We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Das Koenig Ludwig Wellness & SPA Resort Allgaeu to your Saves list
Das Koenig Ludwig Wellness & SPA Resort Allgaeu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kreuzweg 15, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Howell, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super spa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The spa is great and there are bike rentals at the resort. Great weekend trip destination.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    28
    18
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
57
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Fulfilled all expectations. Nice room, stayed in a Panoramic-comfort room in the house Edelweiß with mountain views. A nice bar and excellent food. Nice and peaceful.

Room Tip: Panoramic-comfort room in the house Edelweiß has an mountain view and are in a private place in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

It definitely feels more like a spa than a hotel. Beautiful pool area, although not heated. Rooms are roomy. Incredible views, though not from rooms we had.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

The hotel is modern style, mostly on one floor. The superior room was very comfortable with a small terrace and great views of the mountains. The reception staff need some training. On arrival I requested a restaurant reservation at 19.00 and was told the earliest available was 20.00. I later telephoned the restaurant and obtained a 19.00 booking with no difficulty, in fact the restaurant was only 50% full when we arrived and remained so. On checking out, a different staff member first gave me the bill for another room, then, presented one for the correct room but charging full board instead of B/B. It took around 20 minutes to check out! The hotel could be considered expensive if one does not use the spa facilities, but with an excellent indoor pool connected to an outdoor one, and extremely good sauna, steam room, resting rooms, etc. the spa made it good value for money. Quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stumbled into Allgau during a storm and drove around randomnly until we found a hotel. We liked this one because of the traditional front , shutters and window boxes. The room was good, modern hotel standard, but the spa is fabulous. A pool in the middle of a lake, huge sauna, beautiful cafe and bar with amazing views of the mountains. The restaurant served one of the best meals we had in Germany (admittedly not that high a standard) and the staff were young and enthusiastic. We wanted to stay longer, but couldn't, too much sight-seeing to do, but we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingolstadt, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We chose this hotel because we only had 3 free working days to spend and to pass these days with best possible recreation we could find.
The first point I have to mention ist the great staff. They were highly motivated to fulfill every wish we had.
Even the food-related allergies of my partner were no problem for the kitchen. The cook just adapted the four-course meal to her terms.
The only thing we will chande next time is that we will stay longer than 4 days.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

I rolled into Schwangau on a Friday evening looking for a hotel room with a balcony/patio with a view of the mountains. With perhaps the better hotels full, I tried Konig Ludwig and got what i wanted. A first/ground floor room with a patio and grass and a wonderful view of the mountains. But the rest of the hotel was a little frightening. Most guest are in wheel chairs or using walkers - there is an antiseptic smell in the hallways and rooms. The beds have extra absorbant padding in the center of the mattress - which I had never seen before. So, if you are looking for atmosphere, a cocktail bar or a gasthof atmosphere, this is not the place. But if you just want a view of the mountains, some grass between your toes and space outside to drink a weizen in peace, then you'll be fine.

Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Das Koenig Ludwig Wellness & SPA Resort Allgaeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Koenig Ludwig Wellness & SPA Resort Allgaeu

Address: Kreuzweg 15, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Das Koenig Ludwig Wellness & SPA Resort Allgaeu 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Das Koenig Ludwig Wellness & SPA Resort Allgaeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Koenig Ludwig Wellness & SPA Resort Allgaeu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.