We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Altes Pfarrhaus Beaumarais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Altes Pfarrhaus Beaumarais to your Saves list
Altes Pfarrhaus Beaumarais
Hauptstrasse 2-4, 66740 SaarLouis, Saarland, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in SaarLouis
Merelbeke, Belgium
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Decent restaurant, reasonable food quality, with affordable wines. Breakfast is ok.
The rooms are large enough, but cupboards a bit small, outdated.
Parking your car is a bit of a problem, as the parking of the hotel is too small.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
5
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The room was good, no luxuries but functional, without the facilities of brand new hotels as it is located in an old building. The breakfast is great and it has free WiFi in the room.
There are things, not as good, it is located a bit far from the city centre, but with a couple of restaurants next to it and some lack of communication in English with the staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

We had a great room next to the hotel with 2 ambients, bath, you can watch stars from the bed, amazing

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I stayed for two nights this week on business. It's very clean, the bed very comfortable and the room well appointed overall. I didn't take breakfast so I can't comment on that.

Their restaurant is a real treat, a beautifully prepared and presented meal with excellent service. I understand from the locals that the menu hasn't changed in 15 years, but it was varied and executed extremely well. It's pricey but it's worth it to pay for such quality.

We also ate at the Hofhaus restaurant next door which was very impressive due to the ambience achieved with a "covered beer garden" containing stylish flamed patio heaters. The food there was also excellent though not as "technical" as the hotel. I would thoroughly recommend a visit.

Saarlouis town is a 20 minute walk away or 5 mins by car. It's a stylish town with many nice shops and bars. What struck me was the friendliness of the people in this region and their great sense of humour. I would enjoy returning here in the future and would not hesitate to stay at the Altes Pfarrhaus again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I stay here a lot, its a lovely hotel, where the staff are very friendly. All rooms are furnished individually with old style wardrobes and dressers, every room is a little different. Fridges are in all rooms, but no minibar (just go to the local garage to get some wine ot beer if you fancy it) There is free wireless internet, just ask at reception for the access code. There is a great restaurant here too, it's not cheap but the menu & wine list is outstanding. There is a great seperate courtyard bar/restaurant which adjoins the hotel,(just walk out of the front door by reception and turn right) it has really gone upmarket in the last year, there is lots of outside seating with huge umbrella's, and a lovely atmospheric inside bar for all seasons. Car parking is free here unlike in the town where it can set you back 20 Euros. The downsides would be that it is close to the the A8, and you do sometimes get a little traffic noise in summer when the windows are open (no airconditioning here) It's also quite a long walk into town, 20 mins brisk stroll, but it gives you an edge for your appetite on the way there, and walks off the excess pounds and Weissbeer on the way back. Breakfast is average, although there's a good choice of cereals, cold meats, breads etc, you also get a choice of scrambled poached or boiled eggs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

As I heard the name 'Altes Pfarrhaus' (Old vicarage) in the Hauptstrasse (Main street) in Saarlouis, I expected something in the heart of the city, close to the railway station. But the hotel 'Altes Pfarrhaus' is located in the Hauptstrasse of Beaumarais, a suburb of Saarlouis, 2 busrides away from the railway station (or, as I found out later, only half an hour walking).
On the other hand: Altes Pfarrhaus has a lot of atmosphere! The hotel is indeed in a late baroque building of the end of the 18th century. You can still notice that in the breakfast room, for instance.
The hotel is clean, service is good and friendly. Breakfast is okay; not buffet style, but your breakfast is served for you on the table and they gave me everything I needed.
Except for the far distance from town centre there was only one thing more that was negative: if you open the window you hear the noise of the Wallerfangen Strasse, which is a busy road. But there is an apparatus in your room to air that room, so you don't need to open the window. And with windows closed, you hear hardly any traffic noise.
If you like to walk in the surroundings of Saarlouis, and there is plenty of hiking possibilities in Saarland, tell the hotel staff, because they can give you good advise and good maps. Ask for a 'Tafel Tour'!
Restaurant Trampert, the hotel's restaurant, must be excellent, but I preferred the more simple restaurant Schiller not far away on the Wallerfangen Strasse.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

I was booked in here by the company I work for.
The room was clean but my entire party reported a smell of sewage when they first entered their respective rooms.
In the morning I started the water running in the bath. When I went back to check on it the water in the tub was very brown in color.
The television was miniscule, but - no worries - it didn't work anyway.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The smell
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altes Pfarrhaus Beaumarais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altes Pfarrhaus Beaumarais

Address: Hauptstrasse 2-4, 66740 SaarLouis, Saarland, Germany
Location: Germany > Saarland > SaarLouis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in SaarLouis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Altes Pfarrhaus Beaumarais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altes Pfarrhaus Beaumarais Saarlouis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altes Pfarrhaus Beaumarais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.