We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, best food for at least 10 years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Ratingen

Villa Ratingen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Ratingen to your Saves list
Villa Ratingen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sohlstaettenstrasse 66, 40880 Ratingen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Ratingen
Surrey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic, best food for at least 10 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I am amazed by the previous reviewer’s comments. I stayed for 2 nights at this place. My room was large, clean & in perfect (as new) condition.

I had steak to eat on the first night and fish on the second night. Both meals were very different but equally fantastic, They are the best meals I have eaten in the last 10 years.

I personally think it is extremely arrogant to expect everybody in foreign hotels to speak perfect English. I ALWAYS try to learn at least just a few words in the local language & always take a phrase book with me. I have been travelling in my work for 32 years and have visited 21 countries in this time. This has always worked well for me.

However, the owner was Italian. He spoke perfect English, German & I guess Italian. I was told that he also spoke French & Spanish although I did not witness this. The guy in reception also spoke perfect English and so did the waitress/barmaid. All were very friendly & had a very good sense of humour. I don’t think I could ask for much more than this!

The price was less than half the price of the previous ‘Posh International Hotel’ that I stayed in about 2Km away on my last visit. I will definitely be staying at the Villa Ratingen when I am next in this area

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
1
1
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Very dissapointing. The hotel description did not match what was written on their website or the information that was submitted to lastminute.com. I arrived in the morning. The place smelt bad, the wallpaper in the hallways was all stained and it was very dark (even in daylight!) The "luxury" rooms are not luxurious so dont hold your breathe. The owner tries to say that their annex is new from 2008, but from looking at the decor and the standard, you could easily mistake it for being from 1988. Sorry, unable to give a decent recommendation here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Was there on a business trip, and stayed for 2 nights. Hotels was clean and beds were ok. The staff was very friendly, but a lack of spoken english. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

good family hotel run by Italian family; room rather big and clean, good breackfast, dinner in restaurant also worth to give a try. good price-qaulity report

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Ratingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ratingen

Address: Sohlstaettenstrasse 66, 40880 Ratingen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Ratingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Ratingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ratingen 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Ratingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Ratingen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.