We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable courtyard dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wissingers im Schlechterbrau

Wissingers im Schlechterbrau
In der Grub 28, 88131 Lindau, Bavaria, Germany
083825042742
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 76 Restaurants in Lindau
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Burford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyable courtyard dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great food, sheltered open air courtyard, efficient service with as usual english spoken well, informal yet good quality.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    30
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A real find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by one of the hotel staff, and it was a real find. We have stayed in Lindau many times, and must have walked past the rather plain exterior. But go inside, there is a lovely bar, tables inside and out, and really lovely staff. The food was excellent, and plentiful; both times I had the 'snack' and it was huge! It was really full, so best to book, but that didn't seem to be a problem. Would thoroughly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were recommended by hotel staff to eat at this restaurant, and we went here twice during our stay in Lindau. The welcome was warm and despite the place being full to the rafters both times, service was good and staff pleasant. German dishes and local produce abound and it was a delight to sample the food. The only criticism I have is that one night a HUGE dog was lying on the floor beside one of the tables next to me and I really don't want to eat with a dog eyeing every mouthful I had. That aside, a glorious place both inside and out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best meal in Lindau!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The food was excellent. I ordered the ox cheeks and can honestly say that it was one of the best things I have ever tasted. My daughter ordered the spinach spatzle and she thought it was fantastic as well. We sat outside and the atmosphere was very pleasant. The service was a bit slow, but we're on vacation so who cares! Also the wait staff was very patient with our limited German and tried very hard to accommodate us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Again we had a very good meal here ,it is next door to restaurant Valentin and I highly recommend both .Loved everything here ,staff food and wine.I think they close Monday while next door is open.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wissingers im Schlechterbrau also viewed

 

Been to Wissingers im Schlechterbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wissingers im Schlechterbrau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.