We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindauer Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lindauer Hof to your Saves list
Lindauer Hof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dammgasse 2 | An der Seepromenade, 88131 Lindau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Lindau
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tremendous vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Spent five nights from August 1st, had a great time for in a family vacation, great location. The best you can think of. Great view from the room of lindau port. Had a two floor room, kids slept upstairs, stairs were not spiral but the balcony was a little bit strange, you entered it through the bathroom which was big and clean.
Staff was very helpful, stefanie and her colleague were very helpful, consulted them regarding local trips, gave me good tips. The restaurant there is absolutely tasty and unique menu, very reasonable prices.
Tariff was 300 euros per night, not cheap but there is value for money.
Breakfast is ok, rooms are clean.
Location is excellent.
Tip - if you travel with a car, there is a very close parking place, the hotel took care of everything and you should hire it in advance.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    17
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
9
28
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Booked a room here for the Bregenz festival, Room was clean, modern design well appointed, friendly service. I would not lunch here am sure there are other better locations to dine. We had arrived late afternoon and decided to eat at the hotel. Ordered fish and boiled potatoes, price was EUR16, so expected a good plate of fish. However got two small fillets and 3 1/2 boiled potatoes. Which was fine for lunch but not for the price!!! My partner ordered a pizza... which was the size of a side plate, and again not value for money. However the service was lovely and could not be faulted. For location I would stay here again, but also look for other options. As to location its close to the ferry pick up, and other coffee shops so cannot complain. You can park at the hotel by advising reception in advance for EUR 12, however there are many one way streets through pedestrian Lindau to get there.. so its not easy. We parked in one of the 5 car parks in Lindau and the car was safe and so unless preferred for safety ( we encounted no problems!!) would decline the extra charge for car parking

Room Tip: Get lakeside room for extra EUR20
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We have visited the restaurant of this hotel and we were amazed of it. We sat at the veranda overlooking the promenade in a rare sunny day and we had a pleasant lunch. The view of the area, the lake and the Alps is magnificent! The value for money was also correct and the quality of food excellent. We did not stay at the hotel as we were only there for one day visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Windsheim, Germany
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had a rare sunny day in February and wanted to sit outside in the sun. As all other restaurants directly in the middle of the harbor were full or closed due to not being main-season we went here. You could sit on street level or on their sun terrace, we picked the latter.

Service was fast and efficient like you would expect from a traditional looking place like this. We just had a cup of coffee/tea and a cake but you could also eat lunch. Prices were reasonable and the food was good.
There were families, as well as bleary-eyed youths and retired people.

The view was very nice and during summer time it is even nicer. I have already been to Lindau in the summer so I think I know.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I stayed there for two nights and had a twin-bedded room with a wonderful view. The room must have been recently redecorated and was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was great. Everything was clean.

What amazed me the most, was the general friendliness of the staff - especially at reception.

In the morning there is a great choice for breakfast.

The hotel is right in the center and close to the train station and not a minute away from the harbour, from where you can get to Bregenz or Konstanz or wherever you like to go. During festival time the hotel can book you on a special boat which takes you directly to the Bregenz festival and back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

A wonderful hotel in Lindau, located at the waterfront, just a couple of meters away from the pier. Our room was enormous, we had a lake view which was spectacular. The rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable, modern equipment is nicely fitted into the old building – our room had a 17th century paining and woodcarving on the ceiling! Our room was very big, had a fireplace, 2 flat-screen TVs, a separate lounge area with 2 sofas. Bathroom is excellent, exceptionally clean, like the room itself. All the equipment is modern and in perfect condition. Bathroom has 2 sinks, a walk-in shower, bathroom supplies are excellent, including a free trial face care kit from a Swiss cosmetics manufacturer.
Our room was very light, we had about 6 windows. The curtains are great too, they do actually block the bright morning sun. The room was very quiet, I think partly due to the building layout – we had neighbours only from 1 side.

Breakfast was very good, it was included in the room price. There was everything from prosecco and fruit smoothies to good selection of cheeses, breads, etc.

The staff was very nice and efficient, everyone spoke English.

Our stay was great, I'd absolutely recommend the hotel. It's pricy but excellent.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

Lindauer Hof is across the street from the marina in the beautiful tourist town of Lindau, which is situated on Lake Konstanz, with the Alps as a backdrop. We were there in late November and the Christmas market was outside our window on the street below. The hotel is in a lovely old building and has a very nice restaurant that serves lake-caught fish. Breakfast is included and is very good. Parking is additional, but is in a secure garage. Our room was quite large and had an awesome bathroom with rain shower and dual sinks. The staff was wonderful and everyone we met spoke English. Free internet in the lobby. Lindau escaped the scourge of WWII, so the buildings are very old and the architecture is beautiful. We were there off-season, but I bet things are hopping in the summer.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindauer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindauer Hof

Address: Dammgasse 2 | An der Seepromenade, 88131 Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lindau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindauer Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Lindauer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindauer Hof Lindau
Lindauer Hof Hotel Lindau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindauer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.