We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel - nothing special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Steinsgarten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Steinsgarten to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Steinsgarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hein Heckroth Strasse 20, 35390 Giessen, Hesse, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BREAKFAST INCLUDED!
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Giessen
Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Decent hotel - nothing special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel for one night - the size of the (single) room was decent, and it offered everything that you would expect from a hotel of this type. There is a small safe, a mini-bar (with reasonable prices), of course a TV and quite a bit of reading material about Giessen and the area in the room. The bathroom was fully equipped with toiletries, a hairdryer and the like.
Breakfast was fine - with fresh ingredients and plenty of choice. The only drawback is the usual German-style filter coffee - an espresso-machine-based version would be much preferable.
There is free internet, but the connection didn't seem to be particularly fast. There's also free parking right next to the hotel.
On the whole, this hotel is nothing particularly special - but it is above average.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
5
6
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I visited the hotel on business.
In July, with 32.5 ° C.
Without air conditioning,
my room had no air conditioning even for a fee.
Certainly clean, but hot, really hot!
I think that Best Wester must learn to accommodate in Germany
Dinner good, but The service buffet type Aurum Hotel, just did not expect.
The waiter forgot to us.
I said everything

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Giessen hotels

California, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I have stayed here a few times now over the last few years and in general, this is a very nice place: The rooms are clean, nice, well-kept, and more spacious than those of many other hotels in Europe; free WLAN is available; there is a pool; the breakfast buffet is very good (!) and I also like it for dinners. There is only one piece of advice I think I should offer to people: ask for a room whose windows face in the direction of the city, i.e. back in the direction of Ludwigsplatz/Kongresshalle. The rooms in other direction have the windows opening up to a street with sometimes noisy traffic AND a frat house (Corps Teutonia). The last time I stayed there over a warm (!) weekend, I had the choice between a closed window and silence or cooler air and a whole evening and the next afternoon full of frat house morons partying, getting drunk, singing, smashing bottles etc. in their garden. I will point this out to them when I leave. Of course, they can't do anything about the traffic and I may be spoilt there, but the frat house is the only thing - but a major thing - that taints this place, otherwise one of my favorite hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room whose windows face in the direction of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My wife and I are currently staying at the Steinsgarten. We think the hotel is generally great. It is in a nice location, the breakfast buffet is very nice, the hotel seems clean and well maintained. Unfortunately the pool is currently closed for renovations, but we know this happens occasionally. The hotel advertises as being air conditioned. It is - if you want to PAY for it. It is currently quite warm here in Giessen. When my wife and I got in our room it seemed pretty warm. We couldn't figure out how to turn on the air conditioning so we went back down to the front desk. It turns out they wanted 5 Euros per night extra for a remote control to control the air conditioning! They also wanted to charge us for a fan. Wow, I was surprised. But, perhaps this is standard in Europe - we had just not experienced it before. I did complain somewhat vociferously about this to the front desk clerk - to no avail.

Room Tip: If you are traveling in the spring, summer or fall and air conditioning might be important - I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Visited Giessen on a conference, so didn't have much time to look around or use the hotel facilities. But I was quite happy with the service I received. I arrived late, but check in was quick and friendly. I unfortunately missed room service (which stops at 12:30), but the pleasant bar was open until 1:00. The room was very large (for a single) and well furnished. Check out was again quick and friendly and they called me a taxi which arived in a few minutes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
where I'm meant to be
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

Booked the room only the day before via phone after finding the hotel online, great value.
Staff went out of their way to ensure our comfort in our room with 2 children (11 & 9) , the spa was just what we needed after the drive up from Munich. Easy 15min walk through tree lined suburban streets into the quaint town. Glorious view from our room over the town watching the sun set. The internet hotspot was quick and easy to access, the breakfast buffet wholesome.
We came to Giessen as strangers, to get an idea of where my late father-in-law grew up, we left as fans of the town and the hotel.
Our only regret was that we could not stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Steinsgarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Steinsgarten

Address: Hein Heckroth Strasse 20, 35390 Giessen, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Giessen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Giessen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Steinsgarten 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Steinsgarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Steinsgarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.