We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but boring” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dorint Parkhotel Bad Neuenahr

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dorint Parkhotel Bad Neuenahr to your Saves list
Dorint Parkhotel Bad Neuenahr
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Dahliengarten 1 | Hardtstr. 2a, 53474 Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Beyrouth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but boring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hotel is nice but boring and the surroundings are also boring. Nothing to do... Only for having a walk, a rest and seminars. Wine is good in the area. Food is acceptable. Not recommended for going out, dancing, nightlife and having fun. It would be preferable to stay in Cologne and rent a car to go there if you are attending trainings or seminars.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    43
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
11
30
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ponte di Piave, Italy
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Dorint Parkhotel is certainly a good hotel for large conferences or congresses, not for single winter travellers. It is an enormous 5 or 6 floors complex, plus a congress centre.
It is surrounded by a nice park, perfect for some jogging, but it would be great to have at least a small fitness centre in such a big hotel.
Very professional staff at the restaurant, dinner was very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boskoop
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We were with a group and had fortunately a full program outside the hotel in september 2011. The most important for us was a clean and quite room, a good bed an breakfast and these were the only things that was good about this hotel. When we checked in we got a very rude answer from a young blond female receptioniste and not only to us, but to a lot of guests before us. Every question seems to much work for her! For us we didn't bother because we only slept and had breakfast (good and various choises) in the hotel. The enviremont is beautiful especially when you like to walk,

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

My partner and I stayed in the Dorint hotel for a long weekend as a birthday treat for me. The hotel is not 4 stars but more like 3, although the staff was reasonably friendly and helpful.

We also booked a set of treatment in the Beaty Farm, which belongs to the hotel. This was unfortunately a rather disappointing experience and we both left feeling like we were ripped off. The treatments we had were - full body massage, bath in algae and manicure and pedicure for me.

The area is relaxing and we did get explained by the beaty salon owner what procedures we get and even got a glass of champaigne. However, it all went downhill from there. The massage was not a massage at all but instead the beautician applied loads of oil all over out bodies without massaging it in. For a full body massage this took maybe 20 minutes where you would normally need over an hour to make sure the muscles are heated up and you can work with them better. Also the massage did not include feet and hands and scalp, which I would normally expect so overall a poor experience. The algae bath was quite nice although as we were the last people there, the staff was keen to get rid of us so cut the bath rather short. I felt like few more minutes would be nice.

Manicure and pedicure was a similar experience. Despite asking to have my nails painted she said there was no time and did not even tidy up the dry skin around my nails. All was just like the massage focused on putting cream on my hands but not a real manicure. Pedicure equally disappointing as no peeling, just foot bath and cream. The pedicurist did paint my nails but did not apply undercoat or overcoat or drying layer so my nails took ages to dry and even 3 hours later when I went to bed, I woke up in the morning with the nails having duvet prints on them. I freuquently have similar treatments done and would class this as a below average experience. Definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler hotels

Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Hotel is located in a very nice surrounding. A river next to the hotel and there is a walking route when you walk out of the hotel. The breakfast is excellent!! A lot of choices. Fresh orange juice.. yummy. If you don't want to eat at the hotel, there are quite some choices in the town center. Just 5 minutes walk and you reach the town center. There is a spa at the hotel but there is even a bigger one in town. Also it's easy to go by train to have a day out to Bonn. Only 30 minutes by train and you could buy a welcome card at local travel center and that includes train ticket and entrance to different museum, castles...etc.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nibehr, Managementmitarbeiter at Dorint Parkhotel Bad Neuenahr, responded to this review, June 22, 2010
Dear Sirs,

thank your for your rating. Very nice how you explain the region.
We would be delighted to welcome back to our hotel.

Kind regards

Dorint Parkhotel Bad Neuenahr
Nicole Behr
eCommerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

Reception staff were disinterested to learn that one of my party (my brother-in-law) had recently died and wouldn't be joining us. Their response: "You can't have a refund"! We knew that, we were just informing them so they could update their records. A little sympathy wouldn't have hurt.

Also, we found it impossible to reserve a table for our evening meal. We tried for three nights and couldn't succeed.

It's a shame because the location was lovely, next to a park and the river Ahr, and the hotel was very plush.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

This hotel is a no-no. We had booked a long weekend package (including welcome dinner and cocktails) here but the receptionist rudely dismissed this and claimed the booking was for rooms only. We had to call back and forth to our booking office ourselves (the receptionist wouldn't do it) to prove we were right, after which they dumped us in the far corner of the restaurant for dinner.
We're afraid that this unfriendly and condescending behaviour towards guests was the standard among the staff. When ordering drinks at the bar (after having waited for 20 minutes in vain for a waitress to show up), the bartender snapped at us that we were to stay put at our table. Although we mentioned our room number when ordering, he shouted at us when we got up to leave, claiming this was not the way people behaved 'here in Germany' (!), that maybe we could get away with running off where 'we came from', 'aber nicht hier'.
The rooms are 3-star at best and did not get cleaned (our waste baskets were never emptied, to name but one detail).
The general athmosphere was futher spoiled by the presence of heavily-drinking families not attending their kids (one of the guests even fell through a glass table, completely drunk).
We would never return to this hotel. Given that the area is worth visiting and that the big spa in Bad-Neuenahr is great, we would rather try one of the other nice hotels in the immediate surroundings,

  • Disliked — Unfriendly rude staff
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorint Parkhotel Bad Neuenahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Parkhotel Bad Neuenahr

Address: Am Dahliengarten 1 | Hardtstr. 2a, 53474 Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler
#7 Spa Hotel in Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint Parkhotel Bad Neuenahr 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meeting and conference hotel "in the green" with capacity of up to 800 people, the hotel's own congress hall with about 640 square meters and 5.5 Meters ceiling height. Another 20 fully air-conditioned meeting rooms are available at the Dorint Parkhotel Bad Neuenahr. An event location in the midst of the dahlia garden and on the Ahr located. The hotel team plans and organizes the time in the hotel and throughout the Ahr valley for special meetings, different conventions or special corporate events. In particular, the conference topics "health" and "days in the fresh air" are placed in the focus. The good transport links to the A61 and close to Bonn and Cologne should be mentioned as another advantage. 238 Room units with 450 beds and 600 catering courses in interior and exterior, two sun terraces, a bar and a large wellness area with swimming pool, sauna and beauty offer plenty of space to relax and unwind after a hard day's work. The fantastic location in the middle of the dahlia garden and the short distance to the city center, the casino and the spa also attract holidaymakers. Several catering units with regional and international cuisine pamper guests with culinary delights. For families with children, the Dorint Parkhotel Bad Neuenahr offers just enough opportunities for relaxation and recreation. In addition to a settled home in children's play area is in the dahlia garden a large adventure playground. In the indoor play area with adjoining family lounge particularly the younger guests are happy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dorint Parkhotel Bad Neuenahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Parkhotel Bad Neuenahr Germany/Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorint Parkhotel Bad Neuenahr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.