We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Bad Bentheim Bentheimer Hof

Hampshire Hotel - Bad Bentheim Bentheimer Hof
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Bad Bentheim Bentheimer Hof to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Bad Bentheim Bentheimer Hof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhof Nord 1 | Bad Bentheim, Weser - Ems, 48455 Nordhorn, Lower Saxony, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Nordhorn
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Loved the place (and the town and forests). For our party of 3 got an older room as 'single' on 2nd floor (twin beds) and a newly renovated room as double on ground floor. The double is impressive for the price paid, with e.g. large bed, modern furniture, and bathroom has both tub and shower cabin; if not for the lack of coffee/tea making it would be worth 4-stars. Perfect soundproof windows, so any past review about train noise (it's nextdoor to the station and actually a converted old station building) is either outdated due to renovation or shows a princess-on-a-pea attitude.
Breakfast good 3-star, with limited hot food; restaurant is a bit packed (too many tables for the limited, but atmosphere-rich, space). Dinner was included in halfboard and a decent set menu, apparently when it gets more busy replaced by buffet. Friendly staff, speaks also well enough English and Dutch.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are renovated and the best; them being on front side does not lead to more noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at the Bentheimer Hof for two nights. We booked a package deal through an intermediary, including breakfast and dinner. The room was reasonable, but a bit run down, and the beds were terrible: they should have been replaced a while ago. Breakfast is very simple and standard two star level. The first night we paid extra for a menu Gare du Nord. Chef Kevin Scheper was able to cook at a reasonably high level ( apart from some dreadful mistakes like a bland dessert, a combination of a sharp mango icecream and an extremely bland chocolate mousse) yet he clearly is not able to prepare a decent and simple pasta dish. The ingredients were of poor quality, the bread tasted like chewing gum, and soup and desert were clearly made from yesterdays leftovers. The pasta was horrible, dark and sticky. This is the kind of difference you can't explain to your customers anymore, and when we complained we were not taken seriously because we had booked a package deal. Guests should be warned that the chef of this restaurant is the prententious kind of cook who is not even able te serve a simple pasta dish the way it should be served, and apparently loses all interest in the quality of a simple meal when guests are not paying the extra amount for a special menu. A real shame, and he and the family that is reponsible for this hotel should go back to school to learn what true hospitality is about. This was once and never again!

Room Tip: Be warned: when dinner is included in you rate you should order from the menu instead and pay a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nordhorn hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This old train station has been turned in to a hotel, the surroundings are nice with a large piece of forest right behind it for some walking or running. It's about 10 minutes by foot from the city center.

The rooms are decent, enough space. The bathroom is OK with a separate shower. TV set with both German and Dutch channels. Because the location of the hotel in right off the Dutch border you can sometimes even speak Dutch if your German isn't that good. Wi-FI is available so just ask at the reception.
Breakfast had a good choice of bread, yoghurt and serials.

My only word of criticism would be the bus yard that is right off the hotel so you can't sleep with the room open because the buses will keep you awake. The trains itself didn't bother me at all because they go very slow passing the hotel.

In the city there isn't a lot to do other then go to the castle. This castle shows its own history and the link to the Dutch royalty. Because we were there early this year and it was still cold we popped down to the little bars that are all close to the castle for some drinks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed there for one night and its a nice cosy hotel. Being next to the Railway you may think, you hear the trains, but the windows are very sound proof so you can sleep. I had a very nice Room (ask for room 31!) with LOADS of space and a huge bed. Thank god the hotel has Free Wifi, so you can organize stuff while you stay there. Rooms and Bar are very clean and tidied up. At the Restraurant you can see a little train on the Ceiling, which I thought was very nice. Excellent night I had and I would recommend it again!

Room Tip: Room 31 was nice and huge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg,Germany
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nice and romantic hotel in ourskirts Bad Bentheim. Rooms are spacious and clean. Restaurant serve great food and the bar has good and small menus for inbetween.
Suggestion to use the nearby Theme - Friday evenings open late and in the winter it is really cool. Possiblity to see the fortress of Bad Bentheim, but not withing walking distance.
Only issue are the passing trains.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hampshire Hotel  - Bad Bentheim “Bentheimer Hof ” is located 10 minutes
over the dutch/german border from Oldenzaal, beside the Bentheimer Forest in Germany. Next to the autobahn but no noise from it. Smooth check in (no unnecessary ID copies and stuff). When we booked our room we asked for a infant bed for our 6 month old. No infant bed was put in the room. They had no beds available. They gave us a option to put a matrass on the ground(?) Worked fine for our baby, but I think there are people/babies who could make a fuss about it.

Hotel is a 15/20 minute walk away to the old town and the "famous" fortress. Within 10 steps from the hotel entrance you walk into the woods. We ordered room service for diner and breakfast. Diner was o.k a little bit overpriced as always in hotel restaurants so I can't blame them. Breakfast was ordered night before and delivered right on time the next morning. Romantic four-poster bed in a colony style room. For us (staying one night) this was all that we could asked for. Staff looked friendly and motivated and not afraid to smile. Check out was smooth also! We come back someday cause this is perfect getaway hotel for one or two nights!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We picked the hotel for its proximity to the train station (on the other side of the tracks, which is not as straightforward to get to). However, it is at least a 20-25min walk to the historic center. The hotel is rather run-down for the price it charges.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Bad Bentheim Bentheimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Bad Bentheim Bentheimer Hof

Address: Bahnhof Nord 1 | Bad Bentheim, Weser - Ems, 48455 Nordhorn, Lower Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Nordhorn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Nordhorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Bad Bentheim Bentheimer Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Bad Bentheim Bentheimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Bad Bentheim Bentheimer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.