We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Der Westerhof Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Der Westerhof Hotel to your Saves list
Der Westerhof Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Olaf-Gulbransson-Strasse 19, 83684 Tegernsee, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tegernsee
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We were at the hotel for two weeks and enjoyed every minute of amazing view overlooking the room, quiet at night and walks in the woods and rivers in the area.
The hotel decorated tastefully, rooms spacious and comfortable, the hotel has a great sauna with resting room overlooking the amazing view.
The breakfasrt room and the terace are great place to start the day with excellent breakfast and of course special thanks to the dining room staff, headed by Luther.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    18
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
41
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

With hotels in Munich full due to a tradeshow, I decided to enjoy Bavaria and do a bit of driving. What a lucky break! The hotel is a gem - well maintained and tastefully decorated. All the staff was very helpful and spoke perfect English. The rooms are rather small (I'm American), but they all have balconies overlooking the lake. The beds are VERY comfortable and I'm quite picky about beds. The saunas are wonderful. The breakfast was wonderful. The only bad thing I can say is that it's a bit hard to find with no satnav. I hope to go back and bring my husband.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

I very much liked this hotel and would return. But I do have two complaints. First, often when I visited the front desk either a) no one was there, or b) there was a long line of guests. Second, the breakfast starts at 8 am. This is a place where many guests want to hike in the morning or need to leave early. When I was there, guests were lingering around the buffet around 7:30, finally people started serving themselves around 7:45. The staff looked a bit flustered. But here is an idea. If 10% of your guests want to eat before 8, it's not them who are early, it is you who are late.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath, uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We were made very welcome from the minute we arrived and this continued when we were shown our room which was not only beautiful but had amazing views of the lake. Fittings were of very high quality and we had a great nights sleep topped off by a fabulous breakfast with attentive staff and vast selection. We wished we had been there for more than one night and would happily go back. There is no restaurant on site but there is a great place 5 mins walk away that the staff recommended to us. To get the views the hotel is at the top of the hill which didn't worry us but depends what you want to do. The hotel has range of spa facilities which we wished we had had time to try.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed here recently for a couple of days and really enjoyed the beautiful location. It is a bit out of town and a car is essential in our view. Be sure you follow the directions closely.
There is no restaurant, however there is an excellent restaurant within 5 minutes walk (closed on Mondays and Tuesdays).
The hotel was wonderfully quiet, the views overlooking the lake are to die for and it is an excellent starting point for some beautiful walks.
The breakfast buffet is the best we had in 10 days of traveling in Bavaria and Austria.
It is one of the few hotels I would seriously consider revisiting.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed there for easter and the rooms are wonderful and individual since this is not a chain hotel. From the room we had great view over the lake. The beds were very good and it was quiet. In particular I liked also the rain shower in the bath room.

The breakfast was fine as well and staff was very attentive. Already the next morning they welcomed us with our names (that doesn't happen in chain hotels at all).

The hotel itself is located up the hill so if you come by train then you can call the reception and they will pick you up at the train station within a few minutes. If you don't have luggage you can also take the stairs which is a bit exhausting but good for the the health :-) otherwise a taxi costs around 5-7€ from the city.

All in all the best hotel I have ever stayed.

PS: The wireless internet is for free. You just have to ask at the reception for a password.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

My sister and I spent a night here last summer during a holiday in Bavaria and wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel is a little ways up a hill overlooking the lake, and a car is recommended for the drive into town. The rooms were excellent, well decorated, and spacious. They have private balconies that overlook the lake, and very nice bathrooms. We had breakfast on the terrace in the sunshine overlooking the lake. The staff was excellent - extremely helpful, welcoming, and courteous.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Der Westerhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Westerhof Hotel

Address: Olaf-Gulbransson-Strasse 19, 83684 Tegernsee, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Tegernsee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tegernsee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Der Westerhof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Der Westerhof, formerly part of the Tegernsee monastery, is set in a sunny location in the traditional Tegernsee Tal valley approx. 180m above the lake. The old Bavarian farmhouse hosts a family-run hotel with tastefully equipped rooms. Sunbathing terrace in the park, south-facing balconies with stunning views of the Alpine foothills and the valley. Numerous hiking trails and ski slopes nearby. A playground for your kids, library and conference rooms with internet access also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Der Westerhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Der Westerhof Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.