We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not really expect too much.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel zur Sonne

Hotel zur Sonne
Gotthardstrasse 76, Andermatt 6490, Switzerland
+41(0)41 887 1226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Andermatt
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Milan
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Do not really expect too much.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very average place, once again our experience shows that pretty everything in Andermatt in overpriced.
Food very average and expensive, meat very average quality in all dishes.
Do not expect the nice dining room you see in the pictures, which is reserved for hotel guests. Our room was, once again, very average.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“as original as it gets....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This Hotel has a very good kitchen and serves as original swiss food as it gets. A little pricey, but worth the money. The interior design is very cosy and looks like what every tourist expects a good swiss restaurant in the mountains to look like.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martigny, Switzerland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“Good honest food at good honest prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have now stopped for lunch at the Sonne twice while en route from our home in the Valais to eastern or northern Switzerland. (We would have stopped 3 times but last time the restaurant was closed!!) This is a lovely restaurant with good service and a wide choice of dishes on the menu and its location in central Andermatt, not far from the route cantonale, and with parking across the street makes it a perfect stop for us.

The food is typically Swiss. There is a daily "menu" which changes and is good value - if one wants to eat that much! Their "carte" is very comprehensive and covers most needs. The service is very agreeable and relatively fast. We both chose the veal sausage with rösti and salad. Delicious and perfect for a lunch "on the road". We noticed that the specialities of the season were all game dishes and saw these being served at adjoining tables - properly served from dishes kept hot on a "réchaud" at the table. Since many restaurants these days jsut bring out a plate of food it is really nice to see things done as they should be.

The ambiance is lovely - wood paneling, nice tables and decoration in mountain style. Prices were very honest. We paid about 70frs for a two course lunch with mineral water and coffee for two people. And the best sign of all - the restaurant was very full!!

We look forward to our next meal at the Sonne the next time we go via Andermatt.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, service friendly or less”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had lunch here and enjoyed the food. Prices are moderate. Acording to the person who serves your table the service is either friendly or less friendly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great fondue and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

good service and good fondue, large servings and cozy decorated restaurant

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel zur Sonne also viewed

Andermatt, Canton of Uri
Andermatt, Canton of Uri
 
Andermatt, Canton of Uri
Andermatt, Canton of Uri
 

Been to Hotel zur Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel zur Sonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.