We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you ask for after a LONG drive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Border Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eucla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Border Village
Save
You added Border Village to your Saves list
Eyre Hwy, Eucla, Western Australia 6443, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Eucla B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What more could you ask for after a LONG drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

After about 1000kms from Esperance, Border Village was a welcomed rest stop. I don't think this place tries to sell itself as 5 star luxury accomodation; and we went in not expecting that. The beds were lumpy, bed linen was clean-ish and tv had a few working channels - all that we were expecting. The important thing was that it was a 40 degree day (I'm sure that's pretty common out there) and the aircon was working!!

Bathroom was clean and shower had good water pressure. Food at the roadhouse was good and service was great. But be prepared to pay for it, it is in the middle of nowhere after all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    30
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
23
27
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I travelled and stayed there in winter and I was surprised by this motel
The room was clean and only had a strip heater but it kept us warm and was quiet too
The petrol station is in the complex. Handy
We found some take away to our room food warm and good
They have a small free entry at your own pace little museum which I found very interesting. Other stuff to see it he area
Visitors are trusted inside on their own.. Self touring
I would recommend this place and would go back again
I was expecting worse as this place sis in the middle of nowhere

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowood Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Accommodation from Caravan/camping, to backpackers rooms, to motel accommodation, to 5 Star self contained unit.

We were travelling in a motorhome.

There is a swimming pool and the Roadhouse has a restaurant and bar.
And to top it off - The Par 3 160m Border Kangaroo hole (part of the Nullarbor Links Golf Course) is right out front.

Recommended stop.

Room Tip: Would recommend the new two bedroom villas for families. Caravaners and campers have access to ablu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed in the new cabins, three adults and our two puppies outside. Very very nice indeed, although maybe a little cramped. Definitely needs an exhaust fan in the toilet!!!!! :) very very nice staff in the pub and an excellent steak to boot. I would definitely stay there again. After having ridden around Australia this year it certainly rates as a good place to stay. Cost is appropriate for this sort of location.

Room Tip: Off the highway - I think they all are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The room was basic, clean but showing its age with the old strip heater on the wall. Kept us warm enough and the bed was comfortable.
Bar and Bistro staff very friendly and the meals were good. Parking seemed to be a problem for some due to the rectangular setup of the groups of rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here at the end of 1000km of driving from Port Augusta, arriving around 8:30pm. There were three male adults in our party and we booked a family room that had a double, a single and a bunk bed.

First impressions of the room were that is was very basic, but one doesn't expect too much in the middle of nowhere after a long day of sitting in a car. The room did not appear spotless but then it was probably more from the dated room rather than there actually being physical dirt.

We ducked over to the pub for a dinner before the 9pm cut off. The serving sizes were generous and reasonably priced considering the locality and monopoly held over us.

The beds were not the most comfortable I've slept in. I chose to use my own pillow due to the recurring theme of thick, firm pillows which leave a bad taste in my mouth. Each to their own. The room (#7) had a wall mounted A/C unit and a separate heater unit (with a fan). The A/C unit is very loud and I could not use it overnight as it would have drove the others mad. I was stuck with the fan portion of the heater unit which didn't provide the relief I was seeking that night.

A large can of bug spray is provided on the bench. There were plenty of mosquitoes in the room but it was unclear how many were there to begin with and how many my father let in by leaving the door ajar at night whilst we unpacked.

Overall the room just met our needs but you cannot afford to be fussy in this part of the country. Eucla and Mundrabilla are the other alternatives. I have not stayed at Eucla but did stay at Mundrabilla on our earlier (opposite) leg of the journey. The rooms are marginally more inviting at Border Village and there are probably a greater range of facilities and services here too. But there is possibly a premium associated with it too. I am guessing the three hotels are similar and as such your experience is probably not going to vary too great regardless of where you stay. As such don't kill yourself trying to make it to one stay over the others.

Border Village did not have any mobile phone reception for us. There were pay phones around the far side of the roadhouse. There was also no internet access that we could establish.

Room Tip: The walls appear quite thin so perhaps when booking ask for a room on the end of any group (in our c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night on our trip across the Nullarbor. Rooms are sufficient for a stop over - dated and a bit small but clean and quiet. Ate at the adjoining pub - very expensive but minimal other options. Would stay at the motel again as it seems to be above standard compared to other places nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Border Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Border Village

Address: Eyre Hwy, Eucla, Western Australia 6443, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Eucla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eucla
Number of rooms: 35

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Border Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.