We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven for wine lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ketschauer Hof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ketschauer Hof to your Saves list
Hotel Ketschauer Hof
Ketschauerhofstrasse 1, 67146 Deidesheim, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Deidesheim
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Heaven for wine lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect Weekend-Trip into the Pfalz.
Ketschauer Hof is one of the most notable hotels besides the very traditional Deidesheimer Hof within the Pfalz wine region,
whereas Ketschauer Hof is offering a more modern and chic set-up in comparison.
Also from a price/ value perspective Ketschauer Hof provides the best.
The standard room is very nice and was already equipped with a jacuzzi tub including TV/ Hifi system in the bathroom.
Very nice complementary gadgets, such as local wine, water, snacks, etc.
All wellness facilities (sauna, indoor pool, gym) of the sister-hotel Kaisergarten can be used for free.
You should plan your trip to the Ketschauer Hof ideally visiting one of the nice Weinfests, or the lovely christmas market.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimReuter, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Ketschauer Hof, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear "Horstholl",

Thank you very much for your very positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are definitely looking forward welcoming you again in Deidesheim.

Best regards,
Tim Reuter & the team of Ketschauer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
29
1
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Celle, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had an enjoyable stay in this lovely hotel. The rooms are decorated in a beautiful, modern design, albeit a little cramped for two. There were lots of extras, such as a free minibar, a good selection of teas and snacks, and a turn-down service with truffles. The level of the hotel was let down a little by the service; however, which was pleasant, but not particuarly helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We arrived at the quiet Deisdeheim village ( 30 km from Heidelberg) and quickly found the Ketschauer Hof hotel. It is composed of a main historical building with the apartments,a huge and lovely garden and two excellent restaurants on this garden.Our room was absolutely gorgeous with lots of welcome treats ( chocolates and wine) , a wonderful and comfortable bed and a big hot tub at the bathroom just in front of two big windows . The hotel has also a very good sauna and a spa. Breakfast is also amazing, and it is taken on the old cellar from the main house.Just in front of the hotel they have a cooking school from the gourmet restaurant (Freundstuck) and it was a shame I have not known it before once I love cooking!!!I would definitely stay at this hotel again!,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had a junior suite and it turned out to be an excellent choice. Very spacious and really shining, very well-kept. In white colours, furniture brandnew. Very comfortable, bed fantastic and cosy. Staff is polite and friendly. Parking was no problem, just 2 minutes away fee acceptable.
Another story were the restaurants. The bistro "Bassermännchen" was very good at low prices.The 1-star Michelin "Freundstück" though was disappointing and can not be recommended. Limited choice of 2 menues (no a la carte service), minimum of 4 courses, waiting time in total 4 hours that means 1 hour per course. And to make it worse- descriptions of ingredients could not tasted. Red cabbage from the menu position was a red ring around the plate that tasted like chewing gum and so on.
Consequence: enjoy the hotel but eat elsewhere..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KH67146, Manager at Hotel Ketschauer Hof, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear "tucano"

Thank you for taking your time to comment your stay at the Ketschauer Hof on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and in our bistro Bassermännchen.

I am very sorry that you were disappointed about the experience in our gourmet restaurant Freundstück. The waiting period between the menu courses are by far too long and are not our standard at all.

It's correct that we do offer two 7 course menus and one 10 course surprise menu.
All 14 dishes out of our two menus can also ordered as a single dish, which means that our guests are not forced to eat at least 4 courses. The Freundstück team is always happy to fullfil each guest wish even it is not on the menu.

It would be a great please if you give us at your next visit the chance to convince you with the quality and the service of our restaurant Freundstück. Please do not hesitate to contact me myself at s.steuber@ketschauer-hof.com if you come to visit us next time.

The entire Ketschauer Hof team wishs you a peaceful festive season and a happy new year.
With warm regards

Sebastian Steuber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in June for 1 night. Welcome service, parking, room, location of the hotel were all excellent. The hotel's design is a successful marriage of contemporary styles with the original property. The garden where restaurants are located is lovely, as is the rest of the town of Deidesheim -- a paradise for any Pfalz wine lover, with an almost magical ambiance. However, when we were there, the menu at the hotel's restaurant for dinner was limited to Spanish-style tapas dishes, and while it was an admirable effort in experimentation by the chefs, most of the dishes we were served were missing the bold flavors that make Spanish tapas so delicious. Moreover, these dishes did not pair well with the region's wines -- an oversight, considering that the main attraction of Deisdesheim are the excellent wines produced there. No doubt the restaurant has long ago mastered dishes to pair with Pfalz rieslings, and the menu should at least include those dishes alongside the forays into other cuisines. We ended up having dinner at another restaurant in town -- there are plenty of options right around the hotel. Other than the restaurant menu that night, a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Don't think you can go wrong with any room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KH67146, Manager at Hotel Ketschauer Hof, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear yaneh

thank you for taking your time sharing your positive experience at the Ketschauer Hof in Deidesheim on TripAdvisor.

We are very delighted that you enjoyed the ambience and the service we are offering. Thank you also for your honest feedback in regards to our Bistro "Bassermännchen". It is important for us to recieve such helpful comments as yours to improve constantly our products and services.

Currently we are adapting our menu, very soon we will offer our guests Tapas dishes as well as a great choice out of regional and classical dishes.
The new menu will provide for each and everybody a delicous meal for a reasonable price.

It would be a great pleasure for us if you will visit us again next time you are around Deidesheim.

We wish you a very happy festive season and remain
with warm regards
Sebastian Steuber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Having just accepted a position in Germany, we landed in Deidesheim, we chose to stay at the Ketschauer Hof for almost a month with 15 bags of luggage, and our tabby cat. Immediatlely, we received an incredibly warm welcome which represents Germany at its best. There is something for everyone at the hotel, from the luxurious spa, to the amazing Michelin starred restaurant or the bistro, which we ate at. Of course, the rooms have a classic yet edgy feel to them. To start, on our second day, after a breakfast fit for the "Kaiser" which includes everything from homemade jam to lox, the hotel manager Alexander, gave us a private tour of the wine cellar that has bottles dating back to the mid 1800s. After about a week, one of the girls who worked there, Sarah, offered to take my teenage daughter shopping in Mannheim. What a generous offer! Over the summer, we became friends many of the girls who work there. This is just the tip of the iceberg, but either way the Ketschauer Hof takes the golden bear!
-Sir Michael and Lady Wendy Massa

Room Tip: If posssible, choose the side purple building, which is close to the garden, parking lot, and breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KH67146, Manager at Hotel Ketschauer Hof, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Lady Wendy,
dear Sir Michael,

thank you for your very positive comment about your stay on TripAdvisor.com.
It was a great pleasure for us to host you at the Ketschauer Hof and to help you to settle down in your new home.

Please let us know if we can assist you, no matter in which purpose.
We hope to see you soon again here in Deidesheim.

With warm regards from the entire Ketschauer Hof team,
Sebastian Steuber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Fantastic hotel with an even better restaurant

Pros:
- very nice, white and modern guest rooms;
- great bathrooms;
- very friendly service;
- small, but nice Spa area;
- great breakfast;
- gourmet restaurant Freundstück is one of the best I have eaten in so far (at least on the evening I was there - had mixed reviews in the family)

Cons:
- a bit on the expensive side

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ketschauer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ketschauer Hof

Address: Ketschauerhofstrasse 1, 67146 Deidesheim, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Deidesheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Deidesheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ketschauer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ketschauer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.