We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eurobike 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten to your Saves list
Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ludwigstrasse 21, 88131 Lindau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Lindau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Eurobike 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We used this charming hotel as a base for our visit to this stunning area. We thought that we'd booked the Baterisherhof but when we arrived were placed here. It's a sister hotel less than 100m away which is actually also connected by a series of stairs and corridors.

The hotel is clean, charming and well looked after. The staff, almost without exception, talk good English and strive to be helpful in every way. Our room (215) was on the small side but had a quite stunning view of the harbour and of Lake Constance beyond. The beds were comfortable with lovely duvets and pillows.

Our room only had a shower but we were warned about this when we booked so it was no surprise. It was all spotlessly clean and there was a flat screen TV and a large safe.

Breakfast was very good and could be had outside on the terrace that leads down to the harbour or in the hotel itself.

Frau Reimmer (I think that's how one spells it) manned the reception desk late afternoon and evenings and was an incredible source of friendly local information, including where to go and what to eat. Literally nothing was too much bother for her. She was always a delight.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Unfortunately our visit was very marred by a visit to the coffee shop beneath the Bayerisherhoff Hotel. I am told that it is nothing to do with the Hotel and not owned by it (thankfully) but I have never experienced rudeness like that I encountered when we arrived one evening for a late night cocoa and Strudel.

The waiter was dismissive and abrupt and told us that there were no English menus. He was pretty rude really and so we decided that we would go elsewhere. As we left I asked for his name because I was considering complaining about his attitude. He refused point blank to give it to me and so I said that I would definitely report him and that as he was the only male waiter it wouldn't be hard to identify him. This is where the fun really started... he turned away and muttered, quite loudly enough for us to hear an incredibly rude few words, including the "F" word. I am not going to repeat them exactly here but I can say that I have never been spoken to like that before. I guess that perhaps he had had an awful day but we were his guests and there was no way that we should have been spoken to like that. The hotel manger, who I complained to, explained that the restaurant was not a part of the hotel and I know that she then had words with the waiter.
So... in conclusion, stay here but be careful of the corner coffee shop.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    36
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
48
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our rooms were spacious and modern. The bath rooms were large and we were supplied with a bathrobe and slippers. It was a little tricky to take a shower without flooding the bathroom floor because the tub was only partially enclosed. The staff was friendly, very helpful and professional. Our breakfast in the breakfast room overlooking the lake was luxurious. In our two weeks of traveling in Germany and trying Apfelstrudel wherever we went, none were as good as the Apfelstrudel from the hotel Reutemann! Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

As regular visitors here for over ten years we continue to be impressed by the sheer consistency of the experience beit in reception, restaurant, or domestic. The staff all speak English which is helpful. Our room overlooked the harbour which provides a great spectacle all day long. We came in July this year to attend a performance of the Magic Flute at the Bregenze Festival. As always the restaurant excelled with its dinner menu and great breakfast buffet. The Zeppelin Museum at Friedrichshafen has also been updated with many more dual language exhibits. The outdoor pool was a great way of cooling down from the summer heat. Lindau is a great place to visit and here is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the harbour is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Superb location overlooking the harbour and Lake. Took a bit of finding due to one way system but there is secure car parking a short walk from the hotel.
The room was very good with a balcony overlooking the lake which was great for people watching and catching the sun.
Breakfast was good and the meal we had in the restaurant on the first night was also good value.
Would recommend.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We wanted great scenery and Lindau did not disappoint.
Location: Walking distance from station.
Staff: Friendly
Food: Very good.
Room: Excellent and the chocolates are wonderful.
You can rent bicycles just outside the main entrance of the hotel. The bike trail goes along the shores of Lake Constance - stop at Bregenz for an ice-cream.

Room Tip: Loud noises from outside our room till 3 o'clock in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Very well managed and maintained hotel. We paid a small premium for a lake view room and it was worth it. Great view and nice porch on which to relax and watch the beautiful scenery (Swiss Alps in the distance), and action in front of the hotel.

Room was large, very quiet at night (facing the small harbor where nothing was going on after about 10 pm), very clean, with excellent shower. Only serious negative was the bed, which was hard as a rock. If the bed were more comfortable this would be a great hotel, but I mark down heavily for an uncomfortable bed, no matter how good the rest of the hotel.

We had an excellent dinner, taking the recommended special of the evening, spargel and perch, which was well prepared. Service was excellent. Next morning enjoyed an outstanding breakfast buffet. Wonderful breads, good selection of cheeses (including tasty blue cheeses), sliced veggies, and better quality pastries. And more excellent service. So it was only the hard bed that prevented this from being 5 stars.

Room Tip: Lake view room with porch is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Reutemann located literally a 5-minute walk from the train station. The reception staff is friendly, knowledgeable and well organized. Our room overlooking the harbour Lion and Lighthouse was immaculate. The bathroom was bright and spotless with more than enough towels, soaps and shampoos. The beds and linens are first class. The pool on the front side of the hotel is extremely clean and well maintained. Breakfast, included with the room, is a white tablecloth affair and the breakfast room staff is beyond reproach. (A female overseer makes sure the young female servers are attentive to every possible detail.) The sauna is hot and a great way to unwind at the end of the day; however, locating the sauna in the maze of hallways is a bit of a challenge. More signage on how to get there, please! Loved this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten

Address: Ludwigstrasse 21, 88131 Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Lindau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lindau
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lindau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reutemann Und Seegarten Lindau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Reutemann und Seegarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.