We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent staff, superb stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Bensheim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Bensheim to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Bensheim
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wormser Strasse 14, 64625 Bensheim, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Lighthouse Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Bensheim
Bilaspur
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent staff, superb stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Hotel beinsheim, was the first hotel which impressed us in our entire europe stay, courtaeous staff, excellent food , what more can you ask for in a foreign stay. their buffet breakfast was excellent, location nice . only thing lacking was may be some moisturisers in the room, for we found none in our entire europe stay. but in toto a vey friendly hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    51
    27
    16
See reviews for
9
32
11
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

It's a lil on the funky side with decor, carpets a lil rough, took me a few minutes to figure out the door lock as you have to hold your key against a small knob that has to be at 9 oclock untill it clicks then move card, turn knob and push. I can feel about 5 springs in my back as I'm typing this. plenty of food and grocery in area though. about 20 parking spaces out back for free. free wifi seems to be working ok as well. very noisy street traffic.love the charteusse tile, bubble wave glass, stainless steel bench seat and the simulated lava lamps, they go good with the 19" tv stuck on the ceiling in the corner thats about 25 years old.

Room Tip: get one as far away from the street as possible and on the opposite side of the grocery store
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The new name of this hotel is Mercure Hotel Bensheim . Excellent hotel, close to the train station,. Great room, bright and clean, excellent breakfast. Specifically mention FELIX from the front desk and Ms. MONFROI from the dining room. Only one comment -TV-was not even one English channel !
Aldi supermarket and good chinese restaurant (7 euro lunch buffet!)by next door.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 329 .Ask for a room far from the railroad
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed at the Lighthouse for 3 nights while attending a workshop in Bensheim.

First of all the Location is really not bad at all a very reasonable 5 min walk to the town center and nearby to a variety of restaurants.

The hotel seems like a mid 90's attempt to be a design(ish) hotel withe some modern touches some of which succeed and others don't. A good example of the not successful part is the mustard yellow tile interior of the bathrooms. The only real problem with the design is that there has been no apparent attempt to update in the last decade and the existing environment from the lobby to the rooms seem a bit worn.

Rooms are smallish and functional with the requisite bed, desk etc. Wireless internet is free and pretty reliable. There were enough electric outlets to support laptop, phone etc but placement was awkward with no plugs by the desk and 4 by the bed. Hmm. Shower in the bath had good pressure but cheap plastic doors reminded me of a truck stop shower stall. Be aware that many of the rooms overlook the train tracks. I had to switch rooms upon arrival as the noise from frequent trains is not a good thing for sleep. The hotel was happy to accommodate the switch.

Breakfast is included and substantial with both hot and cold offerings typical of a better class hotel.

The lobby had a endless fruit basket and coffee service which was a nice touch for a eve or 3am jet lag snack. The service was competent but not particularly welcoming or friendly .

All that said for the price which was low and included breakfast and internet it is hard to seriously complain. Will you be wow'd? No Will you feel like you got a decent hotel at a decent rate? YES... Is it safe, clean etc? Certainly.

Room Tip: Check room to see if it faces train tracks before settling in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensheim, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

The hotel is very clean, rated 3 star yet I would give it 4. Breakfast was very elegant and reach above my expectation. The best surprise was the staekhouse which is a fine dinning experience, very good quility of meat and service

Room Tip: The north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
418 reviews 418 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
396 helpful votes 396 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

The hotel website gives you this description.
“The Lighthouse Hotel is only 3min away off the A5 motorway. You can reach the hotel within 5min walk from the main train station in Bensheim. The old town is just minutes away .
Modern design combined with plenty of colours and puristic shapes, this hotel offers 108 comfortable rooms equipped with air conditioning, shower/bath, hairdryer, cable TV, desk and Wireless Internet for free.. “
I stayed here for two days on a recent sales conference and can translate the above description.
Factually this description is correct, with the possible addition that the old town is just minutes away by very fast car, and you will need to be an Olympic style runner to make the centre of the Old Town in just minutes, as you need to go up and down across the footbridge which gets you to the right side of the numerous train tracks.
Whether you consider the ‘modern design’ to be a positive or not will be open to personal taste. I am old enough to have lived through the 1970’s when this decorative style, with all its garish mixed colour horror, was at its height, and frankly I have no burning ambition to experience it coming back again. Some may find the multi-coloured corridor strip lights to be funky, but I still recoil in horror when seeing walls made out of glass block bricks, which I last saw in the early 80’s when I dismantled the connecting wall in my first flat and took them all down the municipal dump.
But the real fun starts when you enter the room.
Firstly you are affronted by a large lump of aluminium bolted to the wall, on top of which you are meant to store your suitcase. Next to it is a six foot aluminium pole, the purpose of which remained unclear. The wardrobe is a good design being sunken back into the wall and with S shaped sliding designer glass doors. Unfortunately the efficient design is completely undone by the fact that the interior is painted bright orange, which clashes very nicely with the blue patterned carpet.
But the real horror is when you enter the bathroom, which is tiled top to bottom in bright yellow..
It may have been modern to anyone in the early 70’s , but fortunately most of us have moved on from then.
The large old style tube cable TV (apparently flat screen LCD TV’s are not part of modern designer decor here) is bolted to the wall above the desk, sorry I mean the two bits of triangular non-matching overlapping wood, which form a flat surface in the corner of the room, but comes equipped with no power sockets, no phone sockets, no internet sockets, nothing. I guess the ‘desk area’ is what they refer to as puristic. It certainly was not cluttered with anything useful.
Some rooms may offer air-conditioning but mine did not. An air heating system built in does not constitute air conditioning.
Will say the bed was large and comfortable and I slept well. But this appears to be mainly due to the fact that my room was in the smaller wing of the hotel that fronts onto the main street. Several colleagues were situated in the larger wing which runs parallel to the train tracks, and the significance of being just 5 minutes walk from the train station was that they were disturbed by Freight trains rattling through at hourly intervals during the night.
On a positive note the food was very good, both for the breakfast and lunches we had. And the conference facilities on the 5th and 6th floor were up to spec, and the Cupola room on the sixth floor certainly does have an excellent outside decking area which does offer fantastic panoramic views of Bensheim and the Odenwald.
But, although the hotel has two lifts, they are small (max 5 people) and are probably the slowest lifts I have ever encountered, taking several minutes to get up to the sixth floor and back. And only one lift actually goes to the 6th floor, so it would take a significant amount of time to get people from the conference room to the restaurant without resorting to the stairs.
And yes, there is free Wi-Fi, (when it works, which was intermittent for us ), accessed after some laborious process of setting up an account on the hotel web page, but it was so slow it took us back to the bad old days of 56K modems.
Now, the one thing I cannot comment on is the cost, as I did not pay for the room, as it was included in the conference package. And it may be that this hotel is so reasonably priced that the decor and lack of modern facilities become a sense of amusement rather than annoyance. German reviewers on other Hotel booking sights have certainly considered this hotel higher than I have.
But for business travellers I cannot really recommend a stay here, and if you were a visitor to Bensheim, I cannot see why you would choose to stay here instead of one of the other hotels in the centre of the Old Town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Perfectly adequate for a mid range business hotel. It's clean, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean.
There are two restuarants attached to the hotel - a Thai and an Italian. I only tried the Italian which was fine.
It is a ten minute walk into the pretty town centre where there are additional eating and drinking options.
The front desk staff were very frendly and helpful

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Bensheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Bensheim

Address: Wormser Strasse 14, 64625 Bensheim, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Lighthouse Hotel)
Location: Germany > Hesse > Bensheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Bensheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Bensheim 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hotel Bensheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Bensheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.