We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service and a Very Pleasant Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Weinbauer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Weinbauer to your Saves list
Hotel Weinbauer
Fuessener Strasse 3, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Exceptional Service and a Very Pleasant Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Everything was perfect. We traveled with a large group and erverybody at the hotel was very helpful an friendly. Great service, very good restaurant and nice rooms. A very charming place at a great location!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    56
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
40
76
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Beautiful little hotel. I may say that everything was simply perfect. The personnel super nice, very friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. My room was on the main street but we were never disturbed by the traffic. The breakfast was outstanding: abundant in a lovely wood-panel (bavarian-style) hall. Also the spa was a surprise.
Nothing, I reeeeealy cannot find nothing to complain about.

And my room had also a splendid view of the two castles.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed four nights at the beautiful Hotel Weinbauer in the charming small village of Schwangu in October 2012. It was our fourth trip to this wonderful Bavarian location and the hotel is within walking distance to both castles Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau and has spectacular mountain vistas all around. Our room was spacious, immaculate and comfortable with a large, roofed balcony from which we could see Neuschwanstein castle. Johanna, the owner, and her assistant Illona are charming women who offered us great advice on things to see in the area. Breakfast is served in a large, beautifully decorated dining room and includes many serving areas with a huge assortment of foods including cereals, fruits, meats, cheeses, eggs, yogurt, rolls and sweet cakes. It was one of the nicest breakfasts during our one month in Europe. There is an outdoor eating area as well during the warm months. On the lower level of the hotel is a solarium health club with massage, steam, sauna and lounge chairs offering a nice respite after a full day of adventure. The only charge is for a massage. The hotel offers free parking and WiFi. From Schwangu there are many easy drives to nearby attractions including Linderhof, Oberammergau, Fussen, and Wieskirche, Germany's greatest Rococo-style church. There is a nice restaurant in the hotel for dinners and a supermarket across the street. We love Schwangau and Hotel Weinbaurer is located by open pasture land with beautiful vistas of the castles and mountains. For those who enjoy walking, roads without traffic and footpaths lead to the castles. We highly recommend the Hotel Weinbauer and we will stay there again on future Bavarian trips.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet location and our room was in the back away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I ran across the card for this hotel recently cleaning up some old papers. I stayed here a while back when visiting Neuschwanstein Castle. I was traveling with a friend and we had reserved a room with two beds. When we arrived at the hotel we were informed that they had no rooms available with two beds, but would be happy to give each of us a separate room at no additional charge. We were put in rooms on opposite sided of the hotel near the back. Each room had a private patio over looking the castle. There was a nice library at the rear of the hotel that also offered a wonderful view. The breakfast was wonderful the staff were better than wonderful/ I am hoping to take my mother here in 2013. I would recommend this hotel to any and everyone visiting Schwangau.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were greeted by a vey nice young lady in traditional garb who spoke perfect English and an older very efficient lady. All has been said on the hotel. I must add breakfast was superb. But the top experience was dinner. We were lucky enough to dine on the last performance in October of a musical group of three musicians with traditional instruments. One of them, the singer sang the traditional Tyrolean songs with the characteristic yodling. Dinner was delicious with specialties we had never tasted before such as Kaiserschmarren. An experience not to be missed. You may go for a stroll in the streets of the village : that will lead you to a cheese shop where they sell 18-month old Mountain cheese: a treat !

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the Châteaux.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarxien, Malta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at this hotel. Hotel room was spacious and very clean. We had a great view of the Neuschwanstein Castle from our balcony. Staff was very friendly and welcomed us warmly. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of items. Would definitely stay there again :)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Last August 2011 we were roadtripping in Europe with our 6 months old baby. The hotel staff were extremely helpful with booking our visit to the Castle. They were always nice and smiley :)
We had a nice big room but the only problem was there aren't rooms with AC and it was a VERY HOT august night. I am not sure if that's because of being "green" or it was just not a modern hotel... I left the windows open and you could hear noise from the street...
It was a good experience and I will totally go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Weinbauer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weinbauer

Address: Fuessener Strasse 3, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Schwangau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Schwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Weinbauer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weinbauer Hotel Schwangau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Weinbauer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.