the "L" is the cable car for the Gemsstock area. And, right on the point of the "L" is the Drei Konige und Post. On one hand this was an ideal location, as it meant we could walk with skis to get to both ski regions (between 5 to 10 minutes). But, it was about the limit of what we wanted to walk. A hotel closer to one lift than the other would have been good for that particular lift station, and then the other could have been reached by the free shuttle bus that ran every 15 minutes. But, all in all, I liked the location; it was central, convenient, and had a bit of activity going on in the evenings.

We'd not skied in Andermatt before, so were a little aprehensive of the "advanced" stories attached to the location. Our first day was spent in Dieni / Oberalp - and we had a great time exploring the pistes. There's a good mixture of runs served by chair lifts and T-bars. I wouldn't recommend it for absolute beginners though. Getting there is an adventure in itself, as it's served by a mountain railway, the price for which is included in the ski pass.

After building up our confidence we started day two by taking the double cable-car to the top of Gemstock (2963m). From there it's an apparent sea of black pisted and yellow un-pisted runs back to Andermatt. Definitely not for beginners! Most of the skiers had eyes only for the fresh powder off the beaten paths, which was great for me and my wife, as we then had virtually empty black-run pistes to ourselves. The weather was sunny the whole time, and the snow stayed fresh for the whole weekend. (The town was at -10C and the summit at about -20C).

For the afternoon we moved over to the Nätschen area, and were pretty glad we did. Warm, sunny, people eating and drinking out on Sönnenterassen - and some really nice, gentle blue pistes. So, if you're a beginner, or a parent with young children, this is definitely the area to target. And that also applies to worn-out survivors of a morning on Gemsstock...

Anyway, back to the hotel. Our room was on the 2nd floor, right at the end of a side corridor. I wonder if at some point two hotels have been combined (which would explain the name), as our side corridor had a different feel from the main part of the hotel. Our room was far beyond our expectations, being large, and unrestrictied up to the wooden roof beam structures. We had windows on two sides, and at night fell asleep to the sound of the stream running past outside. The bathroom was surprisingly modern and tastefully fitted in keeping with the rest of the room. Heating was by thermostatically controlled radiators, which we made use of to have it warmer during the day and cooler at night.

Overall we were really impressed by the room, but would mention two small negatives. On the Saturday evening there was a temporary shortage of hot water, which was probably caused by everyone coming back from skiing and trying to shower at the same time. Still, no big deal, and after a while it started heating up again. Secondly, on leaving the hotel we saw some of the other rooms being cleaned in the main part of the hotel. They looked fine, but not as nice as what we'd had. When returning I'll definitely mention a preference for room 238.

In conclusion, I'd say the hotel is above the level one might expect, particularly in the standard of room (which we enjoyed) and the quality of the evening meals. Andermatt offers fantastic skiing, and the Drei Konige und Post is well positioned for access to both main areas. I'll definiely be back, both to Andermatt and this hotel in particular.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels / Turku
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

We did not stay in the hotel, but visited the wellness/sauna twice after skiing the whole day. The service at the reception was really pleasant, and the wellness/sauna department with a sauna, sanatorium and a bubble path. Please not that it is mixed and nude (with a towel) but we were the only customers. Then we had a good dinner in the restaurant. Try the meat speciality of the house, for 2, and the red house wine. Again we enjoyed pleasant service. Also good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

We rented double rooms with a river view and it was superbly swissly decorated, the roar of the river was fantastic, but could keep light sleepers awake. Rooms were very clean, good service in English, the breakfast was not too adventurous but we ate in the restaurant below for lunch and dinner, and it was very good indeed. Great location for walking or skiing, depending on the season. Well worth visit, I would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weil am Rhein, Germany
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

Staff was very friendly. Room and bathroom were very clean and in good condition. Furniture seemed a bit old but was well maintained. Location is great: Right in the centre of Andermatt and next to the river. Breakfast was excellent.

I loved the sound of the river that I could here from the room - but be aware that it's quite loud even with the windows closed. So if you don't like the sound of roaring waters it might not be best choice for you...

I agree with the previous poster that the room charge is too high.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

A beautiful, small hotel in the center of Andermatt, at the crossroads of 3 lovely mountain passes. Our room had a balcony and lovely views and was comfortable, but overpriced; hotel staff courteous and helpful.
However, the restaurant was outstanding for dinner, both for food and service.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

Courteous and gracious staff, down comforters/pillows that fulfilled a great night's sleep and the river right outside our balcony--not to mention the food at their restaurant, made Andermott the highlight of our three-week tour. Accomodations were spotless, well-maintained and just as their advertising predicted. A hidden gem.

  • Liked — Serenity, proximity to mountains, Alps hiking, shopping and atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2005

My wife & I stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Drie Konige & Post and had a great time. we found the hotel by chance whilst driving through Andermatt and were very pleased with our choice.

The room was very comfortable and had the usual facilities that you would expect. It made a nice chage to have duvets instead of sheets/blankets.

The price include breakfast which was lovely, not too good if you have a intollerance to dairy products !!! We also ate in their restuarant both nights, the food excellent, as was the service.

Andermatt is a good place to stay if you want to explore Swizterland, it has a train station that has direct links with Interlaken and a cable car that takes you up to 2,500 metres for some amazing views.

We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Drei Konige und Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drei Konige und Post

Address: Gotthardstrasse 69, Andermatt, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Uri > Andermatt
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Andermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Drei Konige und Post 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Drei Konige und Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drei Konige und Post, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.