We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Hotel Bad Neuenahr

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Hotel Bad Neuenahr to your Saves list
Steigenberger Hotel Bad Neuenahr
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurgartenstrasse 1, 53474 Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Keerbergen, Belgium
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awful experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We arrived the 30th of June 2012. Room# 386. After entering the room, my spouse observed a brown patch upon the little sofa before the TV. After examination, it was obvious that (excuse me the word) it was faecal pollution. It is an understatement to state that my wife was really disgusted (Five Star Hotel). Immediately, I warned the reception desk who send the lady of the housekeeping. I'd like to say that this lady, personally confronted with this nasty situation, handled it very professionally and evacuated the whole sofa herself, accompanied with a lot of apologies. But, apart from this lady, afterwards, we didn't hear anything from the reception desk, neither from a duty manager or a staff member. For them, it was clearly un fait divers, something that was solved. For us however, it was the beginning of a spoiled stay. Afterwards my wife discovered other patches on the dispenser of the toilet paper. Same stuff, off course... Immediately after this awful weekend, I wrote an email to the general manager of the hotel, Mr. Huettig, to make my complaints. In an email he made his apologizes and stated "that he felt sorry that our stay was ruined because of the faecal pollution in our room. Furthermore, he assured us that this was not the usual standard of his hotel and that he had (!) a serious conversation with the Housekeeping Manager". The best is still coming: "he expressed the hope to welcome us again (!) in his hotel in spite of our reclamation to convince us of the qualities of the hotel after all. As a sign of his regret (!) and as compensation (!) he offered us an upgrade for our next stay (!) free of charge (!) to a higher category and a VIP treatment in the room (???)". I felt so disappointed about this unprofessional and rude approach, that I sent the whole mail correspondence to Mr. Heck, CEO of the Steigenberger Group in Frankfurt. I am still awaiting any reaction...

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    64
    29
    10
    4
See reviews for
10
70
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Lovely grand hotel in a beautiful area. Although our room was fairly small it was clean and functional. The staff were all warm and friendly and the food during all meals was excellent. The breakfast especially was a real treat with all the great German breads

The hotel is attached to the Ahr Spa resort and for a small fee you can use all the facilities. As well as all the pools and whirlpools they have a fantastic sauna section. However be aware that this section is both co-ed and naked so some people might be too inhibited to enjoy. The saunas are different heats and conditions. Upstairs there is a garden area with more log cabin saunas and this is completely private so you can go au-natural outdoors as well. Wonderful place once you get over the initial shock of everyone being nude !!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoutleeuw
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We spent 2 nights here for a business conference in early Feb and stayed in one of the freshly refurbished rooms. Steigenberger is continuously investing in this property, and this shows through the overall good condition of the areas we saw.

Reception was efficient, very friendly and helpful as was staff overall. Our room turned out to be very spacious, well appointed and offered all the 5-star and modern-day amenities one can expect.

The hotel itself is a grand old building, which sits on the bank of the local river and oozes class. There are also extensive conference facilities, as well as an extensive Spa and Wellness area to indulge in.

The town itself has a nice 'small town' feel to it and offers many eateries and shopping within easy walking distance from the hotel. The region is known for its vineyards and beautiful rolling hills. It must be stunning to go there in spring or the warmer time of the year in general...when we were there it was -10.

Overall, we also felt that the cost / benefit ration for this hotel was right on the money, and we got a lot of value. A recommended property for sure both for the tourist and business traveler seeking either a romantic week-end getaway or quick highway access to Bonn, Köln (Cologne) or Koblenz,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

During the night from Saturday January 8th to Sunday January 9th 2011 my brother and I stayed one night in Steigenberger Hotel Bad Neuenahr. We were on our way to Austria to spend our Wintersports Holidays.
We arrived rather late, just a couple of minutes before nine o’clock, but we still could have a small souper in the restaurant. We enjoyed a wonderful meal!
Parking was not a problem, for we were alowed to put our car in front of the main entrance.
The Steinberger Hotel Bad Neuenahr is a very German, stylish and dignified hotel, and so are the rooms and the service. We presume that the building has been in former times a kind of hospital or sanatorium, on account of the white walls and the big areas.
The entrance of the hotel is very nearby the old and cosy centre of Bad Neuenahr. You only have to cross the bridge over the wild flowing River the Ahr.
The rooms have a very reasonable size and the bathrooms are quite modern, with floor-heating, walk-in showers and lots of glass. The beds were super. We slept very well.
The generous, well-kept and extensive breakfast buffet has given us enough power to continue our further trip in to the direction of the snow.
We certainly shall pay a visit this striking hotel again in future!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Location is perfect. Breakfastbuffet is large.

We verry much enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Staff is verry friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

This old, rich with history and absolutely beautiful hotel is defnitely worth a stay. The single room was simply appointed, clean but a tad on the small side (not the end of the world). The service at the hotel was first class -- if I had a bone to pick it would be about the parking, or better said the lack of it. It is a bit of a walk from the public park deck to the reception area. I thought the food, the ambience and the general character of the facility were splendid. I enjoy it my two days there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Great updated room with mini bar/fridge. Everything seemed new and worked well.

Glass door on the toilet room could be changed to a non see through door.

Breakfast had a good selection with great service.

Parking was a distance but a value as compared to other hotels we have stayed at.

We struggled with pillow "Origami" to get sleep.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Bad Neuenahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Bad Neuenahr

Address: Kurgartenstrasse 1, 53474 Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler
#2 Spa Hotel in Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Hotel Bad Neuenahr 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Hotel is located in one of the most northern wine regions in Germany, only 25 kilometres away from Bonn, just in the town centre of Bad Neuenahr, right at the River Ahr and within walking distance to the Casino. 218 Rooms in different categories are spacious and elegantly furnished. The 17 function rooms have a capacity for up to 800 people for meetings, conferences and celebrations. All function rooms are fitted with modern conference technology. W-LAN is available throughout the hotel. In the adjoining Ahr-Resort you will find the wellness centre, the beauty centre, the medical fitness studio and the Ahr-Thermen, one of the most impressive thermal bath in Germany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Escapio, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Bad Neuenahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Bad Neuenahr Germany/Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Hotel Bad Neuenahr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.