We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value , excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alla Fontana

Alla Fontana
Pumpengasse 5, 56329 Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
06741 96117
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 19 Restaurants in Sankt Goar
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
home
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great value , excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We ate here at the recommendation of a woman we met at the wine shop on the main street. She is Italian and swore by this place; she was 2100% correct. We had excellent pasta and veal and the pizzas being served around us looked great as did the salads. Everything was fresh and homemade.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Slowest service ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Waited for menus, waited for order to taken, waited for drinks, waited over 30 mins for two pizzas. No service check, had to asked twice for bill .... Food ok: but not worth the 90 minutes.... Yes: 90 minutes....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My family loves German food, but we also love German Italian food. There's a reason why "Pizzaessen" is a big deal in Germany. Most Italian restaurants are much more authentic than in the U.S. Alla Fontana did not disappoint. In German fashion, we had our own pizzas, which were fresh and excellent.

It seemed fairly common to need reservations at this restaurant, but we were able to walk in after the lunch rush. However, service was a little slow. Only one woman seemed to be working the front, and she had to clear several tables before she got around to even giving us menus.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best Italian I've had in Germany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stopped in here for lunch after the Rhine cruise from Bingen. This was recommended by Rick Steves and Italian sounded good. We were not disappointed. My husband had tortellini and I had penne with smoked salmon in a cream sauce. YUM! Good thing this restaurant isn't just around the corner from us or I might be here a little too often : )

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“not very welcoming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I went here solo one night on our host's recommendation. I was not impressed. The place is small. The service is very cold and very slow. I was asked if people could join me. It was awkward, but what could I say? It wasn't terrible, but awkward. The food wasn't good enough to negate my poor opinion. Pizzeria Corazon on the main street is cheaper, better and the staff is nice!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alla Fontana also viewed

Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate
Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate
Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Alla Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alla Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.