We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jurrasic Coast. Be Fit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jurassic Coast ~ Dorset and East Devon Coast

Type: Geologic Formations, Historic Sites
Activities: Dining, Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This is England's first natural World Heritage site and covers 95 miles from East Devon to Dorset. Information on visitors centres can be found on the website.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Jurrasic Coast. Be Fit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a gem on the south coast. We based ourselves in Bournemouth. (a little dissapointing). It has a fabulous beach which is its redeming feature. We moved on to Poole which is just down the coast a little. Rather quaint place with a photogenic harbour. Spotting a boat loading for a mini Jurrasic Coast trip. We boarded the Solent Scene which had a very pleasant crew. The commentry to Swanage was clear and interesting. Passing Sandbanks, Brownsea Island and Old Harry Rocks. Fortunately the sun was out which made things even better. On arriving at Swanage everybody got off except my partner and I. We had the boat to ourselves all the way back to Poole with a crew member checking every so often if we were ok. For £9 we thought this was good value. Two hours.
Next we drove to Lulworth Cove. What a delight to see. A few yards further along is Stair Hole. A rock worn partly away by the elements. All a photographers dream. Walking around this area can be a little tiring if you are not so young like me. From there you can take the coastal path to Durdle Door. We decided to take the car. The terain is very undulating. To park at Durdle Door you have to pass through a holiday park. This isn't a problem but beware of children running around. Once parked up. There is a fair walk to your destination. Mostly down hill. Scenery absolutely fantastic. My partner also has her own camera so, there is a bit of competition going on. Our visit came to an end and I was feeling the effects of the walking. We still had to get back to the car. If it's downhill going, obviously it's uphill going back. Although you are on a shingle type pathway. It is very steep and hard. Even some of the younger tourists were struggling. I would advise that you wear the correct footwear and, take fluids on board. It's hard work but worth it. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We visited parts of the Jurassic Coast from London. Have a 5 month old baby so could do much and also we mainly explored places that were reachable by car. One disadvantage here was that driving along the coast is not possible. There is only a walking trail along the coast. We could not afford a long walk :( So you would need to figure out where to go, then get there by a not so scenic route, park the car and walk down to the coast line to view the sight. Also, be sure to have change for the parkings. All are paid and you would need lots of coins. We ran out of coins and it was a bit of a problem. The jurassic coast map (pdf) was very useful in locating the places. Its available on the jurassiccoast website. I would recommend having this at hand whether you are exploring by car or on foot. It marks the trails and all the main spots.

We stayed over in Southampton. Honestly the main reason was a cheap hotel deal. But I would say its better to stay closer to Devon. Southampton was a little far and the route to Devon was not very scenic - so not worth it. People with infants - we carried our son in a sling but we saw people using buggies at Durdle door and it seemed fine. We did take along a sling cover and I would recommend this since even if its not cold, its very windy along the coast.

We started our tour from Old Harry Rocks and worked our way towards the west. It took us more than an hour to get there from Southampton. It was a good sight but I would say Jurassic coast has better to offer. We had to visit it because its so famous. We went on dotting sights along the coast with Durlston Head being a good one. The famous globe was not all that big but then depends on what you are expecting. It was a good view point. There are some caves there too but we didnt spend much time there so didnt visit the caves. But in case you are going then do try and find out about this.

There are some very good sight going west from Durlston head but we had to miss them. I would say Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door are definitely worth the hype. Its spectacular. If you have packed food and want to sit and snack, this is a perfect spot. Just sit there and enjoy the scene while you eat. In fact I would say it would be best to pack lunch from wherever you start and stop over here for a picnic. Going along it was good and the next point we liked was West Bay. Its a nice spot and in case you have not had your meal, this place has a lot of city around so you could probably get a bite somewhere.

On our return to London we spent the afternoon in Portsmouth. It was a pleasant experience on the sea side with a free entry castle and adventure pier with some rides.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Amazing coastline. Soooo lucky its on our doorstep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We did the Stuart line cruise from Exmouth to ladram bay and the scenery is amazing. Great and informative information and we are so lucky to have the world heritage site here in the uk. We were blessed with dry weather given this terrible summer. It was a little bumpy and a couple of passengers were poorly but the crew were great. Even had knee rugs for those who were chilly. In my view not for small children as scenery and bird life paramount. We really really liked it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooburn Green, Buckinghamshire, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Weekend in Sidmouth with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our friends live in Sidmouth, Devon and a short walk takes us to the seafront where the Jurassic Coastline is a wonderful dramatic site. Devon is a beautiful county and there a too many attractions to mention individually.

There are plenty of National Trust properties, wonderful coastline, parks, Dartmoor, thatched cottages in lovely quaint villages. Scones with jam and Devon clotted cream! It is a holidaymakers dream place to visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Jurassic Coast, Exmouth and around Devon, May 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We visit my wife's sister in Exmouth occasionally, this is a most lovely County to visit, Exmouth is a lovely sea-side resort, a bit old fashioned perhaps but this is its attraction, it has a lovely beach and a nice shopping area, Exeter is lovely by the River and around the Cathedral I haven't visited all of Exeter yet, Sidmouth is worth a visit a bit congested as everyone wants to go there, Sampford Peveveral along the Grand Western Canal on a nice day is Beautiful, so is Bickleigh Castle further along by Tiverton, there are some lovely pubs in the country along the River Exe and in the small villages, the whole Jurassic Coast is really lovely all the way through Dorset also, I would say Dorset and Devon are a visitors must see.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jurassic Coast ~ Dorset and East Devon Coast also viewed

 

Been to Jurassic Coast ~ Dorset and East Devon Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurassic Coast ~ Dorset and East Devon Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jurassic Coast ~ Dorset and East Devon Coast to your Saves list