We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good authentic Italian food in a great setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Geranio

Ristorante Geranio
Am Kurpark 2, 35619 Braunfels, Hesse, Germany
+49(0)6442 931990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Braunfels
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good authentic Italian food in a great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Ristorante Geranio is located just a footstep away from the medieval castle Braunfels is famous for. Nice ancient building, with friendly attentive staff (partially Italian speaking which I always find a good sign).

Menu has all the Italian classics: mozzarella di buffala, parma ham, antipasti, great variety of pizza and pasta's as well as meat (saltimbocca, fillet of beef) and fish (tuna, halibut). Prices are slightly above average, but worth the treat.

Must go when in Braunfels!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Nothing special, beware of what they call "truffles"!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

This is a family restaurant on a slightly above average level, pretending to be something special...

Their food is rather OK, but their wine list is really poor, the service is soso and the overall experience is not memorable.

Nevertheless, I would still have given them a 4* rating if they hadn't spoiled my dinner experience with a close to 40 EUR expensive pasta dish with truffles, containing "truffles" that were so old and of so poor quality that they tasted like nothing.

This is totally unacceptable and unprofessional: you either charge close to 40 EUR for pasta with truffles if you do have TRUFFLES or you do not sell an expensive pasta dish that tastes like nothing.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seck, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had lunch there with 9 people, very nice place, the decor very taste full, very clean, recommended by Michelin guide.
We had steak, pasta dishes, Pizzas, everything was very good and the service was excellent

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Italy in Braunfels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very extensive menu served by efficient and friendly staff. Just like being in Italy. However not cheap but good value.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Homburg, Hessen, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Special Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a fabulous lunch here after touring Schloss Braunfels. The owners very graciously accomodated our large group of 18. The food was delicious, the service friendly and warm and the value superb. The 3 course lunch for 25 Euros is a special treat. We had a sunny day and enjoyed our meal on the terrace with views to the castle. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Geranio also viewed

 
Braunfels, Hesse
Braunfels, Hesse
 

Been to Ristorante Geranio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Geranio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.