We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legendary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Michel Mort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Michel Mort to your Saves list
Hotel Michel Mort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eiermarkt 9, 55545 Bad Kreuznach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bad Kreuznach
Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Legendary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had many a surreal moment in this town.This place is amazing and the epitome of German hospitality.The bells of the local church have heralded many an occasion including the wedding of Karl Marx.Worth checking out and within easy reach of Frankfurt Flughenhoffen by rail.The wines of the Moselle still beckon many a weary wanderer

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, Oregon
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

this was the last of 6 places where we stayed during our recent 2 week trip in Germany. We had stayed there numerous times, and have never been disappointed. The rooms are smallish, but doable for 2 people. Getting in and out of the bathtub ( its a deep soaking tub) is somewhat of a challenge for a 77 yr old, but good exercise:) Our friends had a room on a different floor, and I think we will ask for that next time. Our bed was a double, but put against the wall, therefore a bit hard to get in and out of during the night for bathroom trips. If you detect a theme here: yes, bathrooms are important to senior travellers:(
the place is always spotlessly clean, the staff friendly and helpful, the breakfasts outstanding. We lke the 'ambiance' of the place, its location at the Eier Markt and reasonable prices. We managed to snag a parking spot in their limited area most days, but once had to park by the church and feed a meter until the 'free' nighttime parking kicked in. Its a very walkable town, so leaving the car once you have a spot is a good idea.
Restaurants are plentiful, and I will review these yet. Also, I think Bad Kreuznach is underrated as a good springboard for traintrips to Trier, Rhine and Mosel Valley. Always nice to come back to the Michel Mort and a nightcap in their bar. The nearby Markt is an added bonus if you happen to catch it. I think our fresh fruit in the morning came from there. So did the eggs.
We will return!

Room Tip: the double bed in our room was put against the wall and made it a bit awkward to get in and out, es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had amazing time at Hotel Michel Mort. We stayed there for 3 nights and we would go there again. Rooms were on the smaller scale than other place I been to, but it was really comfortable. We had enough space for two in the room. We ate breakfast twice and the food was amazing. Overall I liked the Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our room was of a good size and well appointed. The whole hotel has a nice air about it - the bar and reception areas are furnished with lovely mahogany type wood which had been transported from an Irish church a few decades ago. The staff are pleasant and efficient - the young hotel owner is very friendly. The restaurant is no longer run as such, but there is a bar serving some nice Nahe wines. Breakfast was extremely good.
Drivers of larger vehicles need to be wary when locating the parking places at the side of the hotel - the approach is through narrow streets and in busy times there may not be spare places (room for about 7 cars only)
The narrow streets mean that other houses and apartments are in close proximity to the hotel so there is a little bit of noise but not enough to detract from a good night's sleep. After all, it is in the centre of the town, and all is delightfully convenient for restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 198 cities Reviews in 198 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Nice, comfortable old place; best located of the Kreuznach hotels if you favor picturesque old towns; limited parking, and you’ll have to plan ahead if you expect to drive up to it; some street noise (no cars, but loud people in the narrow streets); no elevator, but free wi-fi; and the first hotel room I found in Germany with a fan in it (unfortunately, the ten-day heat wave had ended by the time I arrived here). Overall, I was satisfied; and would return. And while Kreuznach itself is probably not worth visiting for its own sake - the small old town gets pretty dead at night - if you need to be within an hour of Frankfurt airport (toward the southwest), it makes a good last-night stopover, safely away from the traffic, noise, and urban sprawl of the Rhein-Main region.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The Hotel is tucked away in the middle of town off the beaten path - gps may take you in circles. As you walk to the hotel, you may begin to regret your decision based on the exterior appearance. As you walk in and begin your check in, your feeling will change immediately. The two young gentlemen that serve you are professional, courteous, and go the extra mile. The rooms are VERY clean, comfortable, and good size for the money you pay. The breakfast is outstanding and worth the price you pay. This hotel is within walking distance of both new and old Bad Kreuznach. They have a small parking lot for about 7 cars free of charge. The hotel does not serve lunch or dinner, but tons of restaurant nearby and several next door. You should know that the hotel rooms do not have air conditioning and there's no elevators. I would stay again at this hotel when I return to Bad Kreuznach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We stayed here one night in order to be able to visit Nahe wineries. Local is a bit out of the way and slightly hard to find. The rooms were a bit small with low ceilings. The rooms had old wooden beams which added character. We asked for non smoking room and yet our room had been smoked in. The staff were helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was nice. Overall we were satisfied but not over impressed

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Michel Mort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Michel Mort

Address: Eiermarkt 9, 55545 Bad Kreuznach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bad Kreuznach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bad Kreuznach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Michel Mort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Michel Mort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Michel Mort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.