We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Hotel Der Sonnenhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Hotel Der Sonnenhof to your Saves list
Steigenberger Hotel Der Sonnenhof
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hermann-Aust-Strasse 11, 86825 Bad Worishofen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Bad Worishofen
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three night. The staff was very helpful, starting with an escort to our upgraded room, help with wifi problems and special assistance with diet restrictions!

All the staff we encountered spoke English and were always accommodating.

Our room was lovely and we had a view of the garden and outdoor dining area. We also enjoyed walking in the Kurpark adjacent to the hotel.

The pool area is spacious and tranquil.

The only negative was the wifi service. It definitely needs improvement.

We are returning again soon for a family celebration.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpahotelSonnenhof, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Steigenberger Hotel Der Sonnenhof, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We understand the inconvenience about the wifi situation. We take your feedback very seriously but unfortunately our hotel is located in a rural area where the bandwidth cover is not very good. We have to manage the needs of all our guests with a small bandwidth to work with. Therefore we decided to offer free wifi which is enough to check mail and to charge a fee for our fast business access. We are working on getting a fiber cable connection to our hotel, but it is not us to decide that but rather the state and that takes some time. So things about the wifi will not have changed, when you come back for the stay for your family celebration in our hotel but things about our great food and our spatious pool area did not change as well.
We are looking forward welcoming you at the Steigenberger Hotel Der Sonnenhof again,
Best regards,
Michael Wurmlinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    32
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
33
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We spent a week here over Easter. We had a superior room, which had good living room space as well as bed and bathroom, and decent views of the park across the road. Food was uniformly good in the three restaurants and the lounge - the small Bavarian restaurant is particularly good. Breakfasts were very good with fresh omelettes and a large buffet. Staff were all helpful and friendly throughout our visit, and there were nice touches like welcome wine, fruit and chocs in the room on arrival and gifts on Easter Sunday. The hotel arranged cars to visit the Ludwig castles and to and from Munich airport. The spa and pool areas are substantial and comfortable, but we were underwhelmed by the massages: those at the Therme are much better. The other niggle is the wifi, as others have noted. There is free wifi but it slow and has to be renewed daily. Even downloading a daily newspaper takes an age. You need to fork out €9 a day for a good connection. They should scrap this irritating charge. But we had overall a very enjoyable stay, and contrary to some other views, in our opinion, the hotel deserves each of its five stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpahotelSonnenhof, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Steigenberger Hotel Der Sonnenhof, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Foreign guests always like our Bavarian restaurant König Ludwig Lounge because of its authentic atmosphere and the typical Bavarian food.
We honestly apologize for the wifi problem. We know the situation, but there is no option. We have to charge a fee for the business access. We only have a limited data connection in Bad Wörishofen to work with. Still the best you can get, but definitely not enough to guarantee high speed connections to all our guests. It is enough to offer a free data connection, that is adequate to check mails and get basic information from the www and in addition high speed connections for those who need it and are willing to pay for it.

Best regards,
Michael Wurmlinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is very clean as well room also comfy bed.but If you are using iPhone or iPad like me, I can assure you that you will have big problems.The Breakfast is good and alot of fruits which was one of the best. But if you wantt to be in the middle of to down town area i would not recomended this hotel or if you wantt to see flowers garden just croos to street this is a great place to be..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed two nights at this beautiful hotel. Unfortunately, it poured the whole time we were there, so we did not get to experience the "foot park" and missed the beautiful roses. Our room was lovely overlooking the "foot park". Bathroom was very nice and functional. They need new hair dryers though. The one we had was old. We enjoyed a Saturday night dinner in the restaurant which included two young couples singing and acting out show tunes in English and German. They were delightful. The breakfast buffet was extremely ample and well presented.The hotel service was wonderful. Very friendly and courteous. The pools and spa facilities were amazing. Unfortunately we had no time to enjoy them, but they looked beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort myers, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

First time we stayed at a 5 star hotel that actually DESERVED 5 stars, We were there for 2 wonderful weeks.
The town is interesting, as well as its special :foot park” and gorgeous rose garden.
Everything about the hotel was top notch- the food, the service, the environment, the pools, the rooms, the beds, even the water pressure in the shows.
Nothing felt as great as coming back from a neighboring town and jumping into the jaccuzzi or a salt water pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land Texas
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is located next to the Kurpark, which is an interesting place to walk. We did most of the barefoot walk but some of it was too much for my old feet. The spa has three beautiful pools, which we thoroughly enjoyed and none were crowded. We also had an early morning hay wrap which was a unique experience. The rooms are large and well appointed. Maintenance of the facility was top notch.

We had two meals at the restaurant, the best of which was an outdoor grilling event. The food was nothing special and we expected more from a top hotel.

All in all, it was a delightful experience which we can recommend especially if you are not a tenderfoot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I participated in business meeting at this hotel. The whole hotel area is very beautiful and relaxing atmosphere. Room was big enough and very clean. Sleeping comfort was ok. They have several different restaurants and we had dinner in one of those. Pre-set menu was not so delicious but in general, food is ok. Breakfast selection was good. I didn´t had time to visit their spa but it looked nice. Carpark free outside and in the garage they charged 12eur/night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Der Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Der Sonnenhof

Address: Hermann-Aust-Strasse 11, 86825 Bad Worishofen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Bad Worishofen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Bad Worishofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Der Sonnenhof 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Hotel Der Sonnenhof is a place to dream of: a five-star-superior hotel situated in a marvellous alpine upland landscape surrounded by lush parks, green meadows and forests. Experience unforgettable holidays for wellness lovers, sports enthusiasts and gourmets. The hotel is situated in a favourable location with luxurious rooms and suites, most of them provide also a balcony or a terrace.Our spacious wellness area offers whirl pools, event showers, Turkish steam bath, and Finnish sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Der Sonnenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Hotel Der Sonnenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.